Point decoders

Post all your DCC only problems, solutions and discoverys here.
Gilbert

Point decoders

Postby Gilbert » Mon Dec 21, 2015 7:21 pm

Just about to make the leap to DCC. Looking at point decoders....the Lenz 150 6 way one looks good value for money. Are there any other one that are cheaper or better?. Getting rid of miles of wires under the layout appeals to me...!!!!!( 51 points...!!!!).

RFS

Re: Point decoders

Postby RFS » Mon Dec 21, 2015 9:11 pm

Which point motors do you have? The LS150 is for solenoids and can just about do Peco PL-10s provided the motors are well maintained and not stiff. The low-voltage ones (PL-10W) are much better. Seep motors are not reliable enough. I once had half a dozen of these and they just drew too much current for the LS10s and were basically unusable.

You could try the DCC Concepts ADS8 but I've no experience of that, apart from the fact that if you use it for frog polarity switching it doesn't remember the setting of the points after a power outage (eg layout shut down or DCC short).

How are you planning to operate the points? 51 points using any DCC throttle can be a right faff, even assuming you can remember all 51 numbers. A computer would allow an online switchboard using free software such as JMRI, with points changed by a simple mouse click.

Another consideration is that converting your layout to DCC doesn't require the points to be DCC-controlled. A conventional system with a physical switchboard works just as well.
Robert Smith

Bigmet

Postby Bigmet » Mon Dec 21, 2015 10:56 pm