Not a layout - but railway modelling

Post pictures and information about your own personal model railway layout that is under construction. Keep members up-to-date with what you are doing and discuss problems that you are having.
User avatar
Foo
Posts: 168
Joined: Fri Dec 03, 2010 10:45 pm

Re: Not a layout - but railway modelling

Postby Foo » Sun Feb 20, 2011 8:01 pm

Inspired by this I knocked one up myself. Obviously not as good but meh.

REGRETTABLY FOO's PB PICTURE LOST TO PB's STUPIDITY 2017

Dad-1
Posts: 6149
Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2008 8:05 pm
Location: Dorset - A mile from West Bay.

Re: Not a layout - but railway modelling

Postby Dad-1 » Sun Feb 20, 2011 9:14 pm

That's very good Foo,

Did you manage that from spare bits & pieces laying around ? Even better if you can incorporate into a layout somehow.

I did learn quite quickly that adding interior lighting is very much a two edged sword !!
It's no good lighting an empty grey box (Metcalfe interior) ..... I have tried making 1:76 furniture,
but it's not easy. Still practice will help and I need a few office desks as well as a decent workbench
although how to make something that looks like a vice is going to tax my imagination.

Geoff T.
Remember ... I know nothing about railways.
viewtopic.php?f=22&t=32187 and Another on viewtopic.php?f=22&t=28436&start=60&st=0&sk=t&sd=a

User avatar
Foo
Posts: 168
Joined: Fri Dec 03, 2010 10:45 pm

Re: Not a layout - but railway modelling

Postby Foo » Sun Feb 20, 2011 9:34 pm

Dad-1 wrote:Did you manage that from spare bits & pieces laying around ? Even better if you can incorporate into a layout somehow.


Prettymuch, the board is from my base board where i cut a section out for the scalescenes inspection pit, off cut of a broken hornby double curve, bit of polystyrene from a DVD stand the inlaws bought, and the fence was my test to see how it's look before putting one on my actual layout. also the streetlamp is a prototype for my layout, all in all quite pleased with how it turned out.. Here is a link to my layout thread where there are some more pics of this little scene, saves me stealing yours :D

and regards the lighting, i agree, i have built the scalescenes station but think it looks a bit empty, so am planning on making some counters, ticket booths, benches etc, but because i have fully built it will probably have to re-build, not that i mind, the station is a bit tatty anyway and could do with being re-done :D

Stewart Gethin
Posts: 625
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2010 5:23 pm
Location: Bow street, Wales

Re: Not a layout - but railway modelling

Postby Stewart Gethin » Thu Feb 24, 2011 7:03 pm

Something that I'm currently putting together, made out of left over polystyrene and a piece of spare wood.

Image

:D

Will post more pictures as I go along.

Stew.
Please take a look at both my layouts:
My layout: viewtopic.php?f=22&t=28240
My 5" Gauge layout: viewtopic.php?f=22&t=29058

User avatar
PD.
Posts: 239
Joined: Thu May 14, 2009 1:16 pm
Location: Prague, Czech Republic

Re: Not a layout - but railway modelling

Postby PD. » Thu Feb 24, 2011 11:31 pm

Dad-1 wrote:Practice on small sections like this allows one to hone the various modelling skills at a low price, this will have cost no more than £20 when finished.

No more than Twenny quid????? I was hoping to spend less than that on the whole layout!!!! :shock:
Praha Hlavní Nádraží (Prague Main Station)

Stewart Gethin
Posts: 625
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2010 5:23 pm
Location: Bow street, Wales

Re: Not a layout - but railway modelling

Postby Stewart Gethin » Fri Feb 25, 2011 9:27 pm

A couple of pictures of tonights progress, the whole diorama/scene has been covered in plaster cloth. This is due a coat of plaster of paris hopefully tommorrow. ;) Then paint, scatter, track etc etc.

By the way, does anyone know of a fairly cheap way of creating a river? I've got a decently big river to make. Was thinking about pva, but it seems to go cloudy after a while. Advice please :)

Image Looking down the river.
Overall view of the thing. The river is the whole cutting to the left of the railway bank. Image

Stew.
Please take a look at both my layouts:
My layout: viewtopic.php?f=22&t=28240
My 5" Gauge layout: viewtopic.php?f=22&t=29058

User avatar
PD.
Posts: 239
Joined: Thu May 14, 2009 1:16 pm
Location: Prague, Czech Republic

Re: Not a layout - but railway modelling

Postby PD. » Fri Feb 25, 2011 9:32 pm

Stewart Gethin wrote:By the way, does anyone know of a fairly cheap way of creating a river? I've got a decently big river to make. Was thinking about pva, but it seems to go cloudy after a while. Advice please :)

You could ask Charlie Dimmock ;)

I've seen plenty of water products around - no experience of them, in fact here's some I was looking at only this evening on my newfound Czech website, I am sure it's easier to locate things like this in the UK than it has been for me til I found this website - http://modeltrain.cz/products.php?kind=70401
Praha Hlavní Nádraží (Prague Main Station)

User avatar
m1racleman
Posts: 35
Joined: Sat Dec 11, 2010 1:36 pm

Re: Not a layout - but railway modelling

Postby m1racleman » Fri Feb 25, 2011 10:25 pm

By the way, does anyone know of a fairly cheap way of creating a river? I've got a decently big river to make. Was thinking about pva, but it seems to go cloudy after a while. Advice please

I have had quite good results by using water clear resin I bought on ebay, much cheaper than all those artificial water products and much the same thing !!



