Pleasant Edge - Jockman31

Post pictures and information about your own personal model railway layout that is under construction. Keep members up-to-date with what you are doing and discuss problems that you are having.
User avatar
Metrocamel
Posts: 847
Joined: Mon May 01, 2006 8:49 am
Location: UK

Re: Man have I got my work cut out!!!!!!!!

Postby Metrocamel » Fri Aug 07, 2009 7:47 pm

Love the platform edging. Always intended on using the Peco concrete type when I get round to my station, but that looks just as good :)
"Out of commission become a pillbox, out of ammo become a bunker, out of time... become heroes"
Layout updated 18/10/09!
viewtopic.php?f=22&t=5360&p=215267#p215267

User avatar
hobby boy
Posts: 430
Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2009 8:22 am
Location: Basingstoke, Hampshire, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Man have I got my work cut out!!!!!!!!

Postby hobby boy » Fri Aug 07, 2009 9:27 pm

Are those station canopies?? Well i think they're a bit high.

Andrew
I have this engine like the picture :) GWR 0-6-0 Pannier tank
Check out Andrew's layout Hookstoke Junction UPDATED! Should do more work as it's now the Easter Holidays :) After the holdiays are over, my layout won't get updated much Age = 15

jockman31
Posts: 65
Joined: Fri Jul 13, 2007 7:59 pm
Location: HUNTINGDON, Cambs

Re: Man have I got my work cut out!!!!!!!!

Postby jockman31 » Sat Aug 08, 2009 8:23 am

Does it look like a station canopy? because if it does then i must start thinking about my building skills :roll: . It's supposed to look like some kind of strong metallic structure seperating the trains on the upper level from the station. Also i've been debating with myself over the last few days whether to go for the full Victorian style canopy covering the whole station.
My layout :http://www.newrailwaymodellers.co.uk/Forums/viewtopic.php?f=22&t=18969

jockman31
Posts: 65
Joined: Fri Jul 13, 2007 7:59 pm
Location: HUNTINGDON, Cambs

Re: Man have I got my work cut out!!!!!!!!

Postby jockman31 » Sat Aug 08, 2009 9:09 am

Hope this puts things into perspective . It will lose it's glossy appearance as i weather it. I've also painted my concrete tunnel mouth which will now be getting dressed with weeds , graffiti and such. I've decided i'm going to put a large building above the tunnel.

Image
Image
My layout :http://www.newrailwaymodellers.co.uk/Forums/viewtopic.php?f=22&t=18969

jockman31
Posts: 65
Joined: Fri Jul 13, 2007 7:59 pm
Location: HUNTINGDON, Cambs

Re: Man have I got my work cut out!!!!!!!!

Postby jockman31 » Sat Aug 08, 2009 3:04 pm

I've been to Focus ( the only DIY store we have ) today as i wasn't totally impressed with my platform colour. Bought this little 125ml tester tin and must say i think the tone is brilliant .
It's PORTS OF CALL Jeff Banks design and the colour is SMOKEY EYES.

Image
My layout :http://www.newrailwaymodellers.co.uk/Forums/viewtopic.php?f=22&t=18969

jockman31
Posts: 65
Joined: Fri Jul 13, 2007 7:59 pm
Location: HUNTINGDON, Cambs

Re: Man have I got my work cut out!!!!!!!!

Postby jockman31 » Wed Nov 18, 2009 5:08 pm

New update

I've now changed the layout so that the lines run through part of the other section of loft here is a short film to put things into perspective. I'm hoping to start doing landscaping and building the town at the start of next year. ENJOY !!!!!!!! :D

http://s218.photobucket.com/albums/cc21 ... e057-1.flv

i dont know why but photo bucket has chopped the last few seconds off and replaced it with links. :(
My layout :http://www.newrailwaymodellers.co.uk/Forums/viewtopic.php?f=22&t=18969

sheep21
Posts: 83
Joined: Tue May 06, 2008 2:10 am

Re: Man have I got my work cut out!!!!!!!!

Postby sheep21 » Thu Nov 19, 2009 12:12 am

looks good mate, keep up the good work

User avatar
BR125
Posts: 128
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2009 11:59 am
Location: Sheffield

Re: Man have I got my work cut out!!!!!!!!

Postby BR125 » Thu Nov 19, 2009 9:06 am

Nice vid and a good looking layout,i'll have to keep an eye on this one. :D

Cheers
Daz
ImageWith my silken line and delicate hook,i wander in a myriad of ripples and find freedom!

