First OO 6X4 layout

Post pictures and information about your own personal model railway layout that is under construction. Keep members up-to-date with what you are doing and discuss problems that you are having.
ADB
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2011 9:10 pm

First OO 6X4 layout

Postby ADB » Sun Jan 30, 2011 6:58 pm

Hi

New enthusiast here. Thought i'd have a crack at building a railway. Last one i had was 35 years ago in N Guage that my father built.

Great forum, helped me get cracking as things have changed a bit (DCC). Took the plunge & bought the East coast Pullman set for a bargain price of £199 Amazon. (jumped back to 274 next day :-)

So, baseboard was stressing me out because my woodwork skills are probably the worst in the world.
Anyway, went with 6x4x18mm MDF (bit thick but weight isnt a problem as the layout is not moving). Built a frame out of 2x1 softwood. Didnt try building the legs as they would have collapsed at some point knowing my woodwork skills. managed to bag a 6ft 6 x 3ft metal table off ebay for 99p which it can sit on.

So, baseboard built, track bought & laid. I need to add a few more bits before i decide to fix it down. Is it best to nail the track or 'no more nails' it?

2 circuits & a bit of shunting space plus, station in the centre. Tunnel & hill will be on the left hand side and a small town scene on the right. To the back right there will be an engine shed.

I'll upload some pics of progress so far. Thoughts would be appreciated.

cheers

Andy

ollyg16
Posts: 230
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 11:05 pm
Contact:

Re: First OO 6X4 layout

Postby ollyg16 » Sun Jan 30, 2011 7:28 pm

Hi Andy, and welcome

ADB wrote:Is it best to nail the track or 'no more nails' it?


I screw the track down to begin with using flat head screws between the sleepers. I find it easier to lift the track if I change the plan or move it slightly. Then test it by running as many different trains over it as possible, then glue it down by pouring diluted PVA over it and lifting the screws once it is dry. Test again, the ballast when required.

That is my method, but there are many schools of thought on it.

Do not worry about the woodworking: as long as it will not warp or bow, must will be covered up soon enough with scenery etc.

Photos would be good when you get a chance.

Olly

ADB
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2011 9:10 pm

Re: First OO 6X4 layout

Postby ADB » Sun Jan 30, 2011 7:39 pm

Cheers Olly

Having issues uploading the pics due to the size. Any ideas how to get round this?

User avatar
Foo
Posts: 168
Joined: Fri Dec 03, 2010 10:45 pm

Re: First OO 6X4 layout

Postby Foo » Sun Jan 30, 2011 7:56 pm

it takes a while but if you open em all up and "save As" a png file they will be alot smaller and upload to photobucket much quicker. its what i had to do before the Broadband round here sorted its act out!

User avatar
jamest
Posts: 294
Joined: Wed Oct 14, 2009 9:06 pm
Location: Bratton Fleming, North Devon

Re: First OO 6X4 layout

Postby jamest » Sun Jan 30, 2011 7:57 pm

Hi,

Welcome to the forum.

Try this free download to reduce your images to 800x600:

http://www.irfanview.com/index.htm

Open picture using it
Select 'Image' from the top and 'Resize/Resample' from the drop down list.
Set your image to 800x600.
Save reduced file somewhere you can find it.
When you post on here click 'Upload attachment' at the bottom of the page
Browse to your file.
Add the file, and it will appear above the attachment options as a 'Posted Attachment' (I think you are allowed 5 max per post).
Select 'place inline' to place the picture in the desired place in the post. If you don't all the pictures will appear at the bottom of your text.

Have a go - whats the worst that can happen!!!

Remember you can preview your post before you commit.

Looking forward to seeing your progress.

Cheers,
James

User avatar
PD.
Posts: 239
Joined: Thu May 14, 2009 1:16 pm
Location: Prague, Czech Republic

Re: First OO 6X4 layout

Postby PD. » Sun Jan 30, 2011 8:27 pm

The best option is to download Picasa and then use that which when you upload to your Web Album(s) automatically resizes them - you can then either link directly from there using the [img] tags or download them from there and upload to this site

Sounds more complicated than it is, honestly :)

https://picasaweb.google.com
Praha Hlavní Nádraží (Prague Main Station)

ADB
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2011 9:10 pm

Re: First OO 6X4 layout

Postby ADB » Sun Jan 30, 2011 8:32 pm

Thanks for the hints

Just 3 pics for now, i'll add some at each stage of development, hopefully make a bit of progress each week. I do have a couple of minor adjustments to do on the track.

Railway project 2011.jpg
Railway project 2011.jpg (89.79 KiB) Viewed 2971 times


Railway project 2011 002.jpg
Railway project 2011 002.jpg (62.26 KiB) Viewed 2972 times
Attachments
Railway project 2011 003.jpg
Railway project 2011 003.jpg (78.27 KiB) Viewed 2969 times

ollyg16
Posts: 230
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 11:05 pm
Contact:

Re: First OO 6X4 layout

Postby ollyg16 » Sun Jan 30, 2011 9:30 pm

It looks good to me. I like the fact that you will be able to shunt while stilln running trains on the outer tracks

Have you thought of making the tracks slightly longer and take them to the edge of the board? There is a void there (the right of the picture). Of course, you may have a plan for that space.

