Hornby tts query

Post all your DCC only problems, solutions and discoverys here.
dgp1957
Posts: 94
Joined: Fri Oct 27, 2006 4:25 pm

Hornby tts query

Postby dgp1957 » Sat Apr 07, 2018 1:22 pm

Hi, I have fitted a Hornby tts sound decoder into an old Lima class 37. I have replaced the motor with a susumotors motor, replaced the dummy bogie with a replacement bogie with clean pickups.the sound works great, however when running at slow speed the loco seems to pulse stop/start, and higher speeds runs ok, is this a problem with the decoder?

Paul-H
Posts: 152
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2009 3:00 pm

Re: Hornby tts query

Postby Paul-H » Sat Apr 07, 2018 2:11 pm

Probably just needs a CV adjusted, others more knowledgeable in these things will come along soon and tell you which CV to change and to what

Probably CV150 to 154 looking at the instructions

Paul

dgp1957
Posts: 94
Joined: Fri Oct 27, 2006 4:25 pm

Re: Hornby tts query

Postby dgp1957 » Sat Apr 07, 2018 3:06 pm

If I reset cv8 to 8, it says it will reset to factory preset, will that erase the sound ability from the decoder?

dgp1957
Posts: 94
Joined: Fri Oct 27, 2006 4:25 pm

Re: Hornby tts query

Postby dgp1957 » Sat Apr 07, 2018 3:14 pm

Sorry guys, one more question, is it possible to program cv's using Hornby select system?

Paul-H
Posts: 152
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2009 3:00 pm

Re: Hornby tts query

Postby Paul-H » Sat Apr 07, 2018 4:41 pm

Factory reset just resets any changes you made CV's etc back to factory, it has no effect on the sound (allegedly)

Don't know about the select, other than most people say bin it so doubt its much good.

Paul

User avatar
Roger (RJ)
Posts: 1350
Joined: Tue May 29, 2007 2:59 pm
Location: Nottingham, UK.

Re: Hornby tts query

Postby Roger (RJ) » Sat Apr 07, 2018 5:56 pm

The Select can only adjust a few CVs, acceleration (CV 3), deceleration (4), default direction of travel, and loco address (CV 1 (between 1 and 59)). Address 0 (zero) can be used to run one dc loco - NOT RECOMMENDED. It cannot set CV 8 at all so it cannot reset any decoders.
If at first you don't succeed - cheat
Anyone who is willing to stand for political office isn't fit to be in political office

https://www.modelrailwayforum.co.uk

Rog (RJ)

dgp1957
Posts: 94
Joined: Fri Oct 27, 2006 4:25 pm

Re: Hornby tts query

Postby dgp1957 » Sat Apr 07, 2018 11:16 pm

Thanks guys, I had a feeling that the select wouldn't let me, couldn't find anything about it in the manual.
Iv got a Nce powercab system as well, I'll try and reset the decoder with it.

User avatar
RAFHAAA96
Posts: 499
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2008 1:39 pm
Location: Cyprus

Re: Hornby tts query

Postby RAFHAAA96 » Sun Apr 08, 2018 7:02 am

Resetting CV8 to value 8 will reset the whole decoder but will not cause any damage. To reset just the sound it is value 5 to CV8.

As you have remotored your model you should try putting CV150 from value 0 to value 1. You can also fine tune these motor algorithms by adjusting CVs 151-154 as applocable - see the TTS leaflet.

All this is academic using a Select as even at v1.5 which can operate all sound functions, the unit can only change very limited CVs as noted earlier. Your other controller may be the answer to changing CVs.

Rob
RAF Halton Brat - 96th Entry
http://www.halton96th.co.uk

dgp1957
Posts: 94
Joined: Fri Oct 27, 2006 4:25 pm

Re: Hornby tts query

Postby dgp1957 » Sun Apr 08, 2018 8:29 pm

Thanks guys, worked a treat, changed cv 150 to 1, and changed cv 10 (back emf) way down to 2, now she crawls along lovely :D

User avatar
RAFHAAA96
Posts: 499
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2008 1:39 pm
Location: Cyprus

Re: Hornby tts query

Postby RAFHAAA96 » Mon Apr 09, 2018 8:06 am

Note that tweaking CV10 (bemf) is OK for TTS diesels but TTS Steam relies upon bemf to control when to chuff and its increase/decrease in rate and when to coast (i.e. speed variation and on and off load).

Rob
RAF Halton Brat - 96th Entry
http://www.halton96th.co.uk


Return to “DCC Forum”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests