Chrisalddin's, 1979 - 2006. the Karana line. update 20/12/06

Post pictures and information about your own personal model railway layout that is under construction. Keep members up-to-date with what you are doing and discuss problems that you are having.
User avatar
Kentman98
Posts: 266
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2006 9:01 pm
Location: Maidstone

Postby Kentman98 » Sun Dec 10, 2006 8:16 pm

LOL..... :oops: Yep thanks Ian. I have left my brain in the other room again!!!
Trev

Never take life seriously. Nobody gets out alive anyway.......

My layout thread

Lofty

Postby Lofty » Sun Dec 10, 2006 8:36 pm

Following the explanation I came to the conclusion that the track was still ‘on the edge’, I would personally be a little worried by this but it’s not my layout

Lofty

User avatar
Whatnothomas
Posts: 82
Joined: Sun Aug 13, 2006 3:04 pm
Location: Essex, UK

Postby Whatnothomas » Sun Dec 10, 2006 8:39 pm

Looking good Chris, While your waiting for some track pins you will just have to operate the trains.

I am surprised that you have been able to fit in the Hornby turntable, I look forward to hearing what you think of it after you get it running.

Andrew
I buy trains because I like them, and I know that bit should not go there. But I`m happy.

User avatar
dynamite25
Posts: 498
Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2005 10:55 pm
Location: cheshire,uk
Contact:

Postby dynamite25 » Mon Dec 11, 2006 12:58 am

Looking really great Chris and i am looking forward to seeing this progress further.
Click here to see my Progress with my Scalextric Hobby Progress updated (17/09/07)


R.I.P Sam our very much loved family pet dog who sadly passed away on the 3/6/2010 early hours in the morning in my mums arms on route to the vets.

Pete
Posts: 1223
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2005 6:15 pm
Location: UK

Postby Pete » Mon Dec 11, 2006 8:56 am

Chris

If your short of track pins you could always use very small countersunk screws from B&Q, position them between the sleepers. That's how I hold my track down before I ballast it.

You can see them if you look at this pic:

http://www.petesproject.co.uk/layout/baseboard02.JPG

(posted the link as the pic is too big to post)

Good progress though.

Pete
It's the nature of evolution
The dinosaurs went to Hell

User avatar
chrisalddin
Posts: 275
Joined: Wed Nov 08, 2006 6:49 pm
Location: in surrey some ware.

Postby chrisalddin » Mon Dec 11, 2006 5:16 pm

ok.

in one or 2 places i may have to uese flex track.
as set track is not giving enuff room or is seding the line of the track out of place.

the R610 x2 are go big. and x1 is to samll on the R607 (2nd radeus) loop
the one with the platforms and is set up so i can have a train stoped and a train runing pass it on the same loop.

my options are
Flex track. but i can see cuting to right size a hard job.
droping a platform in my main stision. i dont like this idea as i have a footbrige that is so pritey to look at i got to uese it some how.

or a idea that one of you grate ppl come up with..
This Hobby is going to make me pennyless :wink: :roll:
My layout. Lots of work done update 29/2/2008 New img's!

User avatar
Infrontcat
Posts: 2155
Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 2:35 pm
Location: Southend-on-Sea
Contact:

Postby Infrontcat » Mon Dec 11, 2006 5:57 pm

Chris, don't worry about cutting to size! It's not that hard once you've tried it! All I do is lay the track, connected at one end with fishplates/joiners, and gently bend the other end to where I want it to end up. When in place, mark the 'ends' with permanent marker, then cut the rail with a GOOD-quality hacksaw. It needs to be a goodun though so it stays sharp.

Cheers

Tim
"Kashi-mashi, kashi-mashi..."

Moorcroft (St Anthonys)

User avatar
BrotherWolf
Posts: 206
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 9:45 am
Location: nr The Old Lydbrook Junction

Postby BrotherWolf » Mon Dec 11, 2006 6:03 pm

That sounds so easy Infrontcat! Be sure to check the first end again...... I find you always have to have a couple of go's at bending the track to get it right. Adds a lot to realism though not using settrack.

