Page 1 of 1

Portescap Motor

Posted: Sun Jan 21, 2018 6:13 pm
by Southern Region
Just a quick question needing advice, can a portescap motor be used for DCC running. I seem to remember sometime in the past that were unsuitable. Alan

Re: Portescap Motor

Posted: Sun Jan 21, 2018 7:52 pm
by Mountain
Yes, but I seem to remember they need a decoder which is designed to run coreless motors. I seem to remember in the Lenz 2001 DCC lists that they had a specific decoder for those motors. It wasn't cheap,but back then nothing DCC was!

Re: Portescap Motor

Posted: Sun Jan 21, 2018 7:54 pm
by David Bigcheeseplant
I have a number of these motors running on DCC all have digitrax chips in them with no problems.

Re: Portescap Motor

Posted: Mon Jan 22, 2018 9:57 am
by Bigmet
Seconded. All the specialist DCC makers current branded decoders should do the job, a pre-read of manufacturer documentation advisable. This is I would suggest 'no cheaping out' territory (personally I would choose Zimo because their documentation is very specific for optimising set up for coreless motors).

Re: Portescap Motor

Posted: Tue Jan 23, 2018 4:19 pm
by Southern Region
Thank you all for your suggestions.

Re: Portescap Motor

Posted: Tue Jan 23, 2018 10:25 pm
by Sammo
I use Zimo MX600 on my Portescap motor gearbox units which are in Wrenn locos

Re: Portescap Motor

Posted: Wed Jan 24, 2018 10:44 pm
by Peterm
Sammo wrote:I use Zimo MX600 on my Portescap motor gearbox units which are in Wrenn locos

Yes, they all (Zimo) work with coreless motors.