Jons Layout - Barnfield

Post pictures and information about your own personal model railway layout that is under construction. Keep members up-to-date with what you are doing and discuss problems that you are having.
westbrom
Posts: 831
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2006 8:57 pm
Location: chelmsford

Postby westbrom » Sat Aug 18, 2007 10:32 pm

Looks good Jon, it's bringing the layout to life.


Neil

User avatar
B@rney
Posts: 234
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2007 8:55 am

New Additions

Postby B@rney » Tue Aug 28, 2007 9:11 pm

Thought Id show off my latest purchases:

Hornby class 58's (pair, dummy + Powered) Ebay £28

Image

4 Mainline Crimson Coaches, all in very good nick Toymart £20 (woops its de-railed just noticed on the preview)

Image

Image

There is another thread on here somewhere about Toymart and it mentions the huge amounts of fees you have to pay. This only applies if you are buying from Toymart themselves. If its a private auction (which there are not many) Then you pay NO fees as the buyer!!
(Plus not many people seem to bid for stuff on there either, so sometimes bargains to be had.

User avatar
B@rney
Posts: 234
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2007 8:55 am

Postby B@rney » Mon Oct 01, 2007 5:02 pm

Thought it was time for an update.

Only words today, pics will follow soon (ish)

Ok few things have changed since last time I did anything to the layout.

I have aquired a new fleet of locos all DCC fitted and mainly bachmann
A load of DCC equipment (NCE power cab)

I have sold most of my older non dcc locos in favour on my nice new ones.

So now I am the process of wiring up my layout for DCC. So far i have soldered about 20 droppers from the track to the bus wires.

Hopefully I will be able to connect the bus to the controller tonight (wife depending) and actually put an engine on the track again.

I have also now removed the electric point motors that I had installed in favour of wire in tube. Mainly as I didnt cut holes in the baseboard to fit the point motors in when i was building, and i dont much fancy doing it now, so the wire in tube method means that every point change works everytime and no waiting for the CDU to charge up each time.

Having said all that I have also aquired a number of peco point motors all with the switching bit on the bottom too, so the parts of the track that have no ballasting etc. on will most probably have proper motors fitted when i change the old hornby points for nicer and newer ones (when they come in the post (thankyou mumbles))

I have just ordered a reverse loop switching thing from antics along with 3 more bachman decoders to fit into some of my older locos that i am not selling.

I have also decided that I prefer the look of running single type freight trains (like Lofty) which means that I now need to find some wagons that i like at a nice price.

I fancy some of the MISI (I think) Car transporters. and possibly some container carriers, but they may have to wait until I have bit longer storage space. So it may have to be some smaller hoppers or wagons.

thats it for now.

User avatar
B@rney
Posts: 234
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2007 8:55 am

Postby B@rney » Mon Oct 01, 2007 9:56 pm

Well that was a good evening, Got everything running. even managed to half run in my 50. Wired up a programing track seperate from the mainline so i dont acidentally bugger things up.

Very happy now

Pics will follow soon now cos its working :)

mumbles
Posts: 1827
Joined: Sun Nov 12, 2006 11:23 pm
Location: Kent
Contact:

Postby mumbles » Mon Oct 01, 2007 10:20 pm

they would have been posted today, but as i said.. we were relying on my missus :roll:

User avatar
B@rney
Posts: 234
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2007 8:55 am

Postby B@rney » Tue Oct 02, 2007 9:07 am

Wives just arn't what they once were :D :D

User avatar
B@rney
Posts: 234
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2007 8:55 am

Update time

Postby B@rney » Tue Oct 02, 2007 10:02 pm

Few pics now i have tidied things up a little
Image
Image

Image
Image

Some wagons and all my not yet DCC'd locos.
Image
What might just pass as scenic shot
Image


And now some pornographic photos of the underside of my board
Image
The wires in tubes going to some points
Image

The switch end of the Wire in tubes, which will eventually also control the lights on the future yet to be built display board.
Image

m.levin
Posts: 1981
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2006 6:46 pm

Postby m.levin » Tue Oct 02, 2007 10:10 pm

Great work.

