MrT's BR Blue era N Gauge layout

Post pictures and information about your own personal model railway layout that is under construction. Keep members up-to-date with what you are doing and discuss problems that you are having.
User avatar
MrT
Posts: 431
Joined: Mon Sep 25, 2006 10:42 am
Location: Sheffield
Contact:

MrT's BR Blue era N Gauge layout

Postby MrT » Mon Oct 09, 2006 3:52 pm

OK, I built my baseboard at the weekend, so its about time I put a thread up. I bought a GF starter set a few weeks ago, and went to Rails at the weekend for more track and another controller. They've ran out of setrack so I put an order in but bought myself a nice Gaugmaster twin controller for my planned double loop.

So this is what I started with:

Image

I then built my baseboard - 12mm MDF with a layer of erm, stuff on it from Rails, then a layer of cork tiles to pin the track onto. Its not pro-stuff but this is my first proper layout so don't be too harsh, guys :oops:

Image

Image

Once the tiles were on, I pinned my pathetic starter track down. Small isn't it? :wink:

Image

Eventually, I'm going to have a double loop, an engine shed and some sidings:

Image

I've got room on the left for something, probably another station I think. Anyway, thanks for looking, I'll post up as the layout progresses. I love it when a plan comes together! 8)
Last edited by MrT on Tue Mar 06, 2007 11:45 am, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
Class 60
Posts: 1131
Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2006 4:34 pm
Location: Port Talbot, South Wales
Contact:

Postby Class 60 » Mon Oct 09, 2006 5:37 pm

wow that looks small :shock: , im sure it will grow by the time your finished with it 8) :D

Danny
Posts: 425
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2006 12:39 pm
Location: Great Britain
Contact:

Postby Danny » Mon Oct 09, 2006 5:37 pm

Nice plan, the size of that baseboard makes that starter set track look pathetic. You thought up plans for the next station yet? looks like you could fit an interesting terminus there.

Danny.

User avatar
Derek
Posts: 216
Joined: Thu Mar 16, 2006 6:04 pm
Location: With a TT scale model

Postby Derek » Mon Oct 09, 2006 5:43 pm

As I said somewhere else, this is exactly how I started MrT.

Don't panic!!

It will grow slowly, ever evolving into a satisfying model railway, believe me :)

alvinlwh
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 11:38 pm
Location: Manchester, UK

Re: MrT's N Gauge layout

Postby alvinlwh » Mon Oct 09, 2006 5:45 pm

MrT wrote:Eventually, I'm going to have a double loop, an engine shed and some sidings:

Image


A suggestion, switch the direction of your points between loops so that there is no need to reverse to switch tracks?

User avatar
Raider
Posts: 1102
Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2005 12:55 am
Location: Wolverhampton
Contact:

Postby Raider » Mon Oct 09, 2006 5:46 pm

I would only switch one of the points around as that way you can go between loops in both directions

The starter set does look very small in N gauge - just think how much track and operational interest you can get in that area

Chris

Lofty

Postby Lofty » Mon Oct 09, 2006 6:22 pm

Welcome aboard MrT

At least you have something running, looking forward to watching the project grow

Lofty

westbrom
Posts: 831
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2006 8:57 pm
Location: chelmsford

Postby westbrom » Mon Oct 09, 2006 10:52 pm

Looking forward to seeing your progress.


Neil

User avatar
MrT
Posts: 431
Joined: Mon Sep 25, 2006 10:42 am
Location: Sheffield
Contact:

Postby MrT » Tue Oct 10, 2006 9:31 am

Thats a good idea - I'll switch one of them round, thanks guys.

The board is 5" x 2"6 so should provide enough space for a decent layout. In a few months, it'll hopefully be pretty good.

I just can't decide wether to have the main station at the top over the two loops (with a bay platform as the nearest siding) or have a terminus over on the left. The other one will be engine sheds. Have got time to think about it anyway.

Thanks for the kind comments.

User avatar
Derek
Posts: 216
Joined: Thu Mar 16, 2006 6:04 pm
Location: With a TT scale model

Postby Derek » Tue Oct 10, 2006 11:33 am

MrT wrote:I just can't decide wether to have the main station at the top over the two loops (with a bay platform as the nearest siding) or have a terminus over on the left. The other one will be engine sheds. Have got time to think about it anyway.


