Paggminster - NEW UPDATE 19/8/13

Post pictures and information about your own personal model railway layout that is under construction. Keep members up-to-date with what you are doing and discuss problems that you are having.
User avatar
thomasg87
Posts: 164
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2010 5:41 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: 00 Layout - loco running

Postby thomasg87 » Sun Jan 27, 2013 8:22 pm

Hi there Simon,
I used regular polyfiller to achieve the depot ground work texturing - full details of how are on page 4 of this thread.
The hornby turntable is good for a beginning, however the down sides are its noisy, you can't pick your track outlets and it is raised up by about 10-15mm. Also it is quite large - a great deal larger than the peco version. The peco version is good as it is level and smaller (also alot more realistic looking) , but it is a kit, so requires building and painting. But it is a fairly simple kit. also, it does not come motorised, this can be done by buying the relevant parts, but it is more expense :( . There are other excellent kits around also, but they are usually quite expensive.
Hope this helped,
Let me know how you get on.

Cheers,
Thomas
"I think you're wandering into the realms of fantasy, Jones."

SEJohnson95
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2012 5:09 pm

Re: 00 Layout - loco running

Postby SEJohnson95 » Tue Jan 29, 2013 9:13 am

Hi Thomas

Thanks for the advice, I did indeed settle for the Peco turntable in the end, and also purchased a motorising kit to go with it. It worked out at the same price as the Hornby one in the end :) I do Airfix models too so finding a suitable colour for the turntable won't be an issue! The problem is that my track isn't ballasted (and it would be a lot of work to do so, since the cork isn't consistent amongst other things) and so I'm just a little worried that the yard will stand out a bit! Did you use a Matt Black? I shall let you know how get on.

Thanks

Simon

mash
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2013 8:55 pm

Re: 00 Layout - loco running

Postby mash » Tue Jan 29, 2013 12:16 pm

Have loved looking through this thread. Very awesome and inspiring. Keep up the good work!

User avatar
thomasg87
Posts: 164
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2010 5:41 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: 00 Layout - loco running

Postby thomasg87 » Thu Jan 31, 2013 1:59 am

Hi Simon,
I used a combination of acrylic matt colours, black, grey, browns. all blended to achieve desired effect.

Cheers,

Thomas
"I think you're wandering into the realms of fantasy, Jones."

markeg
Posts: 57
Joined: Fri Aug 06, 2010 1:15 pm

Re: 00 Layout - loco running

Postby markeg » Thu Jan 31, 2013 12:20 pm

Hi Thomas,

The layout is looking good. Once some colour goes down it really becomes a railway in a countryside. King Henry VIII must have got to the Abbey back in the 1500's and destroyed it. Really looks good.

This afternoon I started cutting up peices of polystyrene for arounf the viaducts, so there is a little bit of progress up here.

MArk

SEJohnson95
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2012 5:09 pm

Re: 00 Layout - loco running

Postby SEJohnson95 » Thu Jan 31, 2013 6:23 pm

Hi Thomas

Without meaning to be too interfering, just one question on the turntable

Do you have to wire each individual spur off the turntable if you want it live, or will it pick up from the turntable?

Thanks

Simon

User avatar
thomasg87
Posts: 164
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2010 5:41 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: 00 Layout - loco running

Postby thomasg87 » Fri Feb 01, 2013 1:02 am

Hi All,

Mark - Cant wait to see the viaduct, I originaly planned one myself, but the engineering department forgot about it when he was building the baseboards and the subsequent area was too shallow :lol: :lol:

Simon - Don't worry about asking questions that is what NRM is about - Yes you have to wire each individual spur to the BUS wire to make it live. The well has two brass connections for power to the deck, but no provision is made for power to the spurs through the turntable. Cant wait to see some pics.

Cheers,

Thomas
"I think you're wandering into the realms of fantasy, Jones."

