Which Controller

Post all your DCC only problems, solutions and discoverys here.
phil.c

Which Controller

Postby phil.c » Sat Feb 11, 2012 5:54 pm

Hi All,
I have'nt been here for quite a while, the last time I called in I posted lots of pictures of my layout, some might remember the pit scene .

I have been building layouts for around forty years, mostly scratch built, buildings loco's points (SMP) etc etc.I have'nt done anything with my layout for about six or more years, but i'm getting that itching back.

I use cab control with two controllers but i'm thinking of going digital. I admit that I now very little about it, so my question is, which one?

I use around six loco's, the room is 18' x 10', I would like to have sound simulation in the loco's if possible and i'm looking for a user friendly system.

Some help/advise would be appreciated :D

Phil

Flashbang

Re: Which Controller

Postby Flashbang » Sat Feb 11, 2012 6:00 pm

Hi
Without hesitation...NCE PowerCab.

If you want more power and have a larger budget, then the NCE Power Pro etc ..

I use a MRC Prodigy Advanced (Sold in the UK under the Gaugemaster badge) Excellent unit.
[Image << Click the Icon to go to my website
Broken? It was working correctly when I left it.

Eastern
Location: Portland, Oregon. USA - originally from East Anglia

Postby Eastern » Sat Feb 11, 2012 6:04 pm

Hi Phil - if I remember correctly, you have a very detailed and atmospheric layout - (please post a few reminder pics for those who may have missed it :wink: )
For my 2 pence worth, I started DCC with a Digitrax Zephyr (although some of the techspeak is a little wordy) but have liked the controller as well as the opportunities to expand if needed - my advice is to talk to people (via the web or in real-life!) to get the pros and cons - I have also heard that NCE also have a good system.

This website may also give some other advices from DCC Concepts - website-click here
Good luck and lets se some pics :wink: !