Page 1 of 1

Bit of a dilemma with DCC

Posted: Sat Apr 28, 2018 1:09 pm
by aldothenoo
Hi. I have a medium sized layout in my loft which was originally DC. I ripped it up and started again as it didn't continue around my loft so I put a new layer of boards over the existing ones and made a continuous double line around my loft all DC which was fine. Then I found DCC. I bought a elite and a few locos and point clips and I was away. That's how it is at the moment. It's running fine tbh but I keep seeing videos about bus wires ? I don't have any . Is this really necessary? I say this because my boards are now twice the thickness and I'm useless at electrics. Something I never thought about when I entered the DCC world. Any feedback would be greatly appreciated thank you Alan

Re: Bit of a dilemma with DCC

Posted: Sat Apr 28, 2018 1:57 pm
by Roger (RJ)
A DCC bus is like an insurance policy. You don't actually need it but one day you might be glad you have it.

It ensures that power will reach all around the layout without relying on fishplates, point clips and point blades to carry the current and very much reduces the electrical resistance. Low resistance is needed to make sure the DCC controller cuts out immediately if a short circuit occurs to prevent damage and possibly even a fire.

You should check that your controller cuts out when a short circuit is applied to anywhere and everywhere. This is often called the coin test, as a coin held to the rails is a good test but you can use a screwdriver or other metal object to do the test.

Edit for pyto :mrgreen:

Re: Bit of a dilemma with DCC

Posted: Sat Apr 28, 2018 2:34 pm
by aldothenoo
Thanks Roger I'll try the coin restrictions and see what prevails Alan

Re: Bit of a dilemma with DCC

Posted: Sat Apr 28, 2018 3:48 pm
by TimberSurf
Here is a longer write up about DCC bus's Lumsdonia TIP202

Re: Bit of a dilemma with DCC

Posted: Wed May 02, 2018 5:56 pm
by propnut
My experience was similar, Aldo. I was into radio-controlled aircraft (building and flying) for twenty years, but age and slowing reflexes meant I was crashing more than flying so I took up railway modelling last year. I decided to go DCC, from the start, and had several old Hornby engines (inherited from my late Father) that I needed to fit with decoders, and a Bachmann BR Standard 4 4-6-0 with a split chassis. My choice of career gave me no practical skills, so it was a steep learning curve to get to grips with bus wires, soldering, etc. I joined a club (not very helpful, I found), read books and magazines, watched You Tube and specialist internet sites, and thoroughly enjoyed the whole process. With great trepidation I fitted a decoder to a tender drive Hornby Britannia and... it worked! I tried the same with the split chassis, despite being advised not to even try it, and... it worked! My biggest need was to learn to solder properly, and a one day course at DCC Supplies, Worcester, was worth every penny. Now I find I can generally solve problems myself, or get advice from forums if I can't. So - give it a try. I know its a cliché but, if I can do it, anyone can.