Digitrax BDL168 Block Detection and Transponding

Post all your DCC only problems, solutions and discoverys here.
matt1471
Posts: 360
Joined: Tue Dec 16, 2008 6:13 pm

Digitrax BDL168 Block Detection and Transponding

Postby matt1471 » Mon Feb 12, 2018 7:18 pm

I am looking to add the Digitrax BDL168 to my DCC layout to benefit from the block detection features. I am also thinking of using the RX4s for transponding.

Do the decoders fitted to my loco's need to be Digitrax specific to work with the RX4 and transponding, or will any decoder work? I have a mix of Zimo, ESU and Bachmann.

Thanks in advance.
Matt

Sammo
Posts: 89
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2009 9:58 pm

Re: Digitrax BDL168 Block Detection and Transponding

Postby Sammo » Sun Feb 18, 2018 11:10 pm

I use Digitrax for all hardware
Power, block detection, Signal control, Auto reverse, Radio control etc
I am using Zimo MX 600, Bachmann, ESU sound, Hornby sound and Bachmann sound Decoders.
All work with my system, so I don't foresee you having any problems.
It is the control brains which communicates with your decoders and it is the control brains which communicate with the hardware.
The BDL 168 doesn't communicate with ghe decoder directly.

matt1471
Posts: 360
Joined: Tue Dec 16, 2008 6:13 pm

Re: Digitrax BDL168 Block Detection and Transponding

Postby matt1471 » Mon Feb 19, 2018 5:55 pm

I use JMRI as my 'brains'

How would JMRI be able to identify which loco is in a specific block via the digitrax hardware?

Thanks
Matt

Sammo
Posts: 89
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2009 9:58 pm

Re: Digitrax BDL168 Block Detection and Transponding

Postby Sammo » Mon Feb 19, 2018 10:25 pm

I would suggest you go to the Digitrax website,
Download the manual which explains how the BDL 168 is wired, what inputs and outputs it has and from that you should be able to see if it will work with your controller.

matt1471
Posts: 360
Joined: Tue Dec 16, 2008 6:13 pm

Re: Digitrax BDL168 Block Detection and Transponding

Postby matt1471 » Tue Feb 20, 2018 5:47 am

I get how the BDL get wired and short of looking at JMRI again I know it will detect and shoe on the JMRI that a section is occupied.

I want to confirm if it can detect which addressed loco is in the block.

From reading it, it suggests I would need to use the transponding features of the BDL via RX4 a Nd a further chip!!!!

RFS
Posts: 857
Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2010 3:09 pm
Location: Derbyshire, UK

Re: Digitrax BDL168 Block Detection and Transponding

Postby RFS » Tue Feb 20, 2018 9:40 am

Suggest you have a read of this - https://dccwiki.com/Transponding
Robert Smith

matt1471
Posts: 360
Joined: Tue Dec 16, 2008 6:13 pm

Re: Digitrax BDL168 Block Detection and Transponding

Postby matt1471 » Tue Feb 20, 2018 6:55 pm

Sorry FFS, this still doesn't answer my question and if anything backs up my query and my question!!!

I don't want to have to add a digitrax transponder to each of my locos. There are already fitted with a variety of DCC decoders.

RFS
Posts: 857
Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2010 3:09 pm
Location: Derbyshire, UK

Re: Digitrax BDL168 Block Detection and Transponding

Postby RFS » Tue Feb 20, 2018 9:52 pm

Transponding is exclusive to Digitrax so requires Digitrax decoders. Furthermore, you may find other decoder brands don't work correctly if you have transponding enabled.

Another thread (fairly old!) for you to peruse - http://cs.trains.com/mrr/f/744/t/188868.aspx
Robert Smith

matt1471
Posts: 360
Joined: Tue Dec 16, 2008 6:13 pm

Re: Digitrax BDL168 Block Detection and Transponding

Postby matt1471 » Tue Feb 20, 2018 10:56 pm

Mmm :? now I'm super confused.

I think I might just use the DigiKeijs DR5088 digidetect. That uses railcom to feedback over LocoNet so I know that that will definitely display the DCC address on the JMRI screen of which loco is in a block.

That's all I wanted to achieve and had hoped the BDL168 would do this, but I'm not 100% sure it will.


Return to “DCC Forum”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests