Cwm Lanod & Gwynraven Colliery - Video Link on Page 5

Post pictures and information about your own personal model railway layout that is under construction. Keep members up-to-date with what you are doing and discuss problems that you are having.
Si_Donal

Cwm Lanod & Gwynraven Colliery - Video Link on Page 5

Postby Si_Donal » Thu Dec 03, 2009 6:30 pm

Hi,

I've been working away on my first layout for 10 years or so for a whole year now after two years of planning and sketching. I had tried to have it ready for this forthcoming Christmas (2009) but have missed that deadline and so I am working towards Easter now. I tend to do work on the layout in bursts to fit in with my leave from work.

The layout is 5 1/2 feet by 7 1/2 feet on two U shaped boards. This provides a double oval, a goods yard, a branch line with a colliery and two small halts. It's fictional location is the South Wales Valleys where the Brecon & Merthyr Line meets the Rhymney. Set in the late 50's and early 60's the layout makes the most of the superb diecast vehicles on offer today. I may backdate the layout to GWR Days in the future. The layout is DCC controlled thanks to a Bachmann Starter Set. Stock includes:

56xx in BR Lined Green - Bachmann detailed and weathered.
87xx in BR plain Black - Bachmann detailed and weathered.
2251 in Lined Green - Bachmann detailed and weathered.
J94 in NCB Blue - A Dapol Loco, repainted and detailed. Very heavily weathered.
Class 121 Railcar - Hornby and clean.

I also have a 4575 2-6-2T in parts for the Autotrain Working and I want a 94xx by Lima with a Bachmann Chassis and another 56xx (plain black) to complete my stock.