Re: My 8x4 Layout - Is no more

Post pictures and information about your own personal model railway layout that is under construction. Keep members up-to-date with what you are doing and discuss problems that you are having.
User avatar
S_Jay
Posts: 241
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2007 4:38 pm
Location: Nottingham
Contact:

Re: My 8x4 Layout - Is no more

Postby S_Jay » Sun Oct 12, 2008 10:27 pm

Hello all, after a few false starts, leaking roof and a broken camera, I've finally started my test bed layout.

Thomas Land Preserved railway. The basic donor set is a Thomas train set + few streamline points I've picked up over the years + track I've had since I was 8!
the basic plan is this,
Image

And it's home is here,
ImageImage

And here is the first train to make a complete loop,
ImageImage

Not bad for a first days effort. The legs are from Ikea and cost just £1.75 each and are at a children friendly height. Later in the day more track was added and it’s working quite well! The tracks are only a few mm from the edge so a retaining wall of some sort will need to be nailed into place to stop and expensive stock taking a plunge off the side of the board.
I'm going to base the feel of it on the GCR North based at Ruddington because I can get lots of photo's Also being a preserved line gives a good reason why I've got so many different types of rolling stock.
Nothing is nailed down yet as I'm just making sure the final fit is as expected (you'll notice some gaps in the plan) But once sorted we'll be gluing and sticking and ballasting and all the rest of it !!

Cheers and thanks for looking
Last edited by S_Jay on Sat Oct 23, 2010 3:40 pm, edited 2 times in total.
My Layout, My world, My rules, if that's ok?
My layout with no progress http://www.newrailwaymodellers.co.uk/Forums/viewtopic.php?t=14866
My other layout with progress http://www.newrailwaymodellers.co.uk/Forums/viewtopic.php?f=22&t=18394

User avatar
Thunderbird
Posts: 108
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2008 5:51 pm
Location: Liverpool. UK

Re: My new Thomas tester

Postby Thunderbird » Sun Oct 12, 2008 11:38 pm

Great start. the "little" guy is gonna love it.
Thomas is the little baby jesus of railway modelling, well he was when i was a kid...then i got on a brand new intercity125
is this one the same gauge as your other one? (in planning)I'm guessing that the clue is in the title and you'll just test/run in your stock, and let the weeman (in piccy 3) run his stock after loco trials are concluded. have you included a range of radius (couldnt remember the plural for radius) for coaching and loco stock?
(if i looked better then i might see, but my senses are a bit sedated right now...sight being the worse effected followed by speach)


spelling aint great either!
Manager of the Famous under-achieving Lawton Rovers (NRM xperteleven div2)

Plans are now afoot for the 2nd relocation and resumtion for my N gauge layout Lawton Road..

User avatar
S_Jay
Posts: 241
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2007 4:38 pm
Location: Nottingham
Contact:

Re: My new Thomas tester

Postby S_Jay » Mon Oct 13, 2008 8:58 am

Hi Thunderbird,

Thanks for your comments :)

This set is has mainly 3rd radius curves with a few 2nd in the shunting areas. The main plan has a minimum radius of 2 foot (around 4th radius I believe) so hopefully it will act as good test. The main problem is the big plan is code 75 and this layout is code 100.
And yes Thomas is the savour of Hornby railways :D however the little lad seems more interested in playing with my Vitrains 37 and my old Hornby 57 and Hymek :)

More news as it happens

cheers !

Ps isn't the plural of radius radii ?
My Layout, My world, My rules, if that's ok?
My layout with no progress http://www.newrailwaymodellers.co.uk/Forums/viewtopic.php?t=14866
My other layout with progress http://www.newrailwaymodellers.co.uk/Forums/viewtopic.php?f=22&t=18394

User avatar
S_Jay
Posts: 241
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2007 4:38 pm
Location: Nottingham
Contact:

Re: My new Thomas tester

Postby S_Jay » Wed Oct 29, 2008 4:56 pm

Hello again,

Here is my latest update.

Image

I've got my turntable in place and the final track plan is set. I've not yet secured anything to the board, but I'm pretty happy with how things are going.

I've gone for the Hornby turntable for ease. Compared to the Peco one it looks less real. But on the plus side it's easy to install and set up, and comes out of the box motorised. Plus this is the only turntable I'll be using.

I'll post again once my Loadhaul 37 arrives.
:)

PS You'll be able to buy this in about 12months ;)
My Layout, My world, My rules, if that's ok?
My layout with no progress http://www.newrailwaymodellers.co.uk/Forums/viewtopic.php?t=14866
My other layout with progress http://www.newrailwaymodellers.co.uk/Forums/viewtopic.php?f=22&t=18394

User avatar
Black-Marlin
Posts: 1639
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2008 11:59 pm
Location: 61A
Contact:

Re: My new Thomas tester

Postby Black-Marlin » Thu Oct 30, 2008 3:03 pm

S_Jay wrote:[url=http://img407.imageshack.us/my.php?image=img0057webzy4.jpg[/url]


Is that a ViTrains Dutch 37 in the picture? I just bought one, but haven't had the chance to run it on my layout yet. What's it like?