SEJohnson95
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2012 5:09 pm

Re: 00 Layout - loco running

Postby SEJohnson95 » Fri Feb 01, 2013 7:25 am

can you attach little copper plates under the ends of the rails, so that when the tracks are in line the power goes through?

georgehgv
Posts: 159
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2012 8:14 am

Re: New 00 Layout - Bridge Complete

Postby georgehgv » Fri Feb 01, 2013 10:51 pm

thomasg87 wrote:Hi All - UPADTE TIME! (a very quick one)

I have been very busy over the last few days working on the Engine Depot of the railway.
I am just getting in the basic items in first before any scenics begin.
Here are some pics:

Image
I have installed the Turntable and 1 of the two engine sheds as well as the sidings off the turntable.
I have just finished tidying up, so I though I would get some locos on shed.

Image
Shot of the other end of the Depot, which will have another engine shed (yet to be constructed) over the inspection pit at this end.
The coaling tower is currently under construction and will be finished shortly. Just in place to give the effect.

Image
Shot of the long siding from the turntable, in front of the control box. I am planning to transform the control box into a large signal box/control tower :D

Image
An overall shot of the Depot

Image
And a final of the stream, now with water! I have used realistic water for this effect. I am in two mind whether or not to add some more water, but i might lose the ripple effect if i do :( Something to think about.

I am also constructing the second engine shed and a water tower and sanding house for the depot at the moment which should be in place shortly.

Thanks for looking, all questions and comms most welcome,

Cheers,
Thomas



Put me down for fishing permit for the stream, fancy may be an old trout in there, oh no she is still downstairs in the kitchen :lol:

Great layout, I won't put any pics of mine on here, too ashamed the standard here is way over me. :roll:
Enjoying the ride playing trains like never before. Building a model railway but not too specialised.

User avatar
thomasg87
Posts: 164
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2010 5:41 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: 00 Layout - loco running

Postby thomasg87 » Sat Feb 02, 2013 6:12 am

Simon,

Theoretically you could do that and it should work, however this solution rarely works well, especially after a while. Many things effect the smooth running:
1.) Weight; you need a significant amount of evenly distributed weight to push down on the copper connections to make a smooth reliable contact, and as the loco traverses the crossover this will cause a change in weight distribution
2.) Movement; As the loco traverses the crossover from deck to siding, this causes movement in the deck and also in the siding, although minute, this will be enough to disrupt a smooth crossover.
3.) Time; Over time the copper will corrode very slightly and tarnish and become dirty which will also disrupt smooth running, no matter how much you clean them.

I had a turntable which was similar, with copper connections which i thought would be fine, but the imperfections came and these drove me insane! :lol: So much so the turntable fell into disuse because it wasn't working perfectly, which then became a waste of space on the board, and the time, effort and money i spent, was wasted.
Even though the peco turntable isn't perfect and i can still have running issues with it, as it has to be spotlessly maintained, it is certainly better than most.
Hope this helps,

cheers,
Thomas
"I think you're wandering into the realms of fantasy, Jones."

hornbyandbf3fan
Posts: 219
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2012 8:55 pm
Contact:

Re: 00 Layout - loco running

Postby hornbyandbf3fan » Sat Feb 02, 2013 10:31 am

You have a great layout that I'm very jealous of! Your scenic work is outstanding as well. Any chance of some videos?!
15 and a railway fan, something very rare now
My youtubehttp://www.youtube.com/user/hornbyandbf3fan?feature=mhee

dman-lewis
Posts: 97
Joined: Mon Sep 06, 2010 4:33 pm
Contact:

Re: 00 Layout - loco running

Postby dman-lewis » Sat Feb 02, 2013 7:06 pm

Great layout, such attention to detail aswell.
http://www.flickr.com/photos/39259141@N05/ Mostly photos of railway surroundings in my life.
http://whitwellstation.com/

User avatar
thomasg87
Posts: 164
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2010 5:41 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Pagminster - Diesel traction Arrives!

Postby thomasg87 » Wed Feb 13, 2013 5:29 am

Evening All,
Ok some of you maybe wondering if this is a new thread... well it isn't :lol:
After some monumental deliberation I have settled on a name for the railway - Pagminster.
This was a new slant on my old railway's name - Paggington Green, which is no more :( :D , and after the addition of the ruined monastery/church, i decided the Church had given its name to the surrounding area. The church was named due to its proximity to the river Pagg in the valley below. As the church is the oldest thing in the area it makes sense - to me anyway lol
So, Pagminster it is.

