2nd Power Bus ??

Post all your DCC only problems, solutions and discoverys here.
mdn7
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Aug 26, 2021 8:16 am

2nd Power Bus ??

Postby mdn7 » Tue Sep 14, 2021 2:08 pm

In the planning stage at the moment ..but, hoping to build a DCC layout some 12' 5 x 6'6" will have 32 points + signals + DCC locos(possible further expansion of accessories)Probably be using R8214 Hornby Elite controller.(not yet decided)points in question :
1) Should I have two power buses? If so can I use just the one controller?
2) How do I terminate the ends of the power buses?
3) Will I need any additional electricals to cater both power buses and circuit protection?
4) Any further advice greatly appreciated......

Mod note: Topic moved to DCC forum section.

Bigmet
Posts: 9131
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2007 2:19 pm

Re: 2nd Power Bus ??

Postby Bigmet » Tue Sep 14, 2021 3:26 pm

This is DCC, so maybe the mods might move it.

Ideally point motors are powered by a separate DCC bus, running from a 'booster' connected to the DCC system for signal only. That way when the DCC track supply trips out, the points can still be changed, to correct the short circuit on DCC track supply. One controller sends commands to both the track and points (or 'accessory') busses.

I would recommend a long hard look at the DCC system options. DCC is an open system, no need to buy it from the same manufacturer as your models. The specialist DCC manufacturers are the leaders in features, capability and performance

mdn7
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Aug 26, 2021 8:16 am

Re: 2nd Power Bus ??

Postby mdn7 » Tue Sep 14, 2021 4:53 pm

Bigmet wrote:This is DCC, so maybe the mods might move it.

Ideally point motors are powered by a separate DCC bus, running from a 'booster' connected to the DCC system for signal only. That way when the DCC track supply trips out, the points can still be changed, to correct the short circuit on DCC track supply. One controller sends commands to both the track and points (or 'accessory') busses.

I would recommend a long hard look at the DCC system options. DCC is an open system, no need to buy it from the same manufacturer as your models. The specialist DCC manufacturers are the leaders in features, capability and performance


Thanks for the advice, all taken on board :D

User avatar
Flashbang
Posts: 4053
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2007 1:07 pm
Location: SE United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: 2nd Power Bus ??

Postby Flashbang » Thu Sep 16, 2021 11:13 am

Hi
Bigmet's advice is correct, re having a split DCC bus - One for loco controls and the other for accessories.
But on your size of layout, I doubt if you will need a Booster? Especially i you opt for a DCC system with at least 3.0Amp or more output. (Elite is 4Amp and there are other that are similar ranging form 3.5Amp to 10Amp)
However that said a adding a Booster or the Accessory Bus will always ensure all main consoles DCC power is available for the rails but of course a Booster is an expensive cost on top of the DCC system so IMO plan for adding one, but just use the DCC system for a start for all. :D

In the attached drawing use an All Electronic DCC Circuit Breaker and if later on you find a Booster is necessary, replace the CB with the Booster. You could use the CB elsewhere if desired. :D
Dual DCC Bus.jpg
[Image << Click the Icon to go to my website
Broken? It was working correctly when I left it.

mdn7
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Aug 26, 2021 8:16 am

Re: 2nd Power Bus ??

Postby mdn7 » Thu Sep 16, 2021 5:26 pm

Many thanks and duly noted......

gppsoftware
Posts: 306
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2006 5:34 am

Re: 2nd Power Bus ??

Postby gppsoftware » Mon Oct 25, 2021 1:42 am

Agreed with everyone else that having separate busses for traction and accessories is the way to go.

Just make sure you use a proper all-electronic circuit breaker/splitter and please don't adopt the dreaded 'lightbulb' so called 'protection' approach - it is nonsense.

BananaRepublic
Posts: 121
Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2010 7:03 pm

Re: 2nd Power Bus ??

Postby BananaRepublic » Thu Nov 04, 2021 11:11 pm

I also agree with the suggestion of using two power buses, dividing the DCC systems own booster output into a track bus and an accessory bus.

It would most certainly be worth looking at an alternative DCC system though.
The Hornby Elite is far from the best and it hasn't been available for ages.
They say supplies will be back in stock in 2022.

With 32 points and signals, it might also be worth looking at better ways of controlling them, than relying on a cumbersome DCC system control interface, such as on the Elite.
A DCC mimic panel, with physical buttons or switches is one option.
There's even a wireless option the way, for using such a physical control panel, through DCC, with no track wiring to the panel.


Return to “DCC Forum”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests