Riccarton Junction in N gauge

Post pictures and information about your own personal model railway layout that is under construction. Keep members up-to-date with what you are doing and discuss problems that you are having.
fourtytwo

Riccarton Junction in N gauge

Postby fourtytwo » Wed Dec 07, 2016 3:01 pm

I started this layout some time ago but when is a layout ever finished! so to me it's still under construction. I have been building N gauge layouts on and off for 30 years so this is the nth incarnation. This layout was designed to fit in half the space of its predecessor so approx 13ft long by 6ft wide. I like a continuous run and at least one station with full engine shed and goods facilities, I model steam era 1930-1950 I guess. The one problem I had with the space compression was no room for return loops as these typically occupy 4ftx4ft so instead the layout is an oval. Given the space constraints there is not enough room for traditional storage loops and there throat pointwork for reasonable length trains so instead I chose to construct a vertical stacker. The following trackplan was developed from a mixture of the prototype where everything is on the wrong side and an ian rice design I found called douneblane!
full_bitmap.jpg
Trackplan as built
full_bitmap.jpg (185.69 KiB) Viewed 1707 times

Squares are inches.
As can be seen from this map the station is in a very remote area so does not need to be surrounded by lots of buildings and industry, an advantage given my poor scenic skills!
riccarton_junction_map.gif
riccarton_junction_map.gif (121.92 KiB) Viewed 1707 times

And this picture again gives a feel for the remoteness of the prototype
riccarton(colourrail1965)junction_old11.jpg
riccarton(colourrail1965)junction_old11.jpg (73.36 KiB) Viewed 1707 times

And now to the construction, all my layouts feature 2x1 legs and underframe with 6mm ply tops custom built to the trackbed shape, much re-use between layouts saves money and the scraps go on the fire.