The second thing followers of this thread might be wondering, is 'i thought this was Br steam?' Well, it was...
Until I was browsing on eHattons (a dangerous place lol) and found this...
Image
Image
Class 1000/1001 Diesel - DCC Ready, fitted with Hornby Saphire Decoder.
My first diesel passenger locomotive and also the first loco from Dapol.
Out of the box i was a little unimpressed with the finish - its not as crisp and clean as hornby/bachmann finishes, however i am blown away with the running.
It is whisper quiet and as smooth as silk and i am very very impressed!!
Image
10001 awaiting departure at platform 2 of South Pagminster Station
Image
Image

Now, i need a diesel depot lol,
i'm planning a purchase of Br Class 28 Co-Bo Freight Locomotive and also a Class 08 Shunter to replace one which sadly is no more as it went for an excursion off the edge of the base board some months ago :shock:
I will locate the diesel depot on the extension of the layout, which will have a second branch line station.
BUT, these plans will wont be happening in the immediate future as SWMBO has layed down some financial restrictions of late :( due to a bought of unauthorised purchases 8).
Anyway,
I have been flogging some stuff on ebay of late, the idea being to sell off the older, less detailed, train set stock and update with new super detail,
i replaced my rake of 4 BR MK1s in Blood and Custard (from the City of bristol Train Set) with these...
Image
4 new BR Maunsell Coaches in Blood and Custard - the MK1 Restaurant car in the centre survived the cull as it very recent.
Purchased for the same price as i sold the mk1s! Excellent.

I have also got the basic station buildings in...
South Pagminster,
Image
Image
I used the ratio kit, slightly modified.
The plan from the beginning of the railway was to have a station in semi-low relief, as I didn't want the station to be the centre piece of the layout, so the station frontage/forecourt area has not been modeled, hence it is up against the backboard. So i used the pieces left over the give the station building some length.
I will be adding more and some canopies.
in the future i want to really bring these scenes to life with heavy detail work and scenery.

Thats enough for now
I hope you like,

Cheers,

Thomas
"I think you're wandering into the realms of fantasy, Jones."

buz
Posts: 794
Joined: Sat Jul 17, 2010 6:46 am
Location: Kalgoorlie West Australia

Re: Pagminster - Diesel traction Arrives!

Postby buz » Wed Feb 13, 2013 10:34 am

thomasg87 wrote:Evening All,
Ok some of you maybe wondering if this is a new thread... well it isn't :lol:
After some monumental deliberation I have settled on a name for the railway - Pagminster.
This was a new slant on my old railway's name - Paggington Green, which is no more :( :D , and after the addition of the ruined monastery/church, i decided the Church had given its name to the surrounding area. The church was named due to its proximity to the river Pagg in the valley below. As the church is the oldest thing in the area it makes sense - to me anyway lol
So, Pagminster it is.
Cheers,
Thomas


Hi Thomas
I think that should be Paggminster shouldn't it?????
The people naming the town would have used the gg in the river name and the monastery/church where pretty good at record keeping they would have used the gg as well, until Henry shut them down rather forcefully
At least the nasty boxes are still outnumbered by proper locomotives :D
If you need a new nasty box shunter the 03 or is it 04 by Bachmann is a good one it is /was available in black.
That is the green diesel loco that constitutes modern image on my line.
It perhaps should not as my line would probably have been gone, by the time they where built it has served me well so I am quite happy to recommend one.
regards John
A model railway can be completed but it's never finished

User avatar
Lysander
Posts: 2296
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2007 9:53 pm

Re: Pagminster - Diesel Traction Arrives

Postby Lysander » Wed Feb 13, 2013 1:34 pm

I have 10000 in LMS black, but your's looks absolutely magnificent in that livery.

Tony
Men with false teeth may yet speak the truth.......


Return to “Personal Layouts - Under Construction”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 26 guests