Olly

dubbleojon
Posts: 185
Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2010 1:55 pm

Re: First OO 6X4 layout

Postby dubbleojon » Sun Jan 30, 2011 9:39 pm

Started with the same set, paid a lot more than you did though!
Looks like a promising start. Good idea leaving space for some scenics as I just crammed as much track in as possible and am now struggling to find room for any substantial scenery.
Are you using first radius curves for your inner curve to the sidings? You will find that if you plan to get more locos in the future that most if not all of them are minimum second radius.

look forward to watching your progress

ADB
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2011 9:10 pm

Re: First OO 6X4 layout

Postby ADB » Sun Jan 30, 2011 10:20 pm

I've left the right side clear to put a street scene in. Did think of extending the track but thought a loops a loop so wouldnt be any more interesting if it was bigger.

Inner curve is first radius but only intend using it inside for shunting about whilst a couple of trains run round on the other two loops.

craw607
Posts: 463
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2009 9:12 pm
Location: up the junction

Re: First OO 6X4 layout

Postby craw607 » Sun Jan 30, 2011 11:05 pm

Hi ADB
Welcome to the forum.
Regarding the loops a loop the bigger the loop the less chance of the trian
and coaches being on one straight and the curve and other straight.
Hope you can understand what I mean.
Could you change the 1st radius as it would give you a better option of
locos and rolling stock.
John

ADB
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2011 9:10 pm

Re: First OO 6X4 layout

Postby ADB » Mon Jan 31, 2011 5:06 pm

Thanks for the thoughts.

I see what you mean regarding the loops. I really wanted the space at the side for doing the street modelling, so dont want to extend the track further.

Not sure how i can get round changing the 1st radius curve because of the minited space. Rolling stock i have has gone round it without a problem. I've got some more bits of track on the way so will have another play.

Is there a limit to the amount of rolling stock that will go round a 1st radius curve or are the problems mainly to do with the loco's with longer wheel bases?

Only other train i'm likely to get is an Intercity shunter & probably some more smaller rolling stock.

Need to hold fire on buying much more for now, missus wasnt too happy about losing the spare room in the first place, havent told her how much i've spent. Soon adds up dosent it. :-)

ADB
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2011 9:10 pm

Re: First OO 6X4 layout

Postby ADB » Mon Jan 31, 2011 6:04 pm

Newbie questions.

I cant buy exact standard lengths of track to run up too exactly where i want them to end so going to buy a length of flexi track and cut to size. With the ends of your track, is it best to just snip off the ends to leave a straight finish or leave as is?

Also, is it worth buying the foam strips that go under the track, what are the pro's in using this please? I was going to fix the track direct to my board then do the ballast thing.

thanks in advance

User avatar
jamest
Posts: 294
Joined: Wed Oct 14, 2009 9:06 pm
Location: Bratton Fleming, North Devon

Re: First OO 6X4 layout

Postby jamest » Mon Jan 31, 2011 6:31 pm

Hi,

I'm assuming you have second and third radius curves outside the first radius ones.

If that is the case to get rid of first radius (keeping the same plan) you would need to go for second third and forth radius curves - which don't look like they would fit on your baseboard width.

If you want to rid yourself of first radius curves you realistically have to change your plan - There are several planning software tools available out there (anyrail for example) - or failing that have a play with the track you have - run some trains to see if you like it, and adjust. But be warned you might never stop tinkering!!

On the flex front - ideally cut with a dremel or similar tool. Or buy a pair of specialist cutters (£10 ish). You need to cut it cleanly if you want to avoid serious finger injury trying to fit the rail joiners!! With flexi the track joiners will not go 'underneath' the rail between the sleepers so you will need to remove the end sleeper and have a gap initially - you can remove the chairs from an odd sleeper later and slide and glue it underneath - or leave it as a big gap - it's up to you.

On the underlay - some use it some don't - in theory it will reduce the sound a little but that depends on other factors too. Sometimes it is a cleaner alternative to the traditional method of ballasting (pva flood) but nothing looks better than the traditional methods - even the pre-ballasted underlay. It depends on how far you want to go.

I'm sure there are other opinions out there!!

Good luck,
James

ADB
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2011 9:10 pm

Re: First OO 6X4 layout

Postby ADB » Tue Feb 01, 2011 6:39 pm

Done a bit of tinkering.

Station i planned to put in the centre will now be down the front right, so the Locos that dont like 1st radius bends can jog round the two outer loops (2nd & 3rd radius). Still leaves me space to put the planned street scene in up the right hand side

Inside track & 1st radius loop will be for shunters only.
Attachments
Railway project 2011 004.jpg
Railway project 2011 004.jpg (132.44 KiB) Viewed 2680 times


Return to “Personal Layouts - Under Construction”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 17 guests