Gavin

michaelsage
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Nov 04, 2007 5:23 pm
Location: Acle, Norfolk
Contact:

Re: My new Thomas tester

Postby michaelsage » Thu Oct 30, 2008 7:19 pm

Hi,

I don't think it's listed anywhere, could you tell me how big your layout is? I really like the track plan and was thinkin about stealing parts of it! ;)

Thanks

Michael
My layout(s)
Musings - http://www.theangel.net
Pictures - http://www.michaelsage.co.uk

User avatar
S_Jay
Posts: 241
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2007 4:38 pm
Location: Nottingham
Contact:

Re: My new Thomas tester

Postby S_Jay » Thu Oct 30, 2008 10:17 pm

Hi Michael,

The plan is 8x4 and when fully working one person will be able to work the station/turntable while someone else works the goods yard, and a 3rd person will control the two big station loops and the "mainline". Feel free to steal what ever what you want I’ll even send you a plan with all the parts on :)

Hi Gavin,

Yep it's the ViTrain 37 " Class 37/0 diesel loco 37156 "British Steel Hunterston" in Civil Engineers yellow and grey livery" Is that Dutch? I'm not sure, but she runs like a beauty and is great at low speed, even on my rubbish Hornby 1/2 amp controller :)
My Layout, My world, My rules, if that's ok?
My layout with no progress http://www.newrailwaymodellers.co.uk/Forums/viewtopic.php?t=14866
My other layout with progress http://www.newrailwaymodellers.co.uk/Forums/viewtopic.php?f=22&t=18394

User avatar
Black-Marlin
Posts: 1639
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2008 11:59 pm
Location: 61A
Contact:

Re: My new Thomas tester

Postby Black-Marlin » Fri Oct 31, 2008 12:38 pm

Hi Jay

Yep, the Civil Engineers' livery is called 'Dutch' because of its similarity to the colours used by the Dutch National Railway network. And mine too is 'British Steel Hunterston' - great to hear that its as good as all the reviews indicate!

In fact, since I last posted, I took it round to test it on my friend's layout. He has an old Hornby Triang dockyard shunter in which, for some reason, the motor polarity is reversed: switch the controller to 'forward' and it will go back, and vice versa. Anyway, I coupled the shunter and the 37 together, to see if a heavy old locomotive pulling in the opposite direction would prove problematic for the 37.

Short answer: no.

I don't think I've ever owned a loco as powerful as this one. It's astonishing! And you're right about the slow speed performance: even over points, it's a beauty. Now all I have to do is get it home and coupled up to my breakdown train...or double-headed on one of my Intercities (the Dutch locos were often sent out to rescue broken-down or stranded trains...including steam specials...)

Oh, the fun that awaits...

Gavin
Last edited by Black-Marlin on Tue Sep 15, 2009 11:57 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
S_Jay
Posts: 241
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2007 4:38 pm
Location: Nottingham
Contact:

Re: My new Thomas tester

Postby S_Jay » Wed Nov 19, 2008 10:43 pm

Evening all,

Another hour in the garage and the final track plan is falling into place.

ImageImage

I'm having problems with the inner most loop on the right (as we look at it) and getting a head shunt that is big enough for Thomas & allow trains to pass on the inner station loop. But I think we're nearly there.

I had both 37's running tonight,
ImageImage

Here the Dutch livery hauling a near empty container load enters the inner most station loop while the Loadhaul with it's day trip speical waits in the outer most loop.

Then finally,
ImageImage
For the return trip a double head treat, as it rounds the bend the points are set to allow it to enter the goods loop.

All in all and great evening, now just need to wire it all up, I trip to maplins at the weekend should do the job :)
My Layout, My world, My rules, if that's ok?
My layout with no progress http://www.newrailwaymodellers.co.uk/Forums/viewtopic.php?t=14866
My other layout with progress http://www.newrailwaymodellers.co.uk/Forums/viewtopic.php?f=22&t=18394

User avatar
S_Jay
Posts: 241
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2007 4:38 pm
Location: Nottingham
Contact:

Re: My new Thomas tester

Postby S_Jay » Sun Mar 15, 2009 10:26 pm

Hello all,

Long time no post.

