Hornby TTS decoders

Post all your DCC only problems, solutions and discoverys here.
HuskySteve
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2012 8:46 pm
Location: North Devon

Hornby TTS decoders

Postby HuskySteve » Fri Nov 20, 2020 12:04 pm

Hi Guys, Has anyone had problems with Hornby TTS decoders?

I have two Un-Rebuilt Merchant Navy class models by Hornby and have fitted both with TTS decoders, one of them I hardwired and that failed after about a dozen times running, the second I hardwired an 8-pin socked to before installing the decoder. This morning I went to do some running on my layout after few weeks of not running, spent time cleaning the track and then began running some of my stock. The second Merchant Navy failed to start, even after cleaning the wheels and checking the wiring. It's a real shame because for a budget sound decoder, they were quite good.

Any advice/comments would be gratefully received. Steve :)

P.S Have re-posted in the correct section, DCC

MOD NOTE: Post moved to DCC section and the second identical post removed.
Life is not a rehersal

User avatar
Flashbang
Posts: 4050
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2007 1:07 pm
Location: SE United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Hornby TTS decoders

Postby Flashbang » Fri Nov 20, 2020 1:49 pm

Hi
Can you advise if these locos are older models that use Ringfield tender drives or are they modern Can motor versions?
If Ringfield motors the TTS decoder is not up to power them, as it has limited motor current of just 1/2 Amp (500 milliamp).
[Image << Click the Icon to go to my website
Broken? It was working correctly when I left it.

HuskySteve
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2012 8:46 pm
Location: North Devon

Re: Hornby TTS decoders

Postby HuskySteve » Fri Nov 20, 2020 10:06 pm

Hi Flashbang,

They're modern can motors but are not fitted with decoder sockets.
Life is not a rehersal

User avatar
RAF96
Posts: 785
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2008 1:39 pm
Location: Dereham, Norfolk, UK
Contact:

Re: Hornby TTS decoders

Postby RAF96 » Sat Nov 21, 2020 12:02 pm

You should do a motor stall current test on DC with the decoder disconnected to determine a suitable spec decoder.
RAF Halton Brat - 96th Entry
http://www.halton96th.org.uk/robs_rails.html
β-tester

HuskySteve
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2012 8:46 pm
Location: North Devon

Re: Hornby TTS decoders

Postby HuskySteve » Mon Nov 23, 2020 5:42 pm

Thanks RAF96, will do that and maybe that's the answer.
Life is not a rehersal


Return to “DCC Forum”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests