How Good is It

Post all your DCC only problems, solutions and discoverys here.
User avatar
Flashbang
Posts: 3219
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2007 1:07 pm
Location: SE United Kingdom

Re: How Good is It

Postby Flashbang » Tue Aug 07, 2018 11:09 am

Hi

Yes i will allow more locos and if used DCC accessories to be run simultaneously. If you're happy with the Selects short comings then upgrading the power supply will allow you more operational scope. You need the Hornby C7024 / P9300 power supply.
Expect to pay between £26 and £45 for the 4.0Amp PSU... Link to one of the cheaper suppliers and at the other end of the price scale... Hornby shop

Edit to add URLs
Broken? It was working correctly when I left it.

Bigmet
Posts: 6075
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2007 2:19 pm

Re: How Good is It

Postby Bigmet » Tue Aug 07, 2018 11:13 am

I would suggest a back to square one approach. You will need a full system that outputs 4 to 5A to operate multiple locos, when one or more are sound fitted.

This is going to cost you money, so you might want to look at all the DCC systems on offer. The established DCC specialist manufacturers offer a lot more than Hornby ever will in capability. Just for a start not being tied to a console based unit - Hornby's Elite - to get full system functionality. I can for example do 'everything' on a small light corded handheld (Lenz 100) from any point around the layout, and could equally do this with a cordless option (except that I am a proven terror for losing remotes, so think having a wire to find the handset a good thing!). In short there's a world of choice out there, well beyond what Hornby's DCC products can offer, and you might want to take a look at it.

triuph1050
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2018 12:08 pm

Re: How Good is It

Postby triuph1050 » Tue Aug 07, 2018 3:48 pm

Thanks people. Very pleased to say that all is good, I can have all locos live now. Two running round the two circuits with light and sound , while I make shunting operations on the spurs. Yes I'm sure I will upgrade to a better system one day but for time being still learning :)

User avatar
sparkhill
Posts: 133
Joined: Sun Aug 11, 2013 11:25 pm
Location: Birmingham lad living in Oz.

Re: How Good is It

Postby sparkhill » Tue Aug 07, 2018 9:14 pm

I am happy to report that my Select is now running American Atlas and Bachmann DCC locos, my next move is to buy a Toshiba 15v 4 amp laptop power supply which should allow me to run American Bachmann Sound Value locos.
Regards
Nobby

User avatar
RAFHAAA96
Posts: 466
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2008 1:39 pm
Location: Cyprus

Re: How Good is It

Postby RAFHAAA96 » Wed Aug 08, 2018 1:06 pm

Be aware the power jack input for the Hornby kit is an odd size, so finding a laptop supply to match may be a challenge.
Rob
RAF Halton Brat - 96th Entry
http://www.halton96th.co.uk

User avatar
sparkhill
Posts: 133
Joined: Sun Aug 11, 2013 11:25 pm
Location: Birmingham lad living in Oz.

Re: How Good is It

Postby sparkhill » Thu Aug 09, 2018 4:12 am

RAFHAAA96 wrote:Be aware the power jack input for the Hornby kit is an odd size, so finding a laptop supply to match may be a challenge.
Rob


Thanks for that Rob by the way I enjoyed your website :D
Regards
Nobby

User avatar
RAFHAAA96
Posts: 466
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2008 1:39 pm
Location: Cyprus

Re: How Good is It

Postby RAFHAAA96 » Thu Aug 09, 2018 12:25 pm

sparkhill wrote:
RAFHAAA96 wrote:Be aware the power jack input for the Hornby kit is an odd size, so finding a laptop supply to match may be a challenge.
Rob


Thanks for that Rob by the way I enjoyed your website :D


Thank you Nobby - I got volunteered to build and maintain it on behalf of our dwindling number of vintage ex-Halton Brats.

I also have this one which is model railway oriented...
http://myweb.cytanet.com.cy/honnor/


Sorry to run off topic a bit...

This thread on the Hornby forum gives some detail about the jack plug size...
https://www.hornby.com/uk-en/forum/horn ... ost-203345

Rob
RAF Halton Brat - 96th Entry
http://www.halton96th.co.uk

GWR_fan
Posts: 4744
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2012 11:57 pm
Location: Antipodes

Re: How Good is It

Postby GWR_fan » Thu Aug 09, 2018 11:16 pm

Just for interest, I have purchased about six of these power supplies. The units are voltage output adjustable and supplied with a range of tips. I found a tip that fitted the Hornby unit plus another that fitted my Roco Multimaus units. I have also found that the power supply that Hornby supplies can have a variable sized tip. In one instance the tip on the power supply did not match the controller.

https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/UNIVERSAL-7 ... 1050510972

There is also a 6 amp model -

https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Universal-9 ... 0005.m1851

User avatar
sparkhill
Posts: 133
Joined: Sun Aug 11, 2013 11:25 pm
Location: Birmingham lad living in Oz.

Re: How Good is It

Postby sparkhill » Fri Aug 10, 2018 4:40 am

GWR_fan wrote:Just for interest, I have purchased about six of these power supplies. The units are voltage output adjustable and supplied with a range of tips. I found a tip that fitted the Hornby unit plus another that fitted my Roco Multimaus units. I have also found that the power supply that Hornby supplies can have a variable sized tip. In one instance the tip on the power supply did not match the controller.

https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/UNIVERSAL-7 ... 1050510972

There is also a 6 amp model -

https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Universal-9 ... 0005.m1851



Thanks for the heads up on the power supply great value and available from Sydney, couldn't be better :wink:
Regards
Nobby


Return to “DCC Forum”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests