N Gauge Terminus - D.M.U

Post pictures and information about your own personal model railway layout that is under construction. Keep members up-to-date with what you are doing and discuss problems that you are having.
User avatar
olliereading1123
Posts: 467
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2008 9:44 pm
Location: Sheffield!!

N Gauge Terminus - D.M.U

Postby olliereading1123 » Thu Feb 28, 2008 7:15 pm

Hi all,
this is the start of my second n gauge layout (to view first see sig) this will be in DCC toallow for more loco movements. Does anybody know what controller to use? :?
The name of this thread is D.M.U as stock will be DMU so i want to give it a name where the first letters match. e.g Drakefield Main Underpass
any names are welcome

The plan
Image

this contains 6 platforms, dmu shed, feuling point, siding for petrol tankers and small siding for the loco hauling the tankers.

Progress so far (the card is a template of the ends of the platform and settrack will not be used for the final project)

Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image


any queries welcome :)
Bespoke layout construction and design, http://thefiddleyard.webs.com/

Lee
Posts: 607
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2005 11:48 am
Location: Wolverhampton

Postby Lee » Sat Mar 01, 2008 12:44 am

Hi,

Simple layout but will bring hours of fun i like the plan of it, will be good to see the progress.

E-Z command controller is what i used, i cant fault it :wink:

Lee
My N Gauge Layout.


Sunshine In The Lakes <<<<< Old layout no more

viewtopic.php?f=22&t=44159 <<<<< Back to the Lakes (New Layout 2013)

User avatar
olliereading1123
Posts: 467
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2008 9:44 pm
Location: Sheffield!!

Postby olliereading1123 » Sat Mar 01, 2008 11:20 am

thanks for the info lee, is that the bachmann controller?

Jst got back from Dapol and brought their 221 voyager 221144 'Prince Madoc' will post some pics soon
Bespoke layout construction and design, http://thefiddleyard.webs.com/

m8internet
Posts: 1640
Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 7:32 pm
Location: Cumbernauld, Scotland

Postby m8internet » Sat Mar 01, 2008 12:21 pm

With such a small layout plan, is there any advantage to converting to DCC?
The main advantage for a small layout will be that your locos can have their lights on at all times, but that is about it
For larger layouts it can make sense, as this removes the need for isolating sections

I have a smaller layout for my non-DCC items, based on Glasgow Queen Street, works perfectly well
Once the motors are converted to DCC, they then move to my larger layout
Glasgow Queen Street Model Railway layout : modern image N gauge using DCC

User avatar
olliereading1123
Posts: 467
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2008 9:44 pm
Location: Sheffield!!

Postby olliereading1123 » Sat Mar 01, 2008 12:35 pm

the reasons why this will be DCC is because i am going to use DCC Sound and so i don't have to isolate sections

Also here are the pics of Prince Madoc in what will be the station (also got some new buffers)

Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image

ENJOY :D
Bespoke layout construction and design, http://thefiddleyard.webs.com/

User avatar
Blaqkaudio009
Posts: 334
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2007 7:13 pm
Location: Forden, Wales
Contact:

Postby Blaqkaudio009 » Sat Mar 01, 2008 1:18 pm

looking good mate!
Image

m8internet
Posts: 1640
Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 7:32 pm
Location: Cumbernauld, Scotland

Postby m8internet » Sat Mar 01, 2008 1:36 pm

I assume this model uses different bogies to the earlier Class 220 model, as they are different design?
Does the model actually recreate the tilt?
Glasgow Queen Street Model Railway layout : modern image N gauge using DCC

User avatar
olliereading1123
Posts: 467
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2008 9:44 pm
Location: Sheffield!!

Postby olliereading1123 » Sat Mar 01, 2008 1:43 pm

m8internet wrote:I assume this model uses different bogies to the earlier Class 220 model, as they are different design?
Does the model actually recreate the tilt?


i am not sure if it tilts as i do not have a sufficient radius on my test track for it to run on
Bespoke layout construction and design, http://thefiddleyard.webs.com/

Lee
Posts: 607
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2005 11:48 am
Location: Wolverhampton

Postby Lee » Sat Mar 01, 2008 3:31 pm

olliereading1123 wrote:thanks for the info lee, is that the bachmann controller?

Jst got back from Dapol and brought their 221 voyager 221144 'Prince Madoc' will post some pics soon


Yes it is the Bachmann :wink:

Nice detail on the new addiction 8)
My N Gauge Layout.


Sunshine In The Lakes <<<<< Old layout no more

viewtopic.php?f=22&t=44159 <<<<< Back to the Lakes (New Layout 2013)

User avatar
olliereading1123
Posts: 467
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2008 9:44 pm
Location: Sheffield!!

Postby olliereading1123 » Sat Mar 01, 2008 7:41 pm

couple of questions:

1 - where is the best place to get a bachmann E-Z controller?
2 - Does it suit dcc sound?
3 - Is it easy to work?
4 - How many trains can it operate at one time?
5 - Where can i get sound chips?

Any answers welcome
Bespoke layout construction and design, http://thefiddleyard.webs.com/

User avatar
D2850
Posts: 63
Joined: Sun May 27, 2007 8:36 pm
Location: ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha

Postby D2850 » Sat Mar 01, 2008 7:58 pm

1 - probably any large shop or ebay will have them cheap
2 - Should do but if the decoder needs the use of more advanced settings the controller will not be able to change them
3 - very easy. just press the button, set the direction and drive
4 - there are 9 DCC slots + 1 DC (+1 DCC if a separate DC controller is added). It can run 3 trains at once (apparently - i've only ever used 2)
5 - no idea 8)

I would suggest that you go for a slightly more advanced controller eg hornby select, bachmann dynamis, as this will allow more control of the CVs ect. (ask on DCC forum). The E-Z command unit is OK but very basic.
Humour is subjective, so please supply your own witty statement.

User avatar
olliereading1123
Posts: 467
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2008 9:44 pm
Location: Sheffield!!

Postby olliereading1123 » Sat Mar 01, 2008 8:02 pm

thanks, will ask on DCC forum
Bespoke layout construction and design, http://thefiddleyard.webs.com/

User avatar
olliereading1123
Posts: 467
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2008 9:44 pm
Location: Sheffield!!

Postby olliereading1123 » Sat Mar 01, 2008 9:55 pm

nearly 2 hours later and a hornby elite controller is the one for D.M.U


(names still needed)
Bespoke layout construction and design, http://thefiddleyard.webs.com/

User avatar
blooregard
Posts: 494
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2007 10:23 am
Location: Manchester

Postby blooregard » Sat Mar 01, 2008 10:05 pm

m8internet wrote:I assume this model uses different bogies to the earlier Class 220 model, as they are different design?
Does the model actually recreate the tilt?


I have a dapol super voyager (in fact it is Prince Madoc), it does not recreate the tilt though it is a very smooth running and finely detailed model. Very reasonably priced as well, considering you get a full set I only paid £89 for mine in December.
Punctured bicycle on a hillside desolate.

User avatar
olliereading1123
Posts: 467
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2008 9:44 pm
Location: Sheffield!!

Postby olliereading1123 » Sat Mar 01, 2008 10:26 pm

mine was £105 but only because i got brought it at dapol's model shop. The man behind the counter was nice though, he let me have the buffers for free! :shock:
Bespoke layout construction and design, http://thefiddleyard.webs.com/


Return to “Personal Layouts - Under Construction”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 21 guests