Hornby Class 20 TTS Loco in Consist

Post all your DCC only problems, solutions and discoverys here.
User avatar
RAF96
Posts: 557
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2008 1:39 pm
Location: Dereham, Norfolk, UK

Re: Hornby Class 20 TTS Loco in Consist

Postby RAF96 » Fri Oct 12, 2018 5:16 pm

You are better to ring them up and they will give you a returns number to send it back for programming.
Rob
RAF Halton Brat - 96th Entry
http://www.halton96th.org.uk/robs_rails.html
β-tester

brammie
Posts: 111
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2018 7:15 am

Re: Hornby Class 20 TTS Loco in Consist

Postby brammie » Sat Oct 13, 2018 7:13 am

Thanks Rob, but the fact is that both of the two Class 20 TTS locos that I recently purchased will run only when pointing in one direction. Since the postage to UK from Germany is likely to be in excess of twenty quid (which I would be reluctant to pay), I thought I would email first and see what they suggest.

User avatar
RAF96
Posts: 557
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2008 1:39 pm
Location: Dereham, Norfolk, UK

Re: Hornby Class 20 TTS Loco in Consist

Postby RAF96 » Sat Oct 13, 2018 8:47 am

Unfortunately the fix is a reprogram of the basic chip, the TTS element not being reprogrammable.
Hornby usually only want the decoders and will pay return postage.
It is possible they may just replace them without needing the old ones if you talk nicely to their guys.
Rob
RAF Halton Brat - 96th Entry
http://www.halton96th.org.uk/robs_rails.html
β-tester

brammie
Posts: 111
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2018 7:15 am

Re: Hornby Class 20 TTS Loco in Consist

Postby brammie » Sat Oct 13, 2018 10:59 am

I may well give that a try Rob, but at the rate I seem to be accumulating Hornby Class 20 TTS chips I would end up with more than I could find a home for.

User avatar
RAF96
Posts: 557
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2008 1:39 pm
Location: Dereham, Norfolk, UK

Re: Hornby Class 20 TTS Loco in Consist

Postby RAF96 » Sat Oct 13, 2018 6:17 pm

I found out something today about running TTS decoders in a consist...

Give both locos the same address and everything selected on one loco will also operate on the second loco, but operate them in a consist on different addresses and we have more flexibility.

Give one address 1, the other address 2 and the consist address 10 for the sake of this demo.

You can run both motors for speed and direction under control of consist 10 but you can control the TTS functions of each loco under their own addresses 1 and 2.

As the engine sound is a function you can start each one individually but as a consist both motor will rev in unison as you apply throttle. If you wanted to (unrealistic) you could notch one or other engine up or down using F5/6/7/8, but this would never happen in real life. Horns would normally be under the control of address 1 (leading loco) but all other functions like compressor, flange squeal, coupling, etc could be operated as required for each loco. Lights as normal formhow youmwired them plus aux lighting each on F25.

With a single controller things are a tad slower swapping twixt the 3 addresses of course, but with a twin controller you can have the consist on one knob and the singletons switching on the second knob.

The gist of this taken from a document Hornby pushed out suggesting how to operate their TTS HSTs.
Rob
RAF Halton Brat - 96th Entry
http://www.halton96th.org.uk/robs_rails.html
β-tester

brammie
Posts: 111
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2018 7:15 am

Re: Hornby Class 20 TTS Loco in Consist

Postby brammie » Wed Oct 17, 2018 10:53 am

TTS chips in the post en route to Hornby for software mod.

brammie
Posts: 111
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2018 7:15 am

Re: Hornby Class 20 TTS Loco in Consist

Postby brammie » Tue Oct 30, 2018 2:05 pm

Stunningly pleased to report that both Hornby TTS Class 20s running again, each with lower left head light at the cab end - and working apporopriate to direction of travel. DCCconcepts 2mm Tower PROTO White, although they do lean towards amber. I have 1K droppers in series, but may just double that to dim the lights. I understand the white lead to be intended for the other end of the loco (the front, but the rear on Class 20 "cab first"), but I can't get a squeak out of mine. I've finished for today, but if anyone can put me right on the white lead lights, I would be grateful. Hopefully when this marathon is over I can set the locos up for consist.

User avatar
RAF96
Posts: 557
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2008 1:39 pm
Location: Dereham, Norfolk, UK

Re: Hornby Class 20 TTS Loco in Consist

Postby RAF96 » Wed Oct 31, 2018 8:39 am

See my answer on the other forum, same topic.
Rob

Xref Rant/Moan topic this site - multiple platform postings.
RAF Halton Brat - 96th Entry
http://www.halton96th.org.uk/robs_rails.html
β-tester

brammie
Posts: 111
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2018 7:15 am

Re: Hornby Class 20 TTS Loco in Consist

Postby brammie » Thu Nov 01, 2018 2:38 pm

Managed to get the "rear" light working in the "rear" loco cab. Very slight difference in speed between locos for same throttle setting when running, but hoping this will be overcome when load the consist on he EcoS controller. Taken a short video, and am reminded that I should order a book on Home Video Making! Alternatively, I could use the nice video camera that I bought Mrs B for her birthday a few weeks ago ............

brammie
Posts: 111
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2018 7:15 am

Re: Hornby Class 20 TTS Loco in Consist

Postby brammie » Mon Apr 29, 2019 7:21 am

Hornby Class 20 TTS - CV29 Settings

I’m somewhat stumped with my pair of Hornby Class 20 TTS Diesels. Had them running fine as a consist for some months, with front and rear lights working according to plan - cab and single front light on the lead loco, single tail light on the trail loco.

In a rush of blood to the head, I decided to operate the consist on a different part of the layout – “facing” the opposite direction. After some fiddling about with CVs through my ECoS Controller, I managed to switch the head/tail lighting control to suit but soon afterwards it became clear that my well-intended plan was not feasible long term. I then set about resetting the head and tail lighting to match what would now be the opposite (original) direction of travel but, despite all attempts to reset CV29 through BITs 0 & 1, the locos persist in displaying head/tail lighting in reverse to that required. The four options for BITs 0 & 1, 0-0. 1-0, 0-1, and 1-1 result in either correct direction and incorrect lights or incorrect direction and incorrect lights. Switching the locos around does not solve the problem.

In hindsight, perhaps I should have made notes during my initial fiddling with CVs, but old age and laziness combined to cloud my judgement. Advice from any of the well informed on this site would be greatly appreciated.

User avatar
RAF96
Posts: 557
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2008 1:39 pm
Location: Dereham, Norfolk, UK

Re: Hornby Class 20 TTS Loco in Consist

Postby RAF96 » Wed May 01, 2019 9:06 am

Physically turning the pair around on track should not have affected anything as DCC polarity effectively cycles +/- ... -/+ like AC so the track has no idea you have relocated the locos and the locos head in the direction of their forwards regardless.

I presume the lights were set such that simply selecting backwards on the controller did not put up the correct lamping at each end, hence it was all configured via CV29.

I am not familiar with ECoS so cannot help there, but I know Hornby have tested TTS with various controllers including that make so everything should work once the settings are resolved.

Not much help unfortunately.
RAF Halton Brat - 96th Entry
http://www.halton96th.org.uk/robs_rails.html
β-tester

brammie
Posts: 111
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2018 7:15 am

Re: Hornby Class 20 TTS Loco in Consist

Postby brammie » Thu May 02, 2019 7:32 am

Thanks for responding Rob. I'm going to switch the motor connections on the lead loco and see where that leaves me. I suspect it may do the trick.


Return to “DCC Forum”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests