New OO layout

Post pictures and information about your own personal model railway layout that is under construction. Keep members up-to-date with what you are doing and discuss problems that you are having.
User avatar
Mr P
Posts: 81
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2006 10:09 pm
Location: High Wycombe

Postby Mr P » Sat Jan 13, 2007 10:59 am

looking excellent Walter! Especially the 3D of the layout, simple but effective. It's all too easy to lay the track on the board and then build 'up', adds some depth by having the recessed area, great stuff!

How about a boating lake with a central island? , a small harbour perhaps? or as was previously suggested a quarry or village?

Keep the photos comin' !

User avatar
British Rail
Posts: 900
Joined: Sun Dec 31, 2006 8:05 pm
Location: England

Postby British Rail » Sat Jan 13, 2007 12:44 pm

Hi , looking excellent Walter I love the weathered track , i'm looking forward to the proress of this layout :D

Keep those photos coming :)



Thanks

BR

User avatar
Infrontcat
Posts: 2155
Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 2:35 pm
Location: Southend-on-Sea
Contact:

Postby Infrontcat » Sat Jan 13, 2007 1:52 pm

Like it very much Walter

Look forward to seeing what you decide to do with the space. Great stuff thus far mate!

Cheers

Tim
"Kashi-mashi, kashi-mashi..."

Moorcroft (St Anthonys)

User avatar
eaw458
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2006 9:55 am

Postby eaw458 » Sat Jan 13, 2007 6:23 pm

Thanks for the kind reactions.

It is my first layout, but with past military modelling, I have done quite a bit of weathering and other paining techniques. Still too scary to weather anything else than buildings, scenery and second hand rolling stock though... Should bite the bullet and do my new locomotives too at some stage...

I did want to raise the lot so that I could have a sunken area too, so most of the track sits on at least 25 mil of Floormate extruded polystyrene board. Picked up enough for 3 layouts for a couple of tenners from a wholesalers, who were all too happy to get rid of loose board they cannot shift.

One of the things which I've struggled with is the idea of a circular vs linear layout - the kids like the trains going round, but then you're stuck with other traffic having to get into the 'middle' and the effect that trains do chase their own tail, despite the tunnel... I think on balance my next one would be linear and have a proper fiddle yard, not a tunnel.

The layout is about 2.5 by 1.25 metres. Track is Peco - Settrack and Streamline mixed up, which I now don't really like all that much either.

Can you guess this won't be the last layout?!?

Thanks for the tips on the middle bit - something industrial on balance I think.

Maybe a bit of narrow gauge to connect it up to the sidings, or would 2 ft of narrow gauge be too daft???

Walter

User avatar
HO train man
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2007 2:44 pm
Location: McKinney, TX
Contact:

Postby HO train man » Sat Jan 13, 2007 6:28 pm

looks awesome man! nice work.

what size is the plywood your layout is on?

Crusty
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Dec 27, 2006 6:44 pm
Location: Fleet, Hampshire

Postby Crusty » Sat Jan 13, 2007 6:36 pm

HO train man wrote:what size is the plywood your layout is on?


eaw458 wrote:The layout is about 2.5 by 1.25 metres.
Chris
Garage Layout - OO Gauge, Includes 2 helix
Cannon Hill Shed - OO Gauge, Diorama

Lofty

Postby Lofty » Sat Jan 13, 2007 7:13 pm

Nice little layout

Particularly like the cliffs

Lofty

mumbles
Posts: 1827
Joined: Sun Nov 12, 2006 11:23 pm
Location: Kent
Contact:

Postby mumbles » Sat Jan 13, 2007 8:11 pm

lofty wrote:Nice little layout

Particularly like the cliffs

Lofty

yep, i was thinking that, very white cliffs of dover :D ie chalky
good layout coming along nicely
michael

User avatar
heinz
Posts: 228
Joined: Thu Apr 20, 2006 12:44 pm
Location: Australia, Victoria, South East

Postby heinz » Sun Jan 14, 2007 6:24 am

Ah I thought I noticed some nice military weathering techniques :D

I too a fair bit of that.

Good stuff mate


Heinz
Image

User avatar
FishBowlMan
Posts: 138
Joined: Sun Oct 29, 2006 12:49 am
Location: Kidderminster

Postby FishBowlMan » Sun Jan 14, 2007 10:56 am

Lovely pics Walter. I love the detail you've put into it - especially the cliffs and the close-up shot of the coal / water area.

Look forward to seeing more of this one,

John.
There is no room inside a box.

User avatar
eaw458
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2006 9:55 am

Postby eaw458 » Tue Jan 16, 2007 1:32 pm

Been doing some fiddling around the signal box. Really need 'something' to come out of the box and model all the connecting rods. Any ideas on how to best to the bundles of rods coming out of the box? Wire? Thanks.

Image

Image

User avatar
mortyfootball
Posts: 884
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2006 8:39 pm
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne, England UK

Postby mortyfootball » Tue Jan 16, 2007 8:43 pm

Thin copper wire perhaps? Some have used fine nylon thread I think.

Shaun
Currently on the rails with my camera

User avatar
live-frog
Posts: 644
Joined: Thu Apr 06, 2006 10:01 am
Location: Yeovil Somerset

Postby live-frog » Tue Jan 16, 2007 10:53 pm

The Metcalfe Kit has a slot along the bottom of the wall which was intended to be the outlet for the rods - look hard at the bottom of the wall
Image

The site shown below is a good source for Signal box pictures & info - have a good browse , you may get some ideas
The Signal Box

Dinmore Manor
Posts: 52
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 2:05 pm
Contact:

Postby Dinmore Manor » Wed Jan 17, 2007 10:39 pm

eaw458 wrote:Image


Looking very good, but look at the SIZE of that room!!!! Surely some spare space to extend a bit :wink: :D

User avatar
eaw458
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2006 9:55 am

Postby eaw458 » Thu Jan 18, 2007 7:50 am

Everybody else's toys still need a place in there too! And I just want to see it finished in reasonable time - can't do with a Five Year Plan for these things. :lol:


Return to “Personal Layouts - Under Construction”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests