8' x 4' with an extra bit!

Post pictures and information about your own personal model railway layout that is under construction. Keep members up-to-date with what you are doing and discuss problems that you are having.
lezjez

8' x 4' with an extra bit!

Postby lezjez » Tue Mar 12, 2013 9:30 pm

Hi everyone,

I've been a regular visitor to these forums as a 'viewer' for over a year now (my wife even sings a little tune every time she catches me on here!) Up until now, I'd not joined in with the postings but I have been building a layout since June 2011 and I have learnt a great deal from the postings on these pages so I though it time to share some pictures of my progress, which although not up to the standard of many of the excellent models on here, may provide some inspiration or learning from my mistakes to others!!

The layout is roughly 50's - 60's with a mix of late BR steam and early diesel but this may expand into the blue era as I quite like these!! Its of no fixed location, but probabaly more LM and LNER, and not really GW or Southern for some unknown reason!

The layout is still under construction, and consists of 4 boards, which were originally 4' x 2' each, 3 scenic and one forming a form of fiddle yard. Here are the original 3 boards. with the fiddle yard standing up.
Although the railway is currently in a larger room one of the pre-conditions stipulated by my wife was that it had to be moveable to the small room, which is currently my baby daughters room. With this in mind, 8' x 4' was a practical maximum.