Decoder wire connector

Post all your DCC only problems, solutions and discoverys here.
dgp1957
Posts: 75
Joined: Fri Oct 27, 2006 4:25 pm

Decoder wire connector

Postby dgp1957 » Fri Mar 16, 2018 12:27 am

Thinking of adding a decoder and lighting to a Lima class 37. If I add the lighting wires to the LEDs in the loco it would be a bit fiddly to remove the body in the future. Is there some kind of connector I could use that is small enough to fit inside the body and allow me to disconnect the wires?

Paul-H
Posts: 145
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2009 3:00 pm

Re: Decoder wire connector

Postby Paul-H » Fri Mar 16, 2018 7:54 am

You could use the mini Molex type connector as used by Dapol but the big problem with them is the high cost of the crimping tool needed, which is nearly £50, i would just use longer wires and tuck the excess away when the body is fitted.

Paul

Bigmet
Posts: 6241
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2007 2:19 pm

Re: Decoder wire connector

Postby Bigmet » Fri Mar 16, 2018 10:05 am

More than one way to skin a cat!

An alternative method is to put the LEDs on little subframes permanently attached to the chassis.

User avatar
alex3410
Posts: 3360
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2012 4:39 pm
Location: Essex

Re: Decoder wire connector

Postby alex3410 » Fri Mar 16, 2018 12:40 pm

or look at a system of connecting them up using springs or something so they make contact when the body is on but don't get in the way when removing the body.

User avatar
Mountain
Posts: 3058
Joined: Mon Oct 24, 2016 3:43 pm
Location: Somewhere in Wales, UK.

Re: Decoder wire connector

Postby Mountain » Fri Mar 16, 2018 4:17 pm

There's a trader who attends the local model railway shows around my area and I think he is based in Ammanford. He sells these tiny plugs and sockets which are simply soldered to wires. They are reasonably priced or I would not have bought some myself!
Enjoying 7mm narrow gauge.

User avatar
RAFHAAA96
Posts: 494
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2008 1:39 pm
Location: Cyprus

Re: Decoder wire connector

Postby RAFHAAA96 » Sat Mar 17, 2018 7:10 am

Use the standard Hornby 4-pin loco to tender plug and socket x6311. Edit should be x6113
Note that under this part number dependant upon supplier you will get just the plug or you may get both the plug and socket.
Rob
Last edited by RAFHAAA96 on Sun Mar 18, 2018 6:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.
RAF Halton Brat - 96th Entry
http://www.halton96th.co.uk

Bramshot
Posts: 194
Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2016 6:55 pm

Re: Decoder wire connector

Postby Bramshot » Sat Mar 17, 2018 10:44 am

You can buy the ones used by Dapol pre wired to short lengths so no crimping tool required, from Layouts 4 U. Available in 2or 3 pin, Dapol use the 3 pin.

Suzie
Posts: 261
Joined: Tue Dec 17, 2013 11:46 pm

Re: Decoder wire connector

Postby Suzie » Sun Mar 18, 2018 10:22 am

There is plenty of room in a Lima loco so 0.1" pitch pin connectors as used by Bachmann are ideal and available from electronic suppliers in various sizes.

Suzie x

Paul-H
Posts: 145
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2009 3:00 pm

Re: Decoder wire connector

Postby Paul-H » Sun Mar 18, 2018 5:08 pm

RAFHAAA96 wrote:Use the standard Hornby 4-pin loco to tender plug and socket x6311.
Note that under this part number dependant upon supplier you will get just the plug or you may get both the plug and socket.
Rob


Are you sure about x6311 that number comes back as a HORNBY X6311 CLASS 423 4-VEP DUMMY BOGIE WHEEL SET

User avatar
RAFHAAA96
Posts: 494
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2008 1:39 pm
Location: Cyprus

Re: Decoder wire connector

Postby RAFHAAA96 » Sun Mar 18, 2018 6:05 pm

Sorry that should be X6113.
RAF Halton Brat - 96th Entry
http://www.halton96th.co.uk

dgp1957
Posts: 75
Joined: Fri Oct 27, 2006 4:25 pm

Re: Decoder wire connector

Postby dgp1957 » Sun Mar 18, 2018 7:44 pm

Thanks guys


Return to “DCC Forum”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests