Ribbleshire- Dave "2"s OO gauge layout.

Post pictures and information about your own personal model railway layout that is under construction. Keep members up-to-date with what you are doing and discuss problems that you are having.
User avatar
PTmodeller
Posts: 965
Joined: Wed Sep 27, 2006 9:09 pm
Location: Preston, Lancashire.

Re: PTModellers 9' by 5' OO gauge layout.

Postby PTmodeller » Mon May 05, 2008 9:54 am

Spot on, a 37 and a 56.

There's actually two cats, one of them which loves to jump onto the baseboard to use it as a base to jump onto a high bed. She also sleeps on the track, can't be comfortable, but hey, she sleeps on her own head....
I did post a thread to see if anyone had a soloution, but no luck.

On the non-cat layout front, I've started the viaduct, see link in my signature, started a tunnel mouth, ordered a load of electronics for a control board, had a good tidy up and have throughly tested track for any quality issues.

Dave.

User avatar
02_tank_buff
Posts: 90
Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2008 7:57 pm
Location: Ryde, Isle of Wight
Contact:

Re: PTModellers 9' by 5' OO gauge layout.

Postby 02_tank_buff » Mon Jun 23, 2008 7:22 am

Hi Dave,

It's this picture here I'd like to feature in the eMagazine.
[img]http://i131.photobucket.com/albums/p303/Dead-Red/DSCF3560.jpg[/img

User avatar
PTmodeller
Posts: 965
Joined: Wed Sep 27, 2006 9:09 pm
Location: Preston, Lancashire.

Re: PTModellers 9' by 5' OO gauge layout.

Postby PTmodeller » Mon Jun 23, 2008 5:20 pm

Be my guest!

I'll give a quick update: Plaster in progress under viaduct- basic shell for viaduct under construction. Tunnel mouth under construction. Wiring of depot very much in progress. Detailed shed interior under construction. Fleet of BAAs now up to three.
OMWB, I've resprayed the blue on a LL Class 37 in preperation for a renumebr to 37408- don't try and renumber a VI Model whatever you do!

User avatar
Metrocamel
Posts: 847
Joined: Mon May 01, 2006 8:49 am
Location: UK

Re: PTModellers 9' by 5' OO gauge layout.

Postby Metrocamel » Sat Jul 12, 2008 3:06 pm

02_tank_buff wrote:Hi Dave,

It's this picture here I'd like to feature in the eMagazine.
[img]http://i131.photobucket.com/albums/p303/Dead-Red/DSCF3560.jpg[/img


I can't see ur picture. Di u untick "disable BBcode" in ur post?

Dave- just caught up! Great work. That wagon looks the bis! :D If I had money I'd love to do a wagon kit like that, especially the nuclear flask.

PS-why not to renumber a Vitrains model?
"Out of commission become a pillbox, out of ammo become a bunker, out of time... become heroes"
Layout updated 18/10/09!
viewtopic.php?f=22&t=5360&p=215267#p215267

User avatar
PTmodeller
Posts: 965
Joined: Wed Sep 27, 2006 9:09 pm
Location: Preston, Lancashire.

Re: PTModellers 9' by 5' OO gauge layout.

Postby PTmodeller » Sat Jul 12, 2008 5:14 pm

Because any method you use, the base colour comes off before the numbers!

Been doing plenty of wiring recently, and have painted a couple of backscenes. Also done some concrete hardstanding outside the depot and sealed the river bed ready to begin modelling. Experimenting with Kadees too, and a new allocation is expected to arrive soon in the form of Freightliner Phoenix. Pictures on request.

User avatar
Class 60
Posts: 1131
Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2006 4:34 pm
Location: Port Talbot, South Wales
Contact:

Re: PTModellers 9' by 5' OO gauge layout.

Postby Class 60 » Sat Jul 12, 2008 6:15 pm

PTmodeller wrote: and a new allocation is expected to arrive soon in the form of Freightliner Phoenix.

a class 57 i think :? if so, Bachmann or heljan :P

Wouldn't mind seing some updated progress pics Dave if you dont mind, and hows the cambrian wagon fleet of BAA's coming along? :)

User avatar
PTmodeller
Posts: 965
Joined: Wed Sep 27, 2006 9:09 pm
Location: Preston, Lancashire.

Re: PTModellers 9' by 5' OO gauge layout.

Postby PTmodeller » Sat Jul 12, 2008 6:33 pm

Yep, 57002. Renumbered Bachy model.

