Nik's Post Privatisation Layout

Post pictures and information about your own personal model railway layout that is under construction. Keep members up-to-date with what you are doing and discuss problems that you are having.
Polyrhythms

Nik's Post Privatisation Layout

Postby Polyrhythms » Fri Feb 26, 2010 8:10 pm

Hello all
Been bitten by the bug again - only this time I (for the most part) actually have the funding to support it! So, onwards with my first, proper, solo (ish) layout... scary!

Heres what I have so far...
8 1/2 by 2 foot baseboard, with veerrry heavy blockboard for the top
A lot of clutter.

Oh yeah, and I made this little programming track too, firstly so I could test my new dynamis system (I'm new to DCC, will definately need help here!) and also to practice my tracklaying + ballasting + soldering skills. This is my first attempt, opinions?

Sam
Last edited by Polyrhythms on Sun May 29, 2011 9:58 pm, edited 5 times in total.

egroeg93

Re: Exmoordown TMD - Modern 00

Postby egroeg93 » Fri Feb 26, 2010 11:19 pm

what brand/product is the ballast mate?? Its nice size.

Durseytu
Location: Trying to make progress on the layout... pigs will fly (hohoho)

Postby Durseytu » Sat Feb 27, 2010 12:12 am

Looks very good. I'd certainly think about placing some sort of track liner underneath whether its some kind of card or cork tile [I'm the one to talk I didn't on my layout] and then ballast as you have over the top. It just provides smooth operation of the locos. I would have liked to have done it to all the track to my layout, however one gets too hasty and want's to see the track ballasting done very soon! :roll:

Cheers,

Stuart.
ImageImage

Polyrhythms

Postby Polyrhythms » Sat Feb 27, 2010 9:30 am

egroeg93 wrote:what brand/product is the ballast mate?? Its nice size.

Oooh good question, I think maybe it's woodland scenics? At the moment it's stored in a coffee jar so Kenco ballast! :P