Lordsbridge MK3 a new beginning

Post pictures and information about your own personal model railway layout that is under construction. Keep members up-to-date with what you are doing and discuss problems that you are having.
User avatar
Black-Marlin
Posts: 1639
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2008 11:59 pm
Location: 61A
Contact:

Re: Lordsbridge- now with third rail

Postby Black-Marlin » Thu Apr 01, 2010 3:17 pm

trainsandco wrote:dont mean to be petite...


Why? How small are you? :shock:

User avatar
Durseytu
Posts: 729
Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2010 3:18 pm
Location: Trying to make progress on the layout... pigs will fly (hohoho)

Re: Lordsbridge- now with third rail

Postby Durseytu » Thu Apr 01, 2010 3:39 pm

trainsandco wrote:dont mean to be petite, but all petrol stations had/have a one way system dont they? only one way in and one way out and no turning.

just to help with realism......

its looking brilliant as always though :D

Ben


Just about all petrol stations have a one way system, some can be slightly more vauge than others (such as one near where I work that is inside a roundabout that has three entrances and only one exit). However when I say just about all, there are the odd few that do lack one-way systems altogether! Usually these are the smaller petrol stations in more quaint rural settings. I do distinctly remember once on a drive in the Yorkshire Dales stopping for fuel. The station was empty when I arrived but as I was filling just about all of the North turned up to fill their cars from both sides. It took quite a bit of reversing, a small amount of cursing, and quite a bit of waiting for idiots to move before I could get out!! :x

So yes they do exist. :P

Oh and Black-Marlin, maybe 1:76 scale small??

Cheers,

Stuart.
ImageImage

User avatar
bizzyd6405
Posts: 550
Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2009 5:01 pm
Location: Chatham

Re: Lordsbridge- now with third rail

Postby bizzyd6405 » Thu Apr 01, 2010 4:12 pm

trainsandco wrote:
bizzyd6405 wrote:Image


dont mean to be petite, but all petrol stations had/have a one way system dont they? only one way in and one way out and no turning.

just to help with realism......

its looking brilliant as always though :D

Ben


yeah your right but i'll move it for you later :lol: :lol:

but seriously i still have to finish it give the fore court a few road markings and make the shop more respectable maybe add some lighting then do the connecting road to the rear of the pub.

cheers

Darren

User avatar
NSE DAZ
Posts: 919
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2009 11:00 pm
Location: Sunny Dorset
Contact:

Re: Lordsbridge- now with third rail

Postby NSE DAZ » Thu Apr 01, 2010 6:01 pm

Hi Darren

I think it is looking great especially seeing the class 73 and 33 together 8)

The third rail looks great how well does the 73 run over the section of track which has had the third rail led as rumor has it the 73 needs some trimming down to cope with the third rail :?:

Keep up the good work

All the best

Darren NSE DAZ
Unleashing the toothpaste livery!!!Thank you for travelling Network SouthEast

User avatar
bizzyd6405
Posts: 550
Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2009 5:01 pm
Location: Chatham

Re: Lordsbridge- now with third rail

Postby bizzyd6405 » Thu Apr 01, 2010 6:18 pm

NSE DAZ wrote:Hi Darren

I think it is looking great especially seeing the class 73 and 33 together 8)

The third rail looks great how well does the 73 run over the section of track which has had the third rail led as rumor has it the 73 needs some trimming down to cope with the third rail :?:

Keep up the good work

All the best

Darren NSE DAZ


only really run a couple of test runs but the class 33, 37 and both 73's went over the section fine, i plan to have a long running session over the weekend to see if i need to tweak the third rail before i continue laying it along the rest of the track.

cheers

Darren

User avatar
GunnerBill
Posts: 136
Joined: Sun Jan 24, 2010 4:59 am
Location: Aberdeenshire

Re: Lordsbridge- now with third rail

Postby GunnerBill » Thu Apr 01, 2010 9:14 pm

trainsandco wrote:
bizzyd6405 wrote:
dont mean to be petite, but all petrol stations had/have a one way system dont they? only one way in and one way out and no turning.

just to help with realism......

its looking brilliant as always though :D

Ben


Most do but some don't. But if there was that black cab driver probably just ignored it and came right in the way he was pointing.