Image

User avatar
Campaigner
Posts: 142
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2006 11:04 pm
Location: West Yorks

Re: Man have I got my work cut out!!!!!!!!

Postby Campaigner » Fri Jan 01, 2010 11:09 am

Don't know if you're interested in insulating your loft roof, but there is a site on the tinterweb that sells slightly reject or damaged sheets of Kingspan for a fraction of the cost of the regular supplies.
Your layout is really starting to look good, but your loft reminds me of the loft in our previous house, freezing cold right now and very hot in summer, which is why I thought about the Kingspan. :)
Let me know if you're interested and I'll try to find the link to the site.

Best wishes Ken

jockman31
Posts: 65
Joined: Fri Jul 13, 2007 7:59 pm
Location: HUNTINGDON, Cambs

Re: Man have I got my work cut out!!!!!!!!

Postby jockman31 » Fri Jan 01, 2010 2:52 pm

Thanks , I've already priced up my loft doing it cheaply but don't have the funds right now . Hoping to have it done by about March or April. :(
Wouldn't mind that link though to see if it is much of a cost difference. I wouldnt mind spending a little more for top quality rejects.
Andrew
My layout :http://www.newrailwaymodellers.co.uk/Forums/viewtopic.php?f=22&t=18969

User avatar
Campaigner
Posts: 142
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2006 11:04 pm
Location: West Yorks

Re: Man have I got my work cut out!!!!!!!!

Postby Campaigner » Sat Jan 02, 2010 10:36 pm

I think this was the link

http://www.secondsandco.co.uk/

I'll check with someone in the know and get back to you here if there's any difference.

jockman31
Posts: 65
Joined: Fri Jul 13, 2007 7:59 pm
Location: HUNTINGDON, Cambs

Re: Man have I got my work cut out!!!!!!!!

Postby jockman31 » Fri Jan 08, 2010 2:10 pm

I've changed part of the layout now and will have a nice long viaduct at the back now. The problem is i want to have my fiddle yard perpendicular to the main line. I seem to have many choices to link the yard to the mainline, in the pics you'll see that ive drawn some points down these are just to give me a basic idea of the space i have. The fiddle lanes will all be 2m 20cm long from the ends that are visible in the pic. This leaves me with another 66cm to work with to join all lanes in some way to the mainline. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Image
Image

cheers Andrew
My layout :http://www.newrailwaymodellers.co.uk/Forums/viewtopic.php?f=22&t=18969

jockman31
Posts: 65
Joined: Fri Jul 13, 2007 7:59 pm
Location: HUNTINGDON, Cambs

Re: Pleasant Edge - Jockman31

Postby jockman31 » Mon Jan 18, 2010 6:17 pm

got started this week building up for the scenery . I'm going to concentrate on this corner of the layout first. The cutting into the tunnel will have a rock effect which will be obtained using filler and scraping. The top will be undulating with a road and shrubbery, i'll be using modroc to get the effect i want before adding grasses, trees, shrubbery etc. I'll be adding a much more realistic tunnel opening than my previous attempt.
All the polystyrene you see has been saved up from packing that has been kindly donated from friends and from my own purchases ( cant have that stuff going to the dump ) lol. :D

Image
Down the incline into the station tunnel

Image
Looking up the incline to the tunnel entrance

Image
Bachmann Class 37 after entering the tunnel towards the station

Andrew
My layout :http://www.newrailwaymodellers.co.uk/Forums/viewtopic.php?f=22&t=18969

jockman31
Posts: 65
Joined: Fri Jul 13, 2007 7:59 pm
Location: HUNTINGDON, Cambs

Re: Pleasant Edge - Jockman31

Postby jockman31 » Mon Aug 30, 2010 6:58 pm

I'm afraid Pleasant edge has been dismantled :( as we have moved house. I've sold a lot of my stock and may not be building anything for a while. We now live in Huntingdon so would be good to find out if there are any modellers here. I'm still going to finish building my Neverwazza EMU though see my " i was bored so ....." thread so watch out for that one. I may build in the loft of this new house but funds are low am unemployed at the moment but have an interview with STAGECOACH in cambridge on thursday to become a trainee driver.
My layout :http://www.newrailwaymodellers.co.uk/Forums/viewtopic.php?f=22&t=18969


Return to “Personal Layouts - Under Construction”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 17 guests