Bill's New Extension. ----Update.

Post pictures and information about your own personal model railway layout that is under construction. Keep members up-to-date with what you are doing and discuss problems that you are having.
User avatar
Ironduke
Posts: 879
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2005 12:04 am
Location: Ballarat Victoria Australia
Contact:

Postby Ironduke » Thu Mar 09, 2006 9:32 pm

How thick is the stuff you're using for underlay?
I wondered about sound deadening pads myself but I've never got around to trying it. If anyone else tries it I'd be very interested in the results.
Regards
Rob

dr5euss
Posts: 1145
Joined: Sun Dec 18, 2005 12:28 pm

Postby dr5euss » Thu Mar 09, 2006 9:44 pm

.................
Last edited by dr5euss on Sun May 22, 2016 6:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Ironduke
Posts: 879
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2005 12:04 am
Location: Ballarat Victoria Australia
Contact:

Postby Ironduke » Thu Mar 09, 2006 10:03 pm

haha.. I'm just curious. Don't worry, I'm definitely sticking with AMI instant roadbed. (Get IT? :lol: :roll: )
Regards
Rob

User avatar
waz
Posts: 1098
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2005 11:33 am
Location: Isle of Man

Postby waz » Fri Mar 10, 2006 9:10 am

Hi Rob !!

The styrene roll stuff is 2mm thick. But if your going with road bed stick with it.

BILL.

User avatar
waz
Posts: 1098
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2005 11:33 am
Location: Isle of Man

Postby waz » Fri Mar 10, 2006 3:17 pm

Just a few photos to show the aftermath and may be, a new begining but its all up hill.

Just put down some styrene on the extension and gave it a coat of paint. I'll let that dry then lay the track on top. Hopefully I will attempt to cut around the track profile to give a neat finish. If you get what I mean?

BILL.

http://usera.imagecave.com/bluebird60/

User avatar
waz
Posts: 1098
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2005 11:33 am
Location: Isle of Man

Postby waz » Mon Mar 13, 2006 4:27 pm

Hi ALL !!

Well, managed to get a little done today. I needed to put some more styrene down to compleat the left hand side of the extention so I decided to do the lot. Now I have a clear space to work with life is a little more bearable. I was going to cut round the track profile when laid and throw the rest of the styrene away. Now it's down I seem to have falen in love with it. It leaves slight indentations if you kneel on it, you can probably see them. Still, land isn't exactly flat, is it?

Just got my parcel of Flexi Track in the post. I hope I've enough with 60ft plus what I have.

Anyway, onward and upward.

BILL.
http://usera.imagecave.com/bluebird60/

User avatar
waz
Posts: 1098
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2005 11:33 am
Location: Isle of Man

Postby waz » Wed Mar 15, 2006 10:24 am

Hi All !!!!

Just a quick update. Got a bit more done today and got the first outer loop compleated but not cut the rail across the flap yey. I'll wait till I have the other two loops finished then tackle it all at once.

To all you who look at my slow progess, thanks for taking the time.

BILL.

http://usera.imagecave.com/bluebird60/

User avatar
waz
Posts: 1098
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2005 11:33 am
Location: Isle of Man

Postby waz » Sat Mar 18, 2006 10:12 am

Managed to get the track down after some elementary cockups with the isolation loop and the station sidings. I might just try to run another siding into the station along side the one that stops at the booking office. But I will definately extend the other station siding a little as I can get another carriage length in without it looking to stretched. I still have to cut the rails across the drop down flap. That job I am not relishing.

I will now spend the day testing all my locomotives on track to ensure good running before I embark on the next step, whatever that may be.

http://usera.imagecave.com/bluebird60/

Thank you all for taking the time to view.

Regards, BILL.

User avatar
Raider
Posts: 1102
Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2005 12:55 am
Location: Wolverhampton
Contact:

Postby Raider » Sat Mar 18, 2006 12:09 pm

Looking good Bill,

There is a guide to lift up sections on the Waldovia website which may be of us to you http://www.ospreyweb.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk/kmr/track/lift01.htm

Chris

User avatar
waz
Posts: 1098
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2005 11:33 am
Location: Isle of Man

Postby waz » Sat Mar 18, 2006 6:37 pm

Raider !!! Thanks a million for the lift up flap site. Though mine is a drop down flap I found some terrific tips espesially soldering the ends of the rails to wood screws before you cut.

Have been running a full complement of locomotives most of the day. All the track seems to be in good nick up to press.

I'll update in the next 2/3 days.

Thanks all for taking the time to look at my humble efforts.

Regards. BILL.

User avatar
Raider
Posts: 1102
Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2005 12:55 am
Location: Wolverhampton
Contact:

Postby Raider » Sat Mar 18, 2006 6:49 pm

Glad to be of assistance

User avatar
waz
Posts: 1098
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2005 11:33 am
Location: Isle of Man

Postby waz » Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:28 am

Hi All!!

Sorry ,not much happening at the moment. I have still to cut through the drop down flap. I may do this today. Done a little wall and brige building but nothing major to the lay out. I need to order some scenic background otherwise I'm going to trap myself in and not be able to get to the back of the set to put it up.

Now I have the track down I seem to have lost the thread a bit. My enthusiasm has waned slightly. Has this ever happened to any one else out there?

Thank you all for taking time out to look at my progress.
I'll soon have my head together and be up there again.

BILL.

User avatar
ceedee
Posts: 257
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2005 8:53 pm
Location: Benidorm, Alicante, Spain
Contact:

Postby ceedee » Wed Mar 22, 2006 6:57 pm

Perhaps now would be a good time to consider how you are going to operate the layout when it is a bit further advanced, construction wise.

User avatar
waz
Posts: 1098
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2005 11:33 am
Location: Isle of Man

Postby waz » Thu Mar 23, 2006 9:23 am

Hi All !!!!

Thanks Ceedee but the layout is fully operational and tested. That was till yesterday, when I cut through the rails to make the drop down flat operational. This time I tried some new tips and made a right town halls of it. So this morning I'm going back to square one and re-doing it as I did before. The problem is mainly that the track has to come of the 8'x4' base board on a curve. It then runs straight, which is no problem. Anyway, I am determined to finish it today come what may. The train room is in a right mess at the moment and I want to hoover the carpet and get the place back in shape.

Thanks to all who take time out to view my humble attempts at railway modeling.

BILL.

User avatar
Dave777
Posts: 195
Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2005 12:58 pm
Location: UK

Postby Dave777 » Thu Mar 23, 2006 12:16 pm

waz wrote:Now I have the track down I seem to have lost the thread a bit. My enthusiasm has waned slightly. Has this ever happened to any one else out there?



I usually find interest drops off during the tracklaying and wiring stage - you're at the start of the interesting stuff now, all the creative bits. Maybe give it a clean up and then leave it for a while.
Specialist in short and to-the-point replies


Return to “Personal Layouts - Under Construction”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 4 guests