NSE making a start

Post pictures and information about your own personal model railway layout that is under construction. Keep members up-to-date with what you are doing and discuss problems that you are having.
User avatar
Grayum
Posts: 110
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2008 8:59 pm
Contact:

Re: NSE making a start

Postby Grayum » Thu Jun 06, 2013 9:55 pm

Again, I too am looking forward to your new layout... I need to get my NSE inspiration from somewhere! :D

Edit: While I'm here Daz, when you had Shaftesbury did you ever manage to find a solution to run bachmann mk2s with 3rd rail? Ta

User avatar
Jim S-W
Posts: 1345
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2009 5:38 pm

Re: NSE making a start

Postby Jim S-W » Thu Jun 06, 2013 10:57 pm

Why would that be a problem? Bit confused TBH

User avatar
Grayum
Posts: 110
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2008 8:59 pm
Contact:

Re: NSE making a start

Postby Grayum » Fri Jun 07, 2013 9:01 pm

The battery boxes on the underside are too big or they stick out to far so they strike the 3rd rail. Daz mentioned about it earlier on in this thread. ..I've just brought some bachmann mk2s having forgot about this problem :?

User avatar
Jim S-W
Posts: 1345
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2009 5:38 pm

Re: NSE making a start

Postby Jim S-W » Sat Jun 08, 2013 9:12 am

Nope still confused as the battery boxes are no where near the rail. I know third rail is slightly higher but not much, are you sure the third rail is to scale?

http://www.p4newstreet.com/mark2

I notice the center one (on the TSO) might be a shade low but being seperate it would be no problem to pop it off and trim a smidge from the top before re-attaching. (it might be that it's not fitted properly in the first place)

Hth

Jim

User avatar
Grayum
Posts: 110
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2008 8:59 pm
Contact:

Re: NSE making a start

Postby Grayum » Sat Jun 08, 2013 12:08 pm

I would take a photo but my layout is currently 130 miles south..! If you click my thread link and look at the last photo you can just see the battery box sitting on the third rail.

I'm using wooden sleeper code 75 track and the standard peco code 60 third rail and chairs, so it should be okay. All my EMUs with shoe gear sit just above the third rail comfortably without striking it.

Earlier Daz mentioned Big Dunc uses the same track as me (wooden sleeper code 75 as opposed to the concrete sleeper) but he has 1mm gap between the mk2 under frame and 3rd rail so I'm a bit confused as to why I don't have the same :? I think removal and some fine sanding down of the battery boxes is probably the most likely remedy to raise them up slightly.

Thanks, G

User avatar
Jim S-W
Posts: 1345
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2009 5:38 pm

Re: NSE making a start

Postby Jim S-W » Sat Jun 08, 2013 12:24 pm

Are you using pots designed for code 100 perhaps? Another problem is that the third rail might be the right distance from the running rail but too close in relation to the underframe details (your track is 3.5mm to a foot scale but your underframes are 4mm to a foot scale. This means that your third rails are over 1mm too close.

Modifying the battery boxes would be the easiest fix.

Hth

Jim

User avatar
BIG DUNC
Posts: 405
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2010 10:44 pm
Location: DORSET

Re: NSE making a start

Postby BIG DUNC » Sun Jun 09, 2013 7:16 pm

I did indeed use code 75 wooden sleeper.
I used the code 60 peco third rail without the extra pots.
I did have to use a larger drill bit to countersink the rail chair slightly (about 1mm) in the sleeper as it would foul on locos etc otherwise.

HTH

Duncan...

Dcollins26
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2012 10:07 am

Re: NSE making a start

Postby Dcollins26 » Mon Jun 10, 2013 12:57 pm

Do Weymouth and the quay! :D

User avatar
Jim S-W
Posts: 1345
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2009 5:38 pm

Re: NSE making a start

Postby Jim S-W » Wed Jun 19, 2013 5:35 pm

Hi all

I hope Daz doesn't mind but prompted by the discussion about bachmann mk2s clattering third rails I have been doing some investigations.

Image

My findings are on my workbench

http://www.p4newstreet.com/category/workbench

Cheers

Jim

User avatar
Grayum
Posts: 110
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2008 8:59 pm
Contact:

Re: NSE making a start

Postby Grayum » Wed Jun 19, 2013 11:26 pm

Thanks Jim, I'll be doing the same to my rake in the near future.

User avatar
NSE DAZ
Posts: 919
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2009 11:00 pm
Location: Sunny Dorset
Contact:

Re: NSE making a start

Postby NSE DAZ » Sun Dec 22, 2013 9:40 pm

Hi all,

6 months has now passed since the decision to create another 00 gauge layout and I can confirm I have started the planning 8) I also have a 7mm layout bubbling along this is a much longer term build and will not be able to run at home due to the size!! so now think that I will focus on creating the 00 gauge layout for every day home use :wink:

I would like to take this opportunity wish you all a very Merry Christmas and all the best for 2014 :)

All the best Darren NSE DAZ
Unleashing the toothpaste livery!!!Thank you for travelling Network SouthEast

User avatar
Grayum
Posts: 110
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2008 8:59 pm
Contact:

Re: NSE making a start

Postby Grayum » Tue Dec 24, 2013 2:51 pm

Looking forward to seeing some of these new plans, and happy Christmas too.

G


Return to “Personal Layouts - Under Construction”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests