MRC Prodigy Advance DCC controller.. any good?

Post all your DCC only problems, solutions and discoverys here.
Jubelmo

MRC Prodigy Advance DCC controller.. any good?

Post by Jubelmo »

Hi there.

Can anyone help me. I’m new to DCC and have completed wiring up my layout using dropper wires and a bus circuit. I need to get a controller now and have seen an L807 MRC Prodigy Advance on eBay. Although it looks like a gaugemaster Prodigy I don’t think it is. Does anyone have any experience with them? Are they American? Would it recognise uk decoders? If it’s no good can anyone recommend a good, reasonably priced controller.

Thank you in advance

Julian
314C7761-AD01-4F81-93A6-238EC3CECD69.png
Roger (RJ)

Re: MRC Prodigy Advance DCC controller.. any good?

Post by Roger (RJ) »

The MRC (Model Rectifier Corporation) Prodigy is an American made controller which Gaugemaster sell under their own brand. Both will work with any make of DCC decoder that is NMRA conformant.

Gaugemaster will not give any support with the MRC controllers if you have trouble, you would need to contact MRC in America.
Jubelmo

Post by Jubelmo »

Hi.

Thank you. That’s a great help. I’ll keep an eye on it’s price and that will determine if I get it as I’ve noticed now the gaugemaster express is approx £150 with warranty.

Julian
TimberSurf

Post by TimberSurf »

I doubt it will stay cheap on Ebay, my preference would be to buy a NCE, rather than a prodigy
Lumsdonia <--- Hit link to go to my website for full story and wiring advice!
Bigglesof266

Post by Bigglesof266 »

The Prodigy Advance is an American product by MRC. Yes, it works fine with DCC and UK decoders.

The Prodigy "Express" is not the "Advance". Apples with apples.

Gaugemaster sell rebadged versions presumably as MRC's regional licensed single line import distributor in the UK market which is supplied with a UK approved 240v PSU, local warranty and support.