http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll? ... K:MEWAX:IT

This is the sort of thing I use. Well worth a try as 1 kg does a lot of water. Shrinkage is good too so not too much building up to do .
Nihl permitos non compus mentus illigitimmi carborundum

Stewart Gethin
Posts: 625
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2010 5:23 pm
Location: Bow street, Wales

Re: Not a layout - but railway modelling

Postby Stewart Gethin » Sat Feb 26, 2011 6:54 am

m1racleman wrote:By the way, does anyone know of a fairly cheap way of creating a river? I've got a decently big river to make. Was thinking about pva, but it seems to go cloudy after a while. Advice please

I have had quite good results by using water clear resin I bought on ebay, much cheaper than all those artificial water products and much the same thing !!



http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll? ... K:MEWAX:IT

This is the sort of thing I use. Well worth a try as 1 kg does a lot of water. Shrinkage is good too so not too much building up to do .


Does it come with instructions :O? Because for once, I would actually read them because I've never mixed that stuff up. ;)
Oh yeah, any chance of a photo of the water you've done?

Thanks, Stew.
Please take a look at both my layouts:
My layout: viewtopic.php?f=22&t=28240
My 5" Gauge layout: viewtopic.php?f=22&t=29058

Dad-1
Posts: 6149
Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2008 8:05 pm
Location: Dorset - A mile from West Bay.

Re: Not a layout - but railway modelling

Postby Dad-1 » Wed Mar 02, 2011 4:33 pm

To reclaim my thread from Foo & Stewart ....

Here's the quay with a traffic jam !!

Image

Still a little way to go before this 15" x 9.5" diorama's finished ..... both tracks live, but with paint over much
of the quay side tramway I don't think a DCC loco will be happy !

Geoff T.
Remember ... I know nothing about railways.
viewtopic.php?f=22&t=32187 and Another on viewtopic.php?f=22&t=28436&start=60&st=0&sk=t&sd=a

Dad-1
Posts: 6149
Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2008 8:05 pm
Location: Dorset - A mile from West Bay.

Re: Not a layout - but railway modelling

Postby Dad-1 » Wed Mar 02, 2011 4:41 pm

You may wonder why that young guy's looking back ?

Image

A couple of young ladies have just come through the tunnel from the other side of the top line .........
must be evening as lights are coming on.

Geoff T.
Remember ... I know nothing about railways.
viewtopic.php?f=22&t=32187 and Another on viewtopic.php?f=22&t=28436&start=60&st=0&sk=t&sd=a

Stewart Gethin
Posts: 625
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2010 5:23 pm
Location: Bow street, Wales

Re: Not a layout - but railway modelling

Postby Stewart Gethin » Wed Mar 02, 2011 4:43 pm

Great little scene that is coming along to be Geoff. I like the brick effect you have got on the quay. Did you scribe them in yourself? (Someone has got a guide on this forum about doing this).

Keep it up Geoff.

Stew.
Please take a look at both my layouts:
My layout: viewtopic.php?f=22&t=28240
My 5" Gauge layout: viewtopic.php?f=22&t=29058

Dad-1
Posts: 6149
Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2008 8:05 pm
Location: Dorset - A mile from West Bay.

Re: Not a layout - but railway modelling

Postby Dad-1 » Wed Mar 02, 2011 4:57 pm

Hi Stewart,

I scribed them in and what a messy job it was, fine filler dust all over the place.
Still I'm pleased with the result so far, now need to fully sort the water !!

That brings me to your enquiry about resin ....... I used that on the stream going under my embankment, see earlier in this thread.
It's good stuff BUT, the waterway needs to be fully painted as it's clear, you can add a touch of water based paint to give some look
of depth. It remains in a liquid form for around 16 - 20 hours and will creep through any 'holes' in your streams banks. As it stays liquid
it's self levelling which means you can't use on a falling waterway.
If you can find my Scottish diorama you'll see it used in the ford across agravel road - I'll add a link here if I locate quickly.
Glentruss Halt - see pages 6 & 7 viewtopic.php?f=22&t=23492&start=75&st=0&sk=t&sd=a

For this quay I intend using varnish ..... something I've not done before.

Geoff T.
Remember ... I know nothing about railways.
viewtopic.php?f=22&t=32187 and Another on viewtopic.php?f=22&t=28436&start=60&st=0&sk=t&sd=a

Dad-1
Posts: 6149
Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2008 8:05 pm
Location: Dorset - A mile from West Bay.

Re: Not a layout - but railway modelling

Postby Dad-1 » Fri Mar 04, 2011 8:51 pm

Change of sea colour in the harbour.
Looks like there's been nothing but trouble since boy racers started frequenting the place ........
How did that guy get off with a leggy blonde who has a neat Mini Cooper ?

Image

Don't you just love dioramas, although not quite finished this represents less than a months actual work. Did one
day in January, then started my real action in early February.

Geoff T.
Remember ... I know nothing about railways.
viewtopic.php?f=22&t=32187 and Another on viewtopic.php?f=22&t=28436&start=60&st=0&sk=t&sd=a

User avatar
ste234
Posts: 957
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2009 10:02 pm
Location: Teeside

Re: Not a layout - but railway modelling

Postby ste234 » Fri Mar 04, 2011 9:42 pm

Hi Geoff, I must admit, I'm not normally a fan of dioramas, but this is great! There are some good ones cropping up on this forum, I think Loftys Scrap Yard is another good one, just shows what can be done in a small space, even if it doesn't move!
Cheers,
Ste
'Springfield', N gauge Modern Era Layout


Return to “Personal Layouts - Under Construction”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Dublo, Google Adsense [Bot] and 30 guests