Page 1 of 2

Boxfile Layout

Posted: Sun Feb 03, 2008 5:06 pm
by D2850
This is my first layout (ever) completed with scenery (and it only took 9 months). :roll:

Image

Image

Image

Image

I could produce a track plan but the last image pretty much covers it.

At the moment, i am considering replacing the scenery as the track is lifting from the baseboard :(

Posted: Sun Feb 03, 2008 5:11 pm
by Taw Valley
That looks very nice ....

although im not sure i can fully picture the track plan in my head judging by your pictures , could you help us out here?

on a slighlty more serious not lol , is there a switch for your battery or is it just plug the battery in to make it go and then unplug it to stop?

Posted: Sun Feb 03, 2008 5:13 pm
by Chuffer Chuff
The layout looks great! :D I love the little blue engine!

I'm guessing as it runs off a battery you have no way of controlling the speed of the loco? :wink:

Great scenery too! What did you use?

Posted: Sun Feb 03, 2008 5:17 pm
by Danny
Nice simple layout you got there.

I'm guessing that the component between the battery and the track is a variable resistor allowing you to stop and control the speed of the train?

Danny.

Posted: Sun Feb 03, 2008 5:21 pm
by D2850
There is a on-off switch between the battery and track, so the loco is either stopped of runs at one speed (although this decreases as the battery runs flat)

Posted: Sun Feb 03, 2008 5:24 pm
by Clifton009
Nice idea.

:idea: Perhaps you could join on additional box files with different scenes.

Perhaps we'll see in 9 months time :lol: Only joking!

Posted: Sun Feb 03, 2008 6:24 pm
by Chuffer Chuff
Actually that does sound like a good idea and great fun! You could end up with a nice big layout if you did enough! :wink:

How about doing a box file for each season! :shock:

Posted: Sun Feb 03, 2008 7:32 pm
by D2850
I should probably explain the layout is not my idea, it was origionally in an 009 news, which disappeared ages ago, but i remembered about it when i saw a boxfile shunting layout in 00 in a railway modeller. (so it did come entirly from my head)

I only started the layout in december, left it for a few weeks after the first ballasting attempt failed, and finished it a couple of weeks ago. This has been the first chance i have had to upload the photos.

[9 months is how long (approximatly) i have been a forum member]

Posted: Tue Feb 05, 2008 9:53 pm
by mark_brody
D2850 wrote:the loco is either stopped of runs at one speed (although this decreases as the battery runs flat)


You could take bets on where the train engine will stop - roulette style!

Posted: Tue Feb 05, 2008 10:18 pm
by Taw Valley
now theres an idea for a chairity event ....get people to bring in dead or very near dead 9V batterys and say you can "buy" half inch of the track with say £1 .....

if the front buffers ( which could have a small pokey stick at the front to show where it is pointting to / whos little bit of land its on ) are over that persons land he wins £5 and the rest from that "sale" goes into the chairty pot ....

Posted: Tue Feb 05, 2008 11:40 pm
by Eastern
Do you have another layout on the go? In your last picture, there seems to be a suspicious length of track up in the top left :)
Hmm......

Posted: Tue Feb 05, 2008 11:44 pm
by Chuffer Chuff
Ahh...thanks for pointing that out...I never noticed that! Mmm...makes you wonder doesn't it! :wink:

Posted: Wed Feb 06, 2008 12:41 am
by I'll_be_in_the_loft
Eastern wrote:Do you have another layout on the go? In your last picture, there seems to be a suspicious length of track up in the top left :)
Hmm......


Maybe he's going to build an incline to join up with it :roll:

Re: Boxfile Layout

Posted: Wed Feb 06, 2008 8:10 am
by Sprintex
D2850 wrote:I could produce a track plan but the last image pretty much covers it.


:lol: :lol: :lol:



Paul

Posted: Wed Feb 06, 2008 8:33 am
by D2850
The track in the corner is either hornby, which i am selling as i don't need, or bachmann from a train set, which will be used on a tiny layout representing a far corner of a goods yard or dockside to run/display my 00 locos and stock. Before that, however, i have an N gauge inglenook under construction.

I am also planning another small 009 layout, which at the moment is likley to be a museum/presevation line of some kind.

I also really need to replace the cardboard base as the tape holding the track down is losing it's tackyness (mostly thanks to the ballast) and the track is lifting.