what is used for frog electrification when Manual

Post all your DCC only problems, solutions and discoverys here.
Sammo
Posts: 89
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2009 9:58 pm

what is used for frog electrification when Manual

Postby Sammo » Wed May 09, 2018 8:59 am

I have some Electrofrog points in close proximity and therefore will be operating them manually.
What do people use in general for switching the polarity of the frog? When they have modified them for DCC

Paul-H
Posts: 135
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2009 3:00 pm

Re: what is used for frog electrification when Manual

Postby Paul-H » Wed May 09, 2018 9:07 am

Hi

You could just rely on the factory designed method of using the switch blade to power the frog, that way no modifications are needed, but if you have modified them to make them more DCC friendly using the usual method then some sort of auto frog switcher will be needed, I use the little Gaugemaster autofrog on my layout without issue.

Paul

User avatar
alex3410
Posts: 3330
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2012 4:39 pm
Location: Essex

Re: what is used for frog electrification when Manual

Postby alex3410 » Wed May 09, 2018 10:35 am

Are the autofrog's safe to use? and do they switch quick enough you don't notice when running locos?

User avatar
Bufferstop
Posts: 10658
Joined: Thu Mar 11, 2010 12:06 pm
Location: Bottom end of N. Warks line

Re: what is used for frog electrification when Manual

Postby Bufferstop » Wed May 09, 2018 10:38 am

How manual will they be? If you will be moving the point blades by push/pulling the tie bar then the auto frog switcher is probably best. Cheaper might be to fit a stiff wire to the tie bar, with the other end in a hole in the dolly of a dpdt slide switch, you can then use one set of contacts to switch the frog.
Growing old, can't avoid it. Growing up, forget it!
My Layout, My Workbench Blog and My Opinions


Return to “DCC Forum”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests