goathland and an image...corrr!

Post pictures and information about your own personal model railway layout that is under construction. Keep members up-to-date with what you are doing and discuss problems that you are having.
User avatar
boyofbears
Posts: 189
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2007 3:21 pm
Location: bucks

goathland and an image...corrr!

Postby boyofbears » Wed Aug 20, 2008 8:02 pm

hello all!!!

im oak and im 13 years old

i have started work on a layout that i actually like! i have had problems with previous designs, mostly because they dont fit, or were too big for me at the time. but i have redone all woodwork and started trackwork, and even done some electronics! on my new..ish... layout. the plan is a double track main line with a goods yard and goathland station. I have had to cut down abit on goathland, i.e removing two points, the goods shed and the levels being a bit odd, but apart from that it should be like the real thing!

i have 7 locos in all, and as they are all from all sorts of eras i have no specific time for the layout. to date i have the flyingscotsman, Mallard, o-6-0 deans goods, a jinty (i think), one 0-4-0 in gwr green, an 0-6-0 loco (no idea what) and a bachmann 04.

trackwork is code 100, a mixture of set, flexi and semi flexi all hornby, and a few peco points thrown in.

Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image

and now goathland!!!
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image

overview
Image
Image
Image
Image
my imaginery friend thinks u have problems.......wait........
my layout viewtopic.php?f=22&t=17368 new!!!

edwardholmes91
Posts: 374
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2007 10:57 pm
Location: Stone, Staffordhshire, England
Contact:

Re: goathland and an image...corrr!

Postby edwardholmes91 » Thu Aug 21, 2008 2:22 pm

Wow, great start there mate, I am modelling Goathland, but due to space limitations, it is going to be a terminus station, rather than a through. I am very interested to see your layout develop and definately the station. I love the way you have the tracks going into the coal store. As I had to make mine a terminus I have decided to cut some bits out. I will post a few pics soon, tell me what you think, I find looking for photographs on the internet and Google maps on satellite are really good for insiration and planning.

Very nice loft by the way, I wish ours was that tidy and had proper walls etc.
Last edited by edwardholmes91 on Thu Aug 21, 2008 2:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.

edwardholmes91
Posts: 374
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2007 10:57 pm
Location: Stone, Staffordhshire, England
Contact:

Re: goathland and an image...corrr!

Postby edwardholmes91 » Thu Aug 21, 2008 2:36 pm

Ok, just been up in the loft and taken a few pictures:

Image

Image

Image

Image

Just click on any of the pictures if oyu want to view them any bigger.

User avatar
boyofbears
Posts: 189
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2007 3:21 pm
Location: bucks

Re: goathland and an image...corrr!

Postby boyofbears » Thu Aug 21, 2008 3:31 pm

hello there!

(by the way my layouts not in the loft) its in an extension of my room!

your version looks great! are you gong to add the camping carridge sidings?

i wish it was really that tidy, i had just spent about 2 hours cleaning it up!

oh yeah, are you running any stock from the nymr?
my imaginery friend thinks u have problems.......wait........
my layout viewtopic.php?f=22&t=17368 new!!!

User avatar
boyofbears
Posts: 189
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2007 3:21 pm
Location: bucks

Re: goathland and an image...corrr!

Postby boyofbears » Thu Aug 21, 2008 3:34 pm

forgot to add,

check this one out for some inspirtion!

http://www.scenicmodelrailways.com/page_337517.html
my imaginery friend thinks u have problems.......wait........
my layout viewtopic.php?f=22&t=17368 new!!!

edwardholmes91
Posts: 374
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2007 10:57 pm
Location: Stone, Staffordhshire, England
Contact:

Re: goathland and an image...corrr!

Postby edwardholmes91 » Thu Aug 21, 2008 4:39 pm

No way, as if you have an extension to your room! Looks really neat! No unfortunately not, I just dont have the space for it, so it ends where you can see on the picture, I think I have all of my buildings for the Goathland station now, its just adding fencing, ballasting and a bit of scenic work, plus some lights.

Not sure whether I am running any stock from NYMR, I just run what ever I like really, I have:

Eurostar (4 Carridge)
Caledonain Local (Small one)
Duchess of Abercorn
Mallard
2 Jintys (One new the other old)
The Flying Scotsman
The Royal Train
The Caledonian (Normal one)

I have been on Scenic Model Railways before. They have some great pictures and the diorama of Goathland is just brilliant. I spoke the the guy up there and asked him if he still had the diorama and if it was up for sale, he told me that Hornby employed him to build it and let him use whatever he wanted but took it for filming and he never gets them back!

Bit of a shame but at least he has the photos.

User avatar
boyofbears
Posts: 189
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2007 3:21 pm
Location: bucks

Re: goathland and an image...corrr!

Postby boyofbears » Thu Aug 21, 2008 5:04 pm

it is an extension!

i dont no if this is right, but if you put the station building on the other side, the signal box would be in the right area wouldnt it? also, then you could include some carridge siddings, and if you really wanted to you could lower some of the board to include the coal drop? as i said, im not sure if this is right, but it could really make your model feature yet more of goathland!

oh yeah, i dont think that any of your trains run on the nymr, well definately not the eurostar!

oak
my imaginery friend thinks u have problems.......wait........
my layout viewtopic.php?f=22&t=17368 new!!!

edwardholmes91
Posts: 374
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2007 10:57 pm
Location: Stone, Staffordhshire, England
Contact:

Re: goathland and an image...corrr!

