Alex3410 - My Railway

Post pictures and information about your own personal model railway layout that is under construction. Keep members up-to-date with what you are doing and discuss problems that you are having.
User avatar
Bufferstop
Posts: 11098
Joined: Thu Mar 11, 2010 12:06 pm
Location: Bottom end of N. Warks line

Re: Alex3410 - My Railway

Postby Bufferstop » Tue Oct 29, 2013 10:14 am

My previous layout was built to be taken down and stored when the room was needed for guests. When we got the builders in to do some alterations the sections went into store wrapped in wheelie bin bags. With the exception of the odd tree needing a bit of tweaking and small patches of scatter needing replacing it survived the moves remarkably well. One section (the viaduct over the canal) I widened and built into my current layout. My plasterless scenery could be peeled off like a skin and I transplanted sections onto the new layout. As long as you don't put too much reliance on plaster, dismantling and rebuilding is possible. Even if you carry the scenery over the joints a fine tooth saw blade will allow the boards to be separated.
Growing old, can't avoid it. Growing up, forget it!
My Layout, My Workbench Blog and My Opinions

User avatar
alex3410
Posts: 3430
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2012 4:39 pm
Location: Essex

Re: Alex3410 - My Railway

Postby alex3410 » Fri Nov 01, 2013 10:55 am

thank you for the tips it makes me feel better about putting the effort into the scenery

but even if i can separate them there is no telling what the space would be available so the configuration / layout of the boards may change but there is no point in worrying about that now :lol:

next job then is to finish blasting the left side of the layout and start planning the top level - trip to the model shop is in order over the weekend i think :D

MrH
Posts: 387
Joined: Fri Oct 29, 2010 7:28 pm

Re: Alex3410 - My Railway

Postby MrH » Fri Nov 01, 2013 11:18 am

alex3410 wrote:
next job then is to finish blasting the left side of the layout


Are you using C4 thats a bit drastic!
:D
My layouts

Trucks in a Tizzy - viewtopic.php?f=22&t=48086

User avatar
luckymucklebackit
Posts: 3275
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2011 7:05 am
Location: Eaglesham, south of Glasgow
Contact:

Re: Alex3410 - My Railway

Postby luckymucklebackit » Fri Nov 01, 2013 11:26 am

MrH wrote:
alex3410 wrote:
next job then is to finish blasting the left side of the layout


Are you using C4 thats a bit drastic!
:D


Couple of Roman Candles from the fireworks box should do the trick :D
This Signature Left Intentionally Blank, but since I have written this and I intended to do it, this Signature is intentionally not blank. Paradox or What?
My layout - Gateside and Northbridge
Image

User avatar
alex3410
Posts: 3430
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2012 4:39 pm
Location: Essex

Re: Alex3410 - My Railway

Postby alex3410 » Fri Nov 01, 2013 11:30 am

*ballasting

my other half moans enough about the noise when I am drilling so would love to see her face as I walk past with arms full of fireworks :lol:

User avatar
alex3410
Posts: 3430
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2012 4:39 pm
Location: Essex

Re: Alex3410 - My Railway

Postby alex3410 » Sat Nov 09, 2013 5:33 pm

Latest project has been repainting some of those magazine coaches into a green livery

From:
Image


To:
Image

few touch ups needed on the windows but apart from that i am very happy with the results :D

User avatar
alex3410
Posts: 3430
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2012 4:39 pm
Location: Essex

Re: Alex3410 - My Railway

Postby alex3410 » Sun Nov 17, 2013 10:48 am

When Argos had the 3 for 2 offer on i got 3 packs of these:
Image

they are formed of two parts and all 9 of them had a horrible visible seam running across the top and down the centre of the tanks

in some cases it was a fair few mill - so i filled these down repainted them all and this is the result:
Image

bit of weathering to hide some issues with the varnish leaving little spots and the transfers not totally blending in and some touch up work to the black paint work:
Image

All in all very happy with the results just need to fit some metal wheels and will have first tankers ready to run on my layout :D

User avatar
TK421
Posts: 962
Joined: Thu Mar 17, 2011 1:42 pm
Location: Faringdon with one R

Re: Alex3410 - My Railway

Postby TK421 » Sun Nov 17, 2013 12:27 pm

That's a grand improvement on those tanks and the coaches look rather neat aswell.
Commander tear this ship apart until you have found them track plans!

User avatar
alex3410
Posts: 3430
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2012 4:39 pm
Location: Essex

Re: Alex3410 - My Railway

Postby alex3410 » Fri Nov 22, 2013 5:40 pm

its about time i got around to creating a representation of my current set up:
Image

a fair amount of storage tracks which are really handy and a turn table in top right - which is connected up it just does not exist in the software :lol:

User avatar
alex3410
Posts: 3430
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2012 4:39 pm
Location: Essex

Re: Alex3410 - My Railway

Postby alex3410 » Mon Dec 09, 2013 4:38 pm

Made a start on the control panel - long way to go but its been interesting
Image

User avatar
alex3410
Posts: 3430
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2012 4:39 pm
Location: Essex

Re: Alex3410 - My Railway

Postby alex3410 » Mon Dec 30, 2013 9:02 pm

I have been working on some scenic sections and making a right old mess in the process :lol:

Image
Image

and have started work on creating a ramp to reach the raised area above:
Image

Dad-1
Posts: 5660
Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2008 8:05 pm
Location: Dorset - A mile from West Bay.

Re: Alex3410 - My Railway

Postby Dad-1 » Wed Jan 01, 2014 4:03 pm

Nice going there Alex.

Geoff T.
Remember ... I know nothing about railways.
viewtopic.php?f=22&t=32187 and Another on viewtopic.php?f=22&t=28436&start=60&st=0&sk=t&sd=a

monty 2420
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 11:12 am

Re: Alex3410 - My Railway

Postby monty 2420 » Fri Feb 07, 2014 5:01 pm

Hi Alex.
I am interested in your thoughts on the control panel, are you wiring direct into it or have you used a multi socket,
I am developing a small industrial yard connecting to a main line running up and down. I am using the single wire system for the points operation any hints or pitfalls I should avoid. :) :)

Monty 2420

User avatar
alex3410
Posts: 3430
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2012 4:39 pm
Location: Essex

Re: Alex3410 - My Railway

Postby alex3410 » Fri Feb 07, 2014 5:19 pm

at the moment i am not sure - after taking that image i have had to have a bit of a move around with my track to accommodate a tunnel and a raised section so which ever way i do it i will need to start again :(

at the moment i am leaning towards having several smaller panels dotted around the layout to control section of it as they wont take up as much room and the track plan on them could be larger making it easier to position the switches etc

as for connecting it up ideally i would do it via D-sub connectors so that i can unplug it if required, however my soldering skills might not be up to the skill needed to wire them up so i will probably end up using terminal blocks

what i would like to do is build it with hinges so once its installed i can simply open the lid to access the cables etc

User avatar
TimberSurf
Posts: 2334
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2014 5:47 pm
Location: N.Wales
Contact:

Re: Alex3410 - My Railway

Postby TimberSurf » Fri Feb 07, 2014 7:32 pm

@Alex - Nice job on the repaints!
I too will not have a central control panel, will split into 3, so they are close to the action. (for DCC walkabout makes sense, but desktop analogues, should be kept next to controllers)

@Monty - what do you mean by " single wire system for the points"?
Image
Lumsdonia <--- Hit link to go to my website for full story and wiring advice!


Return to “Personal Layouts - Under Construction”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest