8x4 roundy round

Post pictures and information about your own personal model railway layout that is under construction. Keep members up-to-date with what you are doing and discuss problems that you are having.
joshv8

8x4 roundy round

Postby joshv8 » Sat Sep 29, 2018 1:28 pm

Hi everyone. I jump on here and browse round from time to time but apart from some table time I havent had much of a chance for the hobby in quite some years. I began building a layout years ago and shared some posts here but a house purchase and move then having a youngin, and another, then another, really put a dampener on things haha.
My first born, William, is about to turn 5, which is the same age I started playing trains with my dad so I figured its time to build a simple layout to introduce him a bit more strongly to the hobby. We have some bachmann thomas stock to run for him.and I have quite a few hornby LNER locos in storage I can run.

cameringo_20180915_231607-800x450.jpg

Ive settled on a pretty simple track design. 2 loops with a run around on the outside which doubles as a shunt to a goods shed and siding. Ive been on this a few weeks now so things have progressed a little further than seen here. The baseboards cut to allow for the bridge. Ive strongly based the scenery on a few layouts on the scenic model railways website.
On the left side will be a twin platform station, a small run of town shops and a road leading through up over a hill towards the front of the picture. This allows a tunnelled section. On the right will be a viaduct, small valley etc. I want to make it as visually interesting for the young lad as possible. I hope a few of you here can enjoy my journey with me!

Montfort

Re: 8x4 roundy round

Postby Montfort » Sat Sep 29, 2018 1:36 pm

Good start. Keep us posted. Thanks.
Remember: model railroading can become contagious. So be careful...

joshv8

Postby joshv8 » Sat Sep 29, 2018 1:39 pm