Progress has been painfully slow and with the decision to go DCC made around Christmas I've had to change a few things. But I'm ready to get back into the swing and with that in mind here is the latest progress. The final track plan is in place.
Image

The main change is the installation of inspection/ash pits in the MPD area.
Image

From Left to right, the first two will be part of a large modern shed, with the longer of the two lines running through to the outside to allow loading of locomotives and stock from low-loaders etc. The next two will be a stream shed and the final one a Steam special with a large 4-6-2 tender locomotive being restored.

There is a final bit of "knocking True" for the left hand station area before I add a station platform and then ballast. Oh and the wiring of course before all of that.
But I now have the tools and the weather is getting warmer so expect more updates soon.

Ta.
My Layout, My world, My rules, if that's ok?
My layout with no progress http://www.newrailwaymodellers.co.uk/Forums/viewtopic.php?t=14866
My other layout with progress http://www.newrailwaymodellers.co.uk/Forums/viewtopic.php?f=22&t=18394

User avatar
02_tank_buff
Posts: 90
Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2008 7:57 pm
Location: Ryde, Isle of Wight
Contact:

Re: My 8x4 Layout

Postby 02_tank_buff » Tue Mar 17, 2009 8:08 am

Looks good, nice to see another preserved railway! Are the pits Peco?

User avatar
S_Jay
Posts: 241
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2007 4:38 pm
Location: Nottingham
Contact:

Re: My 8x4 Layout

Postby S_Jay » Tue Mar 17, 2009 11:21 pm

Yep Peco pits,

Hoping to run a mixture of diesel and steam and give it that air of being held together on a shoe string that so many preserved railways have :)
My Layout, My world, My rules, if that's ok?
My layout with no progress http://www.newrailwaymodellers.co.uk/Forums/viewtopic.php?t=14866
My other layout with progress http://www.newrailwaymodellers.co.uk/Forums/viewtopic.php?f=22&t=18394

User avatar
hobby boy
Posts: 430
Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2009 8:22 am
Location: Basingstoke, Hampshire, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: My 8x4 Layout

Postby hobby boy » Wed Mar 18, 2009 7:25 am

i've got my model railway in the garage and i have a thomas trains set (out of the 4 i have got) The layout is a good hight and has 7 trains on it. i also have one point motor.
I have this engine like the picture :) GWR 0-6-0 Pannier tank
Check out Andrew's layout Hookstoke Junction UPDATED! Should do more work as it's now the Easter Holidays :) After the holdiays are over, my layout won't get updated much Age = 15

User avatar
S_Jay
Posts: 241
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2007 4:38 pm
Location: Nottingham
Contact:

Re: My 8x4 Layout (Now with working Links)

Postby S_Jay » Tue Sep 15, 2009 11:01 pm

Evening all time to add some updates.

First of all I have mostly be running trains but I have started a bit of scenic work so here is the ubiquitous ballast picture
Image
The track has been sprayed with sleeper grime. Then a layer of cardboard is glued down and then ballast applied and fixed in the normal manner.
The second shot is very poor, but shows my twp Vi-Train 37's at work. I'm using one of my parcel vans as a barrier coach. Both are still naked so I must apply the detailing if I'm going to start to take more photos
Image
Oh and note pad is because I keep forgetting which loco is at which location.
Finally three videos (I hope)
The first one is of my 37's again working as a pair top and tailing an EWS ballast train (until I know how to embed it'll be just a link but please take a look)
http://img190.imageshack.us/img190/2171/double37.mp4
This shows one of the things I like most about DCC, control. Both engines are powered and both are going very slowly. Plus listen to the sound! (who needs a sound chip!)
Next are two videos of my 57 Heljan hard at work. These are just to show what a great sound it makes pounding around the track :)
http://img190.imageshack.us/i/virginmail.mp4/
And now with coaches
http://img190.imageshack.us/i/class57virginv3n.mp4/

Please make sure your sound is on !

So the next part is to add a platform and then ballast the mainline! So here's hoping for a dry autumn!

Speak soon!
Last edited by S_Jay on Wed Sep 16, 2009 10:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.
My Layout, My world, My rules, if that's ok?
My layout with no progress http://www.newrailwaymodellers.co.uk/Forums/viewtopic.php?t=14866
My other layout with progress http://www.newrailwaymodellers.co.uk/Forums/viewtopic.php?f=22&t=18394

User avatar
iankemp
Posts: 1152
Joined: Thu Jun 29, 2006 3:14 pm
Location: Long Eaton, Nottingham
Contact:

Re: My 8x4 Layout

Postby iankemp » Wed Sep 16, 2009 1:00 am

looking good will watch this with interest!

ALL HAIL THOMAS THE SAVIOUR OF HORNBY RAILWAYS!!!!

lol!!


Return to “Personal Layouts - Under Construction”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: brammie and 13 guests