BTW I use Xuron track cutters.

User avatar
chrisalddin
Posts: 275
Joined: Wed Nov 08, 2006 6:49 pm
Location: in surrey some ware.

Postby chrisalddin » Mon Dec 11, 2006 6:04 pm

so.
i need.

1x flex track
1x pack of fishplates ( how did them get a name like that any how?)
1x new hacksaw ( all ours are 13 + years old.)
1x permanet marker.

or see what outher ppl come up with...
i love all idea!'s on this one...
This Hobby is going to make me pennyless :wink: :roll:

My layout. Lots of work done update 29/2/2008 New img's!

User avatar
chrisalddin
Posts: 275
Joined: Wed Nov 08, 2006 6:49 pm
Location: in surrey some ware.

Postby chrisalddin » Wed Dec 13, 2006 8:53 pm

ok lost of work today.

but my room is a tip. and camer is out of a wark. (aka i have no idea ware it is,.,,,,)

so i have to just tell you..,,
the 3 loops are down and light pined (light pined = not all od it is pined. at evey point b ut enuff make it not move.)

the outer loop. (with stision-1 (p1)
the midel loop. +midel loop bypass (stision-1 p2)
so a tran can be stoped but a train can sill uese loop.

the inside loop.

no work on stision-2 or the sideing and turntabel yet. that be after all loop are fulley pined!

5 holes are in place for the 5 piont moter i have planed!
as i said befor the outher are right by ware i will sit.... and contall it all from. so i can do them my self.
saving a lot of money!!! 14 point. and there DCC decodes did not sound like a good idea to speed money on..... when i can do it.
This Hobby is going to make me pennyless :wink: :roll:

My layout. Lots of work done update 29/2/2008 New img's!

User avatar
live-frog
Posts: 644
Joined: Thu Apr 06, 2006 10:01 am
Location: Yeovil Somerset

Postby live-frog » Wed Dec 13, 2006 8:59 pm

Find the camera quick man !! obviously lots to photo !
Ron

User avatar
chrisalddin
Posts: 275
Joined: Wed Nov 08, 2006 6:49 pm
Location: in surrey some ware.

Postby chrisalddin » Thu Dec 14, 2006 5:33 pm

well a update...

mid way thow pining the bit of the loops that was not neede to get the loops in place

i now find that a honby pin bag that got about 130 pins in it is emtey..
good job i got 2 bag's

well time to find the outher one and back to pining...
This Hobby is going to make me pennyless :wink: :roll:

My layout. Lots of work done update 29/2/2008 New img's!

User avatar
chrisalddin
Posts: 275
Joined: Wed Nov 08, 2006 6:49 pm
Location: in surrey some ware.

Postby chrisalddin » Thu Dec 14, 2006 6:09 pm

here we go.
Image
Image

all of that track is now pined in place.....

only the midell bit to go. for pining
This Hobby is going to make me pennyless :wink: :roll:

My layout. Lots of work done update 29/2/2008 New img's!

User avatar
Ijdagger
Posts: 380
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 10:19 am
Location: Barnstaple Devon
Contact:

Postby Ijdagger » Thu Dec 14, 2006 7:43 pm

Looking good chris,

Keep this up it will be finished soon

User avatar
Infrontcat
Posts: 2155
Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 2:35 pm
Location: Southend-on-Sea
Contact:

Postby Infrontcat » Thu Dec 14, 2006 7:44 pm

Hooray! Good job Chris

Well done mate. You've done well to fit such a complex junction using set-track in such a small space!

Keep us posted mate!!!

Cheers

Tim
"Kashi-mashi, kashi-mashi..."

Moorcroft (St Anthonys)


Return to “Personal Layouts - Under Construction”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Adsense [Bot] and 14 guests