Postby edwardholmes91 » Thu Aug 21, 2008 7:01 pm

No, lol, the Eurostar is the odd ball. If I moved the station buildings to the other side then I would have to move the coal drop to the other side, there just really isnt the room for all of it. If I had the room I would model everything! In fact if I had the chance, I would go all the way round the loft, but oh well. I think I have made the best comprimise for the space I have. In effect in real life it would carry on you see.

Maybe I could buy theHogwart Express Locomotive and then it would be a train that has travelled on the North Yorkshire Moors Railway!

Not sure if you have seen my layout thread? If not check it out, there is a link to it in my signature. :wink:

User avatar
boyofbears
Posts: 189
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2007 3:21 pm
Location: bucks

Re: goathland and an image...corrr!

Postby boyofbears » Thu Aug 21, 2008 8:07 pm

ok, your right about the space, now that i look it probably is too tight! my versionfor the coal drops is very tight as it has a sharp turn off the point too get level!

horwarts express is an interesting locomotive had a look and found this http://images.google.co.uk/imgres?imgur ... 0%26sa%3DN long link (no idea how to shorten them) very harry pottery

oh yeah, ive seen your layout thread before! your method for point motors is what i used - the cork!
my imaginery friend thinks u have problems.......wait........
my layout viewtopic.php?f=22&t=17368 new!!!

edwardholmes91
Posts: 374
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2007 10:57 pm
Location: Stone, Staffordhshire, England
Contact:

Re: goathland and an image...corrr!

Postby edwardholmes91 » Thu Aug 21, 2008 8:20 pm

boyofbears wrote:ok, your right about the space, now that i look it probably is too tight! my versionfor the coal drops is very tight as it has a sharp turn off the point too get level!

horwarts express is an interesting locomotive had a look and found this http://images.google.co.uk/imgres?imgur ... 0%26sa%3DN long link (no idea how to shorten them) very harry pottery

oh yeah, ive seen your layout thread before! your method for point motors is what i used - the cork!

The hogwarts express is a very nice locomotive, it is just its assosiation with a childrens book. Now don get me wrong here, Harry Potter is a seriously good book, but not everyone thinks the same. The ither disappointing thing it that the gloss finish on the actual train I havent seen on any models, come to think of it, I havent seen gloss on any models at all really.

im glad to hear that you liked my method of fitting points motors, you might also like to try when you have got them all in there final posistions and you are posistive they work 100%, dabbing a spot of hot glue on each corner of the motor base to stop any movment.

User avatar
boyofbears
Posts: 189
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2007 3:21 pm
Location: bucks

Re: goathland and an image...corrr!

Postby boyofbears » Thu Aug 21, 2008 8:28 pm

ill do that.

only done 5 points though, about 12 or so to go!
my imaginery friend thinks u have problems.......wait........
my layout viewtopic.php?f=22&t=17368 new!!!

edwardholmes91
Posts: 374
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2007 10:57 pm
Location: Stone, Staffordhshire, England
Contact:

Re: goathland and an image...corrr!

Postby edwardholmes91 » Thu Aug 21, 2008 8:54 pm

Post a few pictures for us. It took me ages to do all of my points, but as I got the hang of it and with help from my dad, we could get them done in about 20 mins ish.

User avatar
boyofbears
Posts: 189
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2007 3:21 pm
Location: bucks

Re: goathland and an image...corrr!

Postby boyofbears » Thu Aug 21, 2008 9:33 pm

il try and get some tomorrow, might not be able to though as im painting my room (i hope), but if not it will be the day after
my imaginery friend thinks u have problems.......wait........
my layout viewtopic.php?f=22&t=17368 new!!!

User avatar
GeoFF03
Posts: 406
Joined: Fri Jun 13, 2008 7:09 pm
Location: At my computer near Sunderland

Re: goathland and an image...corrr!

Postby GeoFF03 » Fri Aug 22, 2008 10:45 am

The ither disappointing thing it that the gloss finish on the actual train I havent seen on any models, come to think of it, I havent seen gloss on any models at all really.


A high gloss finish on such small models is just too toy-like, which could but off the more serious enthusiast. Thats why the manufactures tend to use a satin/semi-gloss, it just looks so much better.

User avatar
blackpool_fy2
Posts: 90
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2007 9:34 pm
Location: Blackpool, Lancashire

Re: goathland and an image...corrr!

Postby blackpool_fy2 » Fri Aug 22, 2008 8:50 pm

Hi.

I'm another who's inspired after a visit to Goathland and I too have the station building + extensions, the shelter and office building and I must say you've made a fantastic start, mate.
Great idea in incorporating the coal drops and you're bank on the right in picture one looks superb.

Will follow this thread with interest.

Tom
Thomas
Image
Image


Return to “Personal Layouts - Under Construction”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Dad-1, Mountain and 1 guest