User avatar
bizzyd6405
Posts: 550
Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2009 5:01 pm
Location: Chatham

Re: Lordsbridge

Postby bizzyd6405 » Mon Apr 05, 2010 4:15 pm

thanks for the comments guys, well its been a rather rubbish weekend really i came home from work yesterday to find some how Lordsbridge's stations signal box had been knock off the the layout and onto the floor (surprisingly no one owned up to it yet :evil: ) the signal box is a total mess the steps and decking on the front are totally missing along with some of the roof so at the moment there is a massive gap on the platform i've had a look around at several shops but can't seem to find any that have the signal box anymore :( so not sure what to do i could add the concrete walling all the way along the platform and add another sheleter, any ideas?
and the third rail has been renoved from the layout as well as after testing several trains/carriages get getting stuck on the third rail at the bends, so back to the drawing boards with that idea.

so overall a rather rubbish easter weekend

cheers

Darren

User avatar
GunnerBill
Posts: 136
Joined: Sun Jan 24, 2010 4:59 am
Location: Aberdeenshire

Re: Lordsbridge

Postby GunnerBill » Mon Apr 05, 2010 6:12 pm

bizzyd6405 wrote:thanks for the comments guys, well its been a rather rubbish weekend really i came home from work yesterday to find some how Lordsbridge's stations signal box had been knock off the the layout and onto the floor (surprisingly no one owned up to it yet :evil: ) the signal box is a total mess the steps and decking on the front are totally missing along with some of the roof so at the moment there is a massive gap on the platform i've had a look around at several shops but can't seem to find any that have the signal box anymore :( so not sure what to do i could add the concrete walling all the way along the platform and add another sheleter, any ideas?
and the third rail has been renoved from the layout as well as after testing several trains/carriages get getting stuck on the third rail at the bends, so back to the drawing boards with that idea.

so overall a rather rubbish easter weekend

cheers

Darren


Unrepareable?

You could "burn" it down and leave it in-situ with a fire crew in attendance, just as a temporary measure. Perhaps even hide a smoke generator in the rubble pile as a mournfull little epitaph. :(

User avatar
NSE DAZ
Posts: 919
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2009 11:00 pm
Location: Sunny Dorset
Contact:

Re: Lordsbridge

Postby NSE DAZ » Mon Apr 05, 2010 6:30 pm

bizzyd6405 wrote:thanks for the comments guys, well its been a rather rubbish weekend really i came home from work yesterday to find some how Lordsbridge's stations signal box had been knock off the the layout and onto the floor (surprisingly no one owned up to it yet :evil: ) the signal box is a total mess the steps and decking on the front are totally missing along with some of the roof so at the moment there is a massive gap on the platform i've had a look around at several shops but can't seem to find any that have the signal box anymore :( so not sure what to do i could add the concrete walling all the way along the platform and add another sheleter, any ideas?
and the third rail has been renoved from the layout as well as after testing several trains/carriages get getting stuck on the third rail at the bends, so back to the drawing boards with that idea.

so overall a rather rubbish easter weekend

cheers

Darren


Heck what a weekend you have had :( Stating the obvious have you tried looking on e-bay for a replacement signal box? that's were i purchased my Bachmann one from for a cheap price.

Just out of intrest was it the class 73 that kept on getting caught on the third rail?


Hope you get things sorted soon

All the best Darren NSE DAZ
Unleashing the toothpaste livery!!!Thank you for travelling Network SouthEast

User avatar
bizzyd6405
Posts: 550
Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2009 5:01 pm
Location: Chatham

Re: Lordsbridge

Postby bizzyd6405 » Mon Apr 05, 2010 7:16 pm

NSE DAZ wrote:
bizzyd6405 wrote:thanks for the comments guys, well its been a rather rubbish weekend really i came home from work yesterday to find some how Lordsbridge's stations signal box had been knock off the the layout and onto the floor (surprisingly no one owned up to it yet :evil: ) the signal box is a total mess the steps and decking on the front are totally missing along with some of the roof so at the moment there is a massive gap on the platform i've had a look around at several shops but can't seem to find any that have the signal box anymore :( so not sure what to do i could add the concrete walling all the way along the platform and add another sheleter, any ideas?
and the third rail has been renoved from the layout as well as after testing several trains/carriages get getting stuck on the third rail at the bends, so back to the drawing boards with that idea.

so overall a rather rubbish easter weekend

cheers

Darren


Heck what a weekend you have had :( Stating the obvious have you tried looking on e-bay for a replacement signal box? that's were i purchased my Bachmann one from for a cheap price.

Just out of intrest was it the class 73 that kept on getting caught on the third rail?


