Idiot Proof DCC?

Post all your DCC only problems, solutions and discoverys here.
Rogue_Lion1

Idiot Proof DCC?

Postby Rogue_Lion1 » Thu Dec 10, 2009 8:13 pm

Hi Rogue Lion Here - i Hope i have posted this in the r ight place if not i am sure the moderatiors will do so for Me and I apologise in advance if I have. I am a total novice to electronics and wiring and as such I intend to build My new and first ever 8' x 4' layout using DCC. Any and All advice to a complete and total novice will be more than welcome.

Thanks

RL

Flashbang

Re: Idiot Proof DCC?

Postby Flashbang » Thu Dec 10, 2009 8:32 pm

Hi
Welcome to the DCC forum.
Have you purchased a DCC control system?
If so. what one?
If not, have you made a short list of possibles?
How many locos do you want to run at once?
Is PC control (even later on) an option for you?
What about point operation - Is it to be DCC for later PC control or conventional analogue with a panel and switches perhaps?

All of the above many seem daunting, but if you work through each one and make a list then visit model shops and try the systems "Hands on" you'll make the correct choice for you budget and needs.
You will find many contributors will "recommend" their system, but in the end its what you want and how much you're prepared to pay!

I would recommend either or both, buy some related books and /or browse the forums and ask plenty of questions :D
[Image << Click the Icon to go to my website
Broken? It was working correctly when I left it.

Bigglesof266

Postby Bigglesof266 » Thu Dec 10, 2009 8:59 pm