John and Tim's N gauge project

Post pictures and information about your own personal model railway layout that is under construction. Keep members up-to-date with what you are doing and discuss problems that you are having.
FishBowlMan

John and Tim's N gauge project

Postby FishBowlMan » Tue Nov 28, 2006 2:18 pm

Hi all,

To try and combat my urge to keep going out and spending money that I don't have, I visited my parents the other week and picked up all of my n scale railway bits and pieces.

I currently have a spare room in the flat that I rent, and in lieu of getting another flatmate in, I thoought I may as well make some constructive use of the space - and attempt to justify effectively paying more rent than I actually need to!

My background is with computer software and electronics. My main reason for constructing this layout is to have some inherently complex operating possibilities that I can design some computer software and build some electronics myself to enable automated control of the layout. Oh yes, and to run some trains :D

As most of my stuff hasn't run for 20 odd years, with the exception of a controller I built for a college project about 15 years ago, all of my engines really need a good service. This will occur sporadically as time and money allow.

A trip to the local model shop with the intention of getting some track pins resulted in me buying a 2nd hand GWR saddle tank for £25. My head justified this by saying I needed something to test the track layout with!!!

A friend had some chipboard lying around, so 2 of these crammed into the car and some initial testing could take place:

Things then went silly as my mate Tim came round and we decided to "test some sidings!"

Well, you need to check the points work!!!!!

Finally, a small incline test:

More to follow... (and I really must get round to packing the tent away!)
There is no room inside a box.

Infrontcat

Postby Infrontcat » Tue Nov 28, 2006 2:28 pm