User avatar
Infrontcat
Posts: 2155
Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 2:35 pm
Location: Southend-on-Sea
Contact:

Postby Infrontcat » Tue Oct 02, 2007 10:23 pm

Excellent progress Jon. I certainly think that qualifies as a scenic shot too ;)

It would be great to see a video of a train doing a circuit. Any chance of one?

Cheers

Tim
"Kashi-mashi, kashi-mashi..."

Moorcroft (St Anthonys)

edwardholmes91
Posts: 374
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2007 10:57 pm
Location: Stone, Staffordhshire, England
Contact:

Postby edwardholmes91 » Tue Oct 02, 2007 10:25 pm

Can the wire in tubes be bought then? Or does it have to be home made? Also I love the way that you have made your incline, very gradual and also decieving to the eye.

And blimby it must have take you ages to build those four engine shed together from scalescenes, I have made one of them and I still havn't done all of the finishing touches. If I was to make one fully it would take me a week!

I also spot a turntable box exactly the same as mine!

User avatar
SouthernBoy
Posts: 1753
Joined: Sun Oct 08, 2006 11:01 pm
Location: The past: We do things differently there

Re: Update time

Postby SouthernBoy » Tue Oct 02, 2007 11:57 pm

This is starting to come to life now - I particularly like this picture, with the tracks sweeping around and down below your raised loop.

B@rney wrote:Few pics now i have tidied things up a little
Image


Any ideas on scenics / setting ? ie. Town / country / suburban / industrial / etc ?

User avatar
matticus88
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2007 12:50 am
Location: Essex

Postby matticus88 » Wed Oct 03, 2007 12:49 am

All looks Very good :)

Can you enlighten me on my question in the following edited photo.

Image

Bryan Gundry
Posts: 123
Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2007 5:25 pm

Postby Bryan Gundry » Wed Oct 03, 2007 6:59 am

Very impressed with your carriage shed.

Was going to ask how your sourced it and then noticed holmedwa04 provided the information.

I must make a note to check out the scalescenes site again.

I assume you can store 2 rakes of 4 carriages?

Bryan

User avatar
B@rney
Posts: 234
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2007 8:55 am

Postby B@rney » Wed Oct 03, 2007 8:10 am

Wow what a response in a very short time... Thanks guys

Questions: Wire in tube, yes you can buy it but all the places i looked at it was very expensive and in the main had to run on top of the baseboard (or slightly sunk in) as the wire and tubes are much more flexible. The wire i use is pretty tough, flexible enough to go around corners and still work, but strong enough to take an angel bent into it. Plus this stuff is really cheap, 1 metre of wire 85p, 1 metre of tube 35p, switch 85p from maplins. (but i can only buy 2 at a time without placing an order anyway)

The carriage shed took me best part of 2 weeks with a couple of hours most evenings, again nice and cheap compared to kits ones liek metcalfe.
It didnt turn out as nice as I would have liked, I have a bit of problem cutting cardboard at right angles. but i think it looks ok in pictures. I was a bit concerned that it appeared over scale when i put it on the layout first, but ive got used to it now. And yes its 2 rakes of 4 carriages.

The turntable box, Yup its a hornby one, if you could have moved slightly to the right of that box youd also be able to see a peco one.

The edited picture: Its a bachmann NSE 108, I purchased it from Snetterton park models cost errr £74.95 Very nice model, interior lights and everything. Ive also now got a BR Blue version too.

and Finally, scene setting etc.. well I have nothing particular in mind, but my loco collection is now mainly BR blue, so I guess that sort of sets the age period. Location: possibly midlands somewhere I guess, as i have hills so cant be Norfolk (where i live). It is mainly going to be countryside, 2 stations, a terminus (which may change to something else) and a 2 platform with mainlines through the middle run through. I would like a container yard, but thats a long long way off (as containers are very expensive)

phew that was a lot of text again.. and at this time of the morning too!!

User avatar
B@rney
Posts: 234
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2007 8:55 am

I Video

Postby B@rney » Thu Oct 04, 2007 9:25 pm

A video,, really basic as its off my phone and i cant be bothered to mess about editing etc. it just yet, once i got more to show will make more of an effort :)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JZ_UuLCE5go


Return to “Personal Layouts - Under Construction”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests