Multiple locomotives with one DCC controller

Post all your DCC only problems, solutions and discoverys here.
raistlin295

Multiple locomotives with one DCC controller

Postby raistlin295 » Wed Oct 27, 2010 8:11 pm

Hi all,

I'm relatively new to DCC. I do hope this question isn't stupid.

I have a PowerCab and with it I'm able to "start up" a series of sound enabled locomotives by selecting each loco in turn. However, when I re-select a loco that I have previously started, the engine sounds stop.

Is this right or am I doing something wrong please?
Paul

Finsbury Road My Layout

SRman

Re: Multiple locomotives with one DCC controller

Postby SRman » Thu Oct 28, 2010 3:45 am

That is normal behaviour. If you select a new locomotive which has previously had functions like lights and sound turned on, then hit the sound function (usually 1 for British outline) as soon as you have pressed the [enter] key.

You can keep two locomotives in the recall stack (memory) and toggle between them using the recall button. To do this, select your first locomotive and turn on the functions you want, then press recall once and select a second locomotive and select the functions you want it to display. Now, by pressing recall, you can swap between these two without losing sound or lights.

Selecting a new locomotive will overwrite the one showing on the display so that becomes the new one in the recall stack. The one that was replaced in the stack will "remember" its settings (lights/sound, etc.) until you reselect it, which is when you need to hit the sound function button very quickly so as not to lose it.

sishades

Postby sishades » Thu Oct 28, 2010 11:26 am

I had this problem with my digitrax a while back. I would leave an engine ticking over and when it was reselected the sound and lights would go off. There is an option within the Digitrax setup to retain the settings when selecting other locos. Check your manual if there is an equivalent for the PowerCab.