To be honest MrT, it look as if you have enough room for two stations; you could have the terminus for small branch line trains.

User avatar
Dave777
Posts: 195
Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2005 12:58 pm
Location: UK

Postby Dave777 » Tue Oct 10, 2006 12:22 pm

MrT wrote:The board is 5" x 2"6


Ohhhh, how convenient is that - I was considering a layout of this exact size but considered it too big to manhandle about the house, through doors, etc. I've shrunk the plan down to 4' x 2', but since you have a board of this exact size can you tell me how easy it is to move it about the place? I think it's borderline myself as it must be about 3/4s the size of a door...?
Specialist in short and to-the-point replies

User avatar
live-frog
Posts: 644
Joined: Thu Apr 06, 2006 10:01 am
Location: Yeovil Somerset

Postby live-frog » Tue Oct 10, 2006 1:26 pm

Nice initial plan Mr T. - Being as you're going to have several points eventually , I would buy one left and one right and then use them as a template ,along with your curves and straights , to draw your plan on your baseboard.
Btw ,What's in the set ? The reason I ask is this. If you plan to go for large locos - say class 37 or larger OR if it's steam - tender locos, then I would go for medium points instead of standard. Just my view , others may find standard points acceptable for large locos.

Good luck !!! :) :)
Ron

User avatar
MrT
Posts: 431
Joined: Mon Sep 25, 2006 10:42 am
Location: Sheffield
Contact:

Postby MrT » Tue Oct 10, 2006 1:27 pm

Dave777 wrote:
MrT wrote:The board is 5" x 2"6


Ohhhh, how convenient is that - I was considering a layout of this exact size but considered it too big to manhandle about the house, through doors, etc. I've shrunk the plan down to 4' x 2', but since you have a board of this exact size can you tell me how easy it is to move it about the place? I think it's borderline myself as it must be about 3/4s the size of a door...?


When I was building it over the weekend I was slightly worried but having put it into its storage place last night, I found it dead easy, though that was moving it about vertically. I think you'd have problems if you needed to keep it flat while moving it about but its fine otherwise.

Derek wrote:To be honest MrT, it look as if you have enough room for two stations; you could have the terminus for small branch line trains.


Yeah, thats what I was maybe thinking - have the engine shed alongside a small station on the branch line.

The only real thing which is annoying me now is this:

Image

With my board being the size it is I reckon I'll need about 5/6 trains tops so obviously I'll go for my favs. The only starter set with one if my fav locos in was this one but ideally wanted my layout to be BR blue (mid-80s). I thought, no problems, mid-90s was my second choice but after researching a bit, I think this livery is post-privatisation, which sucks.

User avatar
MrT
Posts: 431
Joined: Mon Sep 25, 2006 10:42 am
Location: Sheffield
Contact:

Postby MrT » Tue Oct 10, 2006 1:37 pm

live-frog wrote:Nice initial plan Mr T. - Being as you're going to have several points eventually , I would buy one left and one right and then use them as a template ,along with your curves and straights , to draw your plan on your baseboard.
Btw ,What's in the set ? The reason I ask is this. If you plan to go for large locos - say class 37 or larger OR if it's steam - tender locos, then I would go for medium points instead of standard. Just my view , others may find standard points acceptable for large locos.

Good luck !!! :) :)
Ron


Interesting, thanks. I don't have any points at the mo but will be getting a couple probably next week when my order is in. I like the idea of planning out my full layout now, that makes alot of sense :idea:

User avatar
live-frog
Posts: 644
Joined: Thu Apr 06, 2006 10:01 am
Location: Yeovil Somerset

Postby live-frog » Tue Oct 10, 2006 1:53 pm

MrT wrote:. The only starter set with one if my fav locos in was this one but ideally wanted my layout to be BR blue (mid-80s). I thought, no problems, mid-90s was my second choice but after researching a bit, I think this livery is post-privatisation, which sucks.


I may be shot down in flames here , but , I think the livery is the 'Early BR sectorisation livery' first used for Railfreight Distribution in 1987. That would mean that most of the locos around at the time would be BR blue and I guess it would fit in with your plans - hope I'm right.
Ron
Source Wikipedia
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Railfreight_Distribution


Return to “Personal Layouts - Under Construction”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 20 guests