Hornby Class 20 TTS Loco in Consist

Post all your DCC only problems, solutions and discoverys here.
User avatar
Forfarian
Posts: 601
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2011 2:16 pm
Location: Forfar, Angus

Re: Hornby Class 20 TTS Loco in Consist

Postby Forfarian » Wed Oct 03, 2018 2:21 pm

I have 2 Bachmann Class 20s, I tried running them in consist with two different decoders- 1 ESU & 1 DC Concepts, using a Power cab, I could not get them to run at the same speed no matter what I tried to do with speed/voltage etc, recently I purchased two TTS decoders for the 20s and fitted a 7mm thick sugar cube speaker into the top of each cab and ran the wires through the back plate to the decoder. The speaker is not visible in the cab and the wires blend into the background.
I then programmed both decoders to the same number 2002, then removed one loco and set the direction to forward on this one and then set the other to reverse, put them both on the main track and they ran perfectly in consist. :D
Tim
aka Forfarian

brammie
Posts: 113
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2018 7:15 am

Re: Hornby Class 20 TTS Loco in Consist

Postby brammie » Thu Oct 04, 2018 8:59 am

Nice to hear a story with a happy ending Forfarian. This morning I ordered a new Hornby Class 20 TTS - intended as companion to my present one - so I look forward to operating my pair in consist. The two Lima Class 20s will have to be "shedded" until I can get another pair of early livery bodies. Oh, well.

User avatar
RAF96
Posts: 575
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2008 1:39 pm
Location: Dereham, Norfolk, UK

Re: Hornby Class 20 TTS Loco in Consist

Postby RAF96 » Thu Oct 04, 2018 10:12 am

If you want to operate a pair of 20s always locked in a consist then consider having one as a dummy car (demotored) which will still take a (TTS) sound decoder and can be operated as an individual or a pair depending upon if addressed same or unlike.
Hornbys Class 43 HSTs work well so rigged.
Rob
RAF Halton Brat - 96th Entry
http://www.halton96th.org.uk/robs_rails.html
β-tester

brammie
Posts: 113
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2018 7:15 am

Re: Hornby Class 20 TTS Loco in Consist

Postby brammie » Thu Oct 04, 2018 2:14 pm

Yes,thanks for that Rob but I need the two locos to push a track cleaner round my layout - one alone is not enough grunt.

brammie
Posts: 113
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2018 7:15 am

Re: Hornby Class 20 TTS Loco in Consist

Postby brammie » Sat Oct 06, 2018 1:56 pm

I feel inclined to ask whether anyone reading this thread has successfully operated two Hornby Class 20 TTS locos in consist. It would be reassuring to know that what I have in mind has some hope of operating.

User avatar
Forfarian
Posts: 601
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2011 2:16 pm
Location: Forfar, Angus

Re: Hornby Class 20 TTS Loco in Consist

Postby Forfarian » Sun Oct 07, 2018 4:43 pm

You would be better using a Class 40 or 66 to push your track cleaner.
Tim
aka Forfarian

brammie
Posts: 113
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2018 7:15 am

Re: Hornby Class 20 TTS Loco in Consist

Postby brammie » Sun Oct 07, 2018 5:19 pm

Thanks Tim, but I would like to keep my layout "authentic" to the area as much as I can. Perhaps when I eventually get a pair of Class 20 locos to run in consist, I may have to resort to something with more beef to run the track cleaner - a CMX by the way.

User avatar
Forfarian
Posts: 601
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2011 2:16 pm
Location: Forfar, Angus

Re: Hornby Class 20 TTS Loco in Consist

Postby Forfarian » Sun Oct 07, 2018 7:54 pm

brammie wrote:Thanks Tim, but I would like to keep my layout "authentic" to the area as much as I can. Perhaps when I eventually get a pair of Class 20 locos to run in consist, I may have to resort to something with more beef to run the track cleaner - a CMX by the way.


I have a CMX track cleaner and I find it needs the grunt of the 40 to pull it round, I never had much joy pushing the CMX due to the small wheels derailing at points
.
Tim
aka Forfarian

brammie
Posts: 113
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2018 7:15 am

Re: Hornby Class 20 TTS Loco in Consist

Postby brammie » Mon Oct 08, 2018 6:00 am

Forfarian wrote:
brammie wrote:Thanks Tim, but I would like to keep my layout "authentic" to the area as much as I can. Perhaps when I eventually get a pair of Class 20 locos to run in consist, I may have to resort to something with more beef to run the track cleaner - a CMX by the way.


I have a CMX track cleaner and I find it needs the grunt of the 40 to pull it round, I never had much joy pushing the CMX due to the small wheels derailing at points
.


I have the same problem Tim. I am wondering about changing the wheels for a larger set - and doubling the thickness of the pad.

brammie
Posts: 113
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2018 7:15 am

Re: Hornby Class 20 TTS Loco in Consist

Postby brammie » Tue Oct 09, 2018 8:09 am

Pleased to report that second Hornby Class 20 TTS en route, in the post!

brammie
Posts: 113
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2018 7:15 am

Re: Hornby Class 20 TTS Loco in Consist

Postby brammie » Fri Oct 12, 2018 12:58 pm

New Hornby Class 20 arrived in the post this morning. Changed the address to my preference, but IT ONLY RUNS WHEN FACING ONE DIRECTION! I've looked through a number of threads on this apparently known problem, but have not found a solution. Can anyone put me right on this please.

User avatar
Roger (RJ)
Posts: 1397
Joined: Tue May 29, 2007 2:59 pm
Location: Nottingham, UK.

Re: Hornby Class 20 TTS Loco in Consist

Postby Roger (RJ) » Fri Oct 12, 2018 1:17 pm

Either return to supplier as faulty or contact Hornby for possible reprogramming or replacement.

brammie
Posts: 113
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2018 7:15 am

Re: Hornby Class 20 TTS Loco in Consist

Postby brammie » Fri Oct 12, 2018 3:28 pm

Thanks Roger, done.

User avatar
Roger (RJ)
Posts: 1397
Joined: Tue May 29, 2007 2:59 pm
Location: Nottingham, UK.

Re: Hornby Class 20 TTS Loco in Consist

Postby Roger (RJ) » Fri Oct 12, 2018 4:47 pm

Which option?

brammie
Posts: 113
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2018 7:15 am

Re: Hornby Class 20 TTS Loco in Consist

Postby brammie » Fri Oct 12, 2018 4:57 pm

email to Hornby, with copoies of receipts. I don't expect miracles after my last enquiry.


Return to “DCC Forum”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests