My Experiment in 2mm Finescale

Post pictures and information about your own personal model railway layout that is under construction. Keep members up-to-date with what you are doing and discuss problems that you are having.
acs1979

My Experiment in 2mm Finescale

Postby acs1979 » Fri Aug 24, 2012 3:10 pm

Hi all,

Finding myself in a position to build a layout for the first time since I was a teenager, I decided to jump straight into 2mm finescale. I first encountered the 2mm scale association about 15 years ago at an exhibition when I was a student and since then I have always wanted to build a finescale layout. 15 years must be something of a record from introduction fo finally joining! During that time though, I have accumulated a large amount of N gauge stock and not had a layout to run it on. Hopefully by starting this thread I'll be more motivated to finish the layout (something I have never achieved) and also benefit from the collective wisdom of others.

I decided that it would be best to start with a small shunting layout to learn the trackbuilding and modelling techniques before trying something larger. My idea was for a single platform station to run my DMUs without having to convert the wheels to finescale standards. There would also be a set of 3 sidings to shunt engineers wagons around on. Here is the Templot track plan;

The baseboard is 4ft long and 10inches wide and built from some spare 9mm MDF. Here is a picture of the layout with the track laid, including the fiddle yard;

The plain track on the scenic side is 2mm fs association's Easitrac, but I built the turnouts using pcb timbers. The platform road has 3 fiddleyard tracks to hold DMUs upto 3 cars. As there are no finescale turnouts on this bit, N gauge stock will run on the Easitrack and space was saved by using peco set track points in the fiddle yard.