technical help on wiring for DCC

Post all your DCC only problems, solutions and discoverys here.
pebble

technical help on wiring for DCC

Post by pebble »

I am a total beginner and starting an N gauge 4' x 2' layout to learn the basics.
Is there a company that provides a service in looking at one's proposed layout and advising on the correct wiring set up (I would like to avoid damaging anything from short circuits !!! ) and on the correct DCC controller ?
Bigmet

Re: technical help on wiring for DCC

Post by Bigmet »

The advice on the layout wiring plan: that's the kind of help you might expect from the good model railway shop from which the track etc. was purchased. That business should have an interest in your making a go of it. And you can ask here too, there's good knowledge available.

There is no 'correct' DCC system, any more than there is a correct TV, correct car, correct chair: however much some obsessives might try to persuade you otherwise. What you should look for is the one that suits you best for your available budget. It's worth getting 'hands on' as the control interface is very much a matter of taste; and what with this being a hobby and all, the one you find most enjoyable to use which will encourage you to operate the layout matters.
Flashbang

Re: technical help on wiring for DCC

Post by Flashbang »

pebble wrote:I am a total beginner and starting an N gauge 4' x 2' layout to learn the basics.
Is there a company that provides a service in looking at one's proposed layout and advising on the correct wiring set up (I would like to avoid damaging anything from short circuits !!! ) and on the correct DCC controller ?
Hi and welcome to the forum.