Surrey DCC repairer

Post all your DCC only problems, solutions and discoverys here.
pebble

Surrey DCC repairer

Post by pebble »

Can anyone tell me where in Surrey I can get a Bauchman DCC DMU checked over. I am a beginner, only have this loco,
and bought it as "DCC ready" on ebay.
I am in Surrey
Ironduke

Re: Surrey DCC repairer

Post by Ironduke »

"DCC Ready" means it has a socket for a DCC decoder but it does not have a decoder installed.
What is it that you need repaired?
Regards
Rob
pebble

Post by pebble »

I think you have answered my question - I thought I needed someone to check it over - all the track is fine on the layout, & I made a programme track too, the Prodigy DCC controller works ok.
thanks so much I misunderstood what "dcc ready" meant !

I will need to get a decoder then; this is an amazing learning curve .... I suspect this is another minefield !
Flashbang

Post by Flashbang »

pebble wrote:I think you have answered my question - I thought I needed someone to check it over - all the track is fine on the layout, & I made a programme track too, the Prodigy DCC controller works ok.
thanks so much I misunderstood what "dcc ready" meant !

I will need to get a decoder then; this is an amazing learning curve .... I suspect this is another minefield !
Yes you will need a decoder to run the loco on the PA or PE systems. You will also have to obtain a decoder with the matching locos connection detail and of a size that fits inside the locos space. Many Bachmann locos use a 21 pin decoder but do check before purchasing one.

There are basically three types of loco sold..
Not DCC ReadyUsually older locos that have to have the conversion to DCC hard wired in

DCC Ready As sold the loco only runs on DC (Analogue) But has a socket fitted inside and into the socket ass sold is a DC operation plug Called a Blanking Plug. This when converting to DCC is removed and kept safe and the chosen decoder plugged into where the Blanking plug was removed.