Hope you get things sorted soon

All the best Darren NSE DAZ


Yeah i think ebay will be worth a look seen as I can’t seem to find it any where else , as for the locos one of the 73 did the city of Winchester ( but not the one in Dutch livery) along with the class 108 so I’m having a rethink about the whole third rail at the moment and to clear myself up I have ordered a couple of new wagons to cheer myself up.

Cheers

Darren

User avatar
Lewis Nash
Posts: 389
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2008 12:31 am
Location: Working on Arpley Street

Re: Lordsbridge- Bad Weekend

Postby Lewis Nash » Mon Apr 05, 2010 7:22 pm

No not all petrol stations are one way.....
Good work darren,the 08 looks good in 'Dutch'! :P
shame about the signal box,look on ebay to see if you can find a replacement,
Regards
Lewis
NASHTON
website- http://nashton.webs.com/index.htm


ARPLEY STREET
http://arpleystreetmodelrailway.webs.com/
class 60 preservation group-http://www.c60pg.co.uk/
Lewis[ArpleyModeller]

User avatar
bizzyd6405
Posts: 550
Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2009 5:01 pm
Location: Chatham

Re: Lordsbridge- Bad Weekend

Postby bizzyd6405 » Wed Apr 07, 2010 7:40 pm

thanks Lewis, i'm rather pleased with the 08 in dutch hopefully i'll get some pics of it shunting some grampus wagons into the yard next time, as you can guess after the weekend i had i needed some cheering up so decided to get myself a little bargain i got another 73 in dutch livery :D so Lordsbridges fleet of class 73's is up to three now, it has the same running number as my other one so at some point in the future i will renumber, well once i found out what other 73's where painted into the livery, here's a few pics.

Image

Image

Image

sorry about the poor lighting of the pics need to do some in the day time and my hattons order is on its way so hopefully i should get the following in a couple of days:

Bachmann 46 tonne VGA sliding wall van in Railfreight livery (weathered)
Hornby Model Railways R6419 Departmental ZCV (Tope) wagon
Hornby Model Railways R6456 Shark ballast brake van in Civil Link "Dutch" livery (weathered)


more engineers stock to run :D

cheers

Darren

User avatar
Lewis Nash
Posts: 389
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2008 12:31 am
Location: Working on Arpley Street

Re: Lordsbridge- Bad Weekend

Postby Lewis Nash » Wed Apr 07, 2010 9:27 pm

Hi Darren


Here is a list of 73s which were painted in Dutch which I know of-
73105
73106
73107
73108

Hope that helps with renumbering,
Regards
Lewis
NASHTON
website- http://nashton.webs.com/index.htm


ARPLEY STREET
http://arpleystreetmodelrailway.webs.com/
class 60 preservation group-http://www.c60pg.co.uk/
Lewis[ArpleyModeller]

User avatar
NSE DAZ
Posts: 919
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2009 11:00 pm
Location: Sunny Dorset
Contact:

Re: Lordsbridge- Bad Weekend

Postby NSE DAZ » Thu Apr 08, 2010 7:30 am

Hi Darren, some more great pictures, Lordsbridge rail network is in its prime (loco's out number people two to one :wink: :lol:) love the look of the 73's i did not realise that Hornby also made two versions of the NSE 73!!!

I think that i will be adding a 73 in NSE livery to my line up soon as you have mentioned they seem to be going for a very good price at the moment :D

Any joy with the signal box yet ? and has the culprit owned up to vandalising NSE property (which carries a heavy fine/or imprisonment :lol: )

Keep up the good work

Darren NSE DAZ
Unleashing the toothpaste livery!!!Thank you for travelling Network SouthEast

User avatar
50035 Ark Royal
Posts: 1832
Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2010 11:57 pm
Location: Blackpool
Contact:

Re: Lordsbridge- Bad Weekend

Postby 50035 Ark Royal » Thu Apr 08, 2010 7:19 pm

Hi Darren you could have a named one 73119 Kentish Mercury or 73138 they were both in dutch.Livery,73108 as mentioned but this carried the plates OVS Bullied with green nameplates :shock: Also 73131 County of Surrey with the standard red plates.I think Kentish Mercury were blue or black.
cheers
I
Favourite Class Hoover (Class 50)
Fifty Alliance Member shares in 35/44/49
Favourite all time loco 50035 Ark Royal


Return to “Personal Layouts - Under Construction”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests