Running DCC ready loco on DCC

Post all your DCC only problems, solutions and discoverys here.
centenary

Running DCC ready loco on DCC

Postby centenary » Wed Apr 24, 2019 11:49 pm

I have a Gaugemaster Prodigy Express and no other means to control a loco.

Recently, bought a new Bachmann DCC Ready Warship. I intend to put a TTS decoder in but in the meantime, can I test run the Warship without a DCC chip via the Express to make sure it runs ok? Im not talking running it for 1 minutes or whatever, just a quick run back and forth on the track. I read it was suggested you test run a loco on dc first before putting the DCC chip in but how you supposed to do that if you have no dedicated dc controller?

End2end

Re: Running DCC ready loco on DCC

Postby End2end » Thu Apr 25, 2019 12:46 am

The quickest way to test if a DC / DCC ready loco runs is using a 9v battery touching the wheels.
I don't think the Gaugemaster can run DC locos, but don't quote me on that. :wink:
Thanks
End2end
"St Blazey's" - The progress and predicaments.
Welcome‎
Planning
Building
St. Blazey's Works & Depot thread

SRman

Postby SRman » Thu Apr 25, 2019 1:17 am

If your DCC unit can run a non-fitted loco on address 0, a short run shouldn't hurt it. It is certainly not recommended for a long run or for the loco to be left on the DCC track for any length of time.

I can't speak for your Gaugemaster DCC system, but my own NCE system will not run a DC loco.

The better solution would be as End2end suggested: use a 9V battery (or if you have one, an old DC analogue controller) connected to a piece of track or directly to the wheels of the loco.

End2end

Postby End2end » Thu Apr 25, 2019 1:42 am

I forgot to mention, as it is a new loco it needs to be "run-in" too.