The Childhood Dream

Post pictures and information about your own personal model railway layout that is under construction. Keep members up-to-date with what you are doing and discuss problems that you are having.
smitstr

The Childhood Dream

Postby smitstr » Fri Sep 14, 2007 9:40 pm

Hi Guys,
I have just started building my first layout, and wanted to know what you thought about it and my plans for it! I am going to incorporate the hornby operating tipper and operating converyer!
I have thought about the gradient, power, trackfitting, and what loco im using for it(the class 08 in the photos) and want to know if i have missed anything out in my planning. Also im in my last year at school and wanted to see if there was anybody else my age into this hobby?

My proposed layout:

red="Operating components" Grey="Raised section" Black="Track"

Progress so far:

Does anybody know any good looking loco sheds that would complement my loco?

Cheers,
Peter

Ironduke

Postby Ironduke » Fri Sep 14, 2007 11:15 pm

so far so good :^) but how do you stop everything from sliding off the end?

I believe that Metcalfe make a nice engine shed
Regards
Rob

zebedeee scott

Postby zebedeee scott » Fri Sep 14, 2007 11:39 pm

Hi I assume that you are in year 11, i am also in my last year at burgate

Well hi then I built my first railway in year 7
here is a link to my lates model
http://www.newrailwaymodellers.co.uk/Fo ... php?t=9791

Don’t tack any affiance to this but,
Personally I would build something with more complicated track work because you may get board quickly

zebedee

Danny

Postby Danny » Sat Sep 15, 2007 12:56 pm

Hi Peter, nice plan there, seems you have thought about most things.

Have you thought of a purpose of the conveyour yet, I mean like is it going to be for stone at a quarry, coal at a colliery or whatever suitsyou at the time of running?

Hope to see how you get on with things.

Danny.

smitstr

Postby smitstr » Sat Sep 15, 2007 1:26 pm

Hi again,