Modernish in N

Post pictures and information about your own personal model railway layout that is under construction. Keep members up-to-date with what you are doing and discuss problems that you are having.
Deano123

Modernish in N

Postby Deano123 » Sun Sep 12, 2010 1:32 pm

Hi all, this is my first attempt at designing and building any sort of layout. I have plumped for N gauge due to space and future commitments. I am looking at running trains from the early 80's through to today roughly. My layout is 10'x3' which I think is a pretty decent size.
cement works.gif
cement works.gif (15.37 KiB) Viewed 3412 times

This is the track plan I came up with, the middle extension I think is going to be some sort of industrial works to the left hand side with goods yards and maybe a small halt for the workers to be brought to work. At the top is where the main station will be placed and the sisings at the bottom of the plan will be another goods yard to the right with a small loco shed and fuelling station to the right. I know this is quite a busy plan but I like the idea of trains going round.
The baseboards are already built with some track already laid, photos to follow hopefully. I would appreciate what people think as this plan is not yet stuck in stone and ideas would be helpfull. Many Thanks

beerandpies

Re: Modernish in N

Postby beerandpies » Sun Sep 12, 2010 1:42 pm

Nice run... One thing I have noticed is that there's no way to get from the inner loop to the outer loops and back without having to stop and reverse. Might possibly effect your future enjoyment of the layout?
cheers, Mark.
Scragg End

Deano123

Postby Deano123 » Sun Sep 12, 2010 1:56 pm