The Cambrian BAAs are frozen, they really do run appalingly. Or maybe thats my kit building skills.

User avatar
PTmodeller
Posts: 965
Joined: Wed Sep 27, 2006 9:09 pm
Location: Preston, Lancashire.

Re: PTModellers 9' by 5' OO gauge layout.

Postby PTmodeller » Sat Jul 12, 2008 6:50 pm

Ok then, here are the pics.

The viaduct section, in progress
Image

The Eastern backscene, temperarily fiotted
Image

The Western backscene, needs cutting slightly and touching up
Image

The Depot
Image

And a fuel point, yes, the solder is authentic
Image

Enjoy!

User avatar
Class 60
Posts: 1131
Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2006 4:34 pm
Location: Port Talbot, South Wales
Contact:

Re: PTModellers 9' by 5' OO gauge layout.

Postby Class 60 » Sat Jul 12, 2008 7:47 pm

Not a bad state Dave, more that can be said about mine :roll:
whats the plans for the Viaduct? scracthbuilt or kit based?
BTW impressed on the concrete effect Dave, looks very smooth, whats the secret? :)

User avatar
PTmodeller
Posts: 965
Joined: Wed Sep 27, 2006 9:09 pm
Location: Preston, Lancashire.

Re: PTModellers 9' by 5' OO gauge layout.

Postby PTmodeller » Sat Jul 12, 2008 9:03 pm

Definatley scratch for the Viaduct, based on the almighty Arten Gill. The Pollifilla is actually awful, just looks smooth in the flash. But I intend to put a runny coat on top to get smooth

User avatar
Metrocamel
Posts: 847
Joined: Mon May 01, 2006 8:49 am
Location: UK

Re: PTModellers 9' by 5' OO gauge layout.

Postby Metrocamel » Sun Jul 13, 2008 11:11 am

Awesome work Dave, especially the viaduct! 8) Also like the moss on teh roof of the fuelling point. :wink:

Liam.
"Out of commission become a pillbox, out of ammo become a bunker, out of time... become heroes"
Layout updated 18/10/09!
viewtopic.php?f=22&t=5360&p=215267#p215267

dr5euss
Posts: 1145
Joined: Sun Dec 18, 2005 12:28 pm

Re: PTModellers 9' by 5' OO gauge layout.

Postby dr5euss » Sun Jul 13, 2008 8:39 pm

.................
Last edited by dr5euss on Sun May 22, 2016 1:58 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Metrocamel
Posts: 847
Joined: Mon May 01, 2006 8:49 am
Location: UK

Re: PTModellers 9' by 5' OO gauge layout.

Postby Metrocamel » Sun Jul 13, 2008 8:46 pm

Perhaps this is obvious, but have you tried youre locos under that roof? I waited till I'd glued mine in to do so because I thought Knightwing might be sensable enough to make it high enough for a loco. I ended up having to add metal pipe extensions at the base of each leg. I guess you'll have tested it already but just wanted to give you the heads up.

Liam.
"Out of commission become a pillbox, out of ammo become a bunker, out of time... become heroes"
Layout updated 18/10/09!
viewtopic.php?f=22&t=5360&p=215267#p215267

User avatar
PTmodeller
Posts: 965
Joined: Wed Sep 27, 2006 9:09 pm
Location: Preston, Lancashire.

Re: PTModellers 9' by 5' OO gauge layout.

Postby PTmodeller » Sun Jul 13, 2008 8:55 pm

George
I can get a rubber over the rail tops? But for that area, Meths on a cotton bud works well too. Good idea with the Solder, will definatley try that...

Liam
You're right. Need to get some .45mm inside diameter Brass Tube ASAP!

River Bed undergoing Waterproof Testing- stops the resin leaking.
Image

Depot area, a rare view. It's CLEAN!
Image

User avatar
Metrocamel
Posts: 847
Joined: Mon May 01, 2006 8:49 am
Location: UK

Re: PTModellers 9' by 5' OO gauge layout.

Postby Metrocamel » Sun Jul 13, 2008 9:01 pm

Like the diamond crossings. Unfortunately couldn't find the excuse to put any on my layout. :(
"Out of commission become a pillbox, out of ammo become a bunker, out of time... become heroes"
Layout updated 18/10/09!
viewtopic.php?f=22&t=5360&p=215267#p215267


Return to “Personal Layouts - Under Construction”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 21 guests