London loft build

Post pictures and information about your own personal model railway layout that is under construction. Keep members up-to-date with what you are doing and discuss problems that you are having.
User avatar
lozstlouis
Posts: 426
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2007 6:54 pm
Location: London SW19

Postby lozstlouis » Sun Feb 24, 2008 8:59 am

DIN rail is a standard mounting system - "DIN" being the German standards body. It look slike a jigsaw but it is very simple to use. Just a proper version on choc block:

Mega long link

You get various things that can mount to it. You'll find it in modern electrical consumer units (or "fuse boards" in laymens speak). But you get a very neat result like this:

Image

That help?
OO in the loft. Lenz 90 making it go.

User avatar
lozstlouis
Posts: 426
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2007 6:54 pm
Location: London SW19

Postby lozstlouis » Sun Feb 24, 2008 9:03 am

The components in the red box are DIN rail mounted:

Image

Sorry wasn't very clear in the first pic.
OO in the loft. Lenz 90 making it go.

User avatar
lozstlouis
Posts: 426
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2007 6:54 pm
Location: London SW19

Postby lozstlouis » Sun Feb 24, 2008 1:10 pm

Have added an extension to the basedboard to allow me to lay track all the way around for a second loop.

Image

Its the bit against the "hatch" wall in th distance. The house is around 1890 - 1900 so the bricks are a bit crumbly. It was hard getting a fixing. I used a lump of 2"x3" screwed in with some "almost" window fixings to make sure it wouldn't move!

Image

Just need to lay the track and then its done... apart from wiring, scenes, stock, weathering etc etc...
OO in the loft. Lenz 90 making it go.

Taw Valley
Posts: 150
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 11:50 pm
Location: South West London
Contact:

Postby Taw Valley » Mon Feb 25, 2008 11:59 pm

its all looking good :)

And thank you for putting up that information , it helped alot :D

User avatar
lozstlouis
Posts: 426
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2007 6:54 pm
Location: London SW19

Postby lozstlouis » Sun Mar 02, 2008 8:16 pm

Been manic last few days. But yesterday i did some frantic welding and got the rest of my track live. A couple of dead spots but nothing that stopped me running a few things around. So a milestone reached. Sadly though I had to leave it after 20 mins play as rest of my domestic duties had to be attended too!! Picture post l8r.
OO in the loft. Lenz 90 making it go.

User avatar
lozstlouis
Posts: 426
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2007 6:54 pm
Location: London SW19

Postby lozstlouis » Sat Mar 08, 2008 8:33 pm

I have finshed all running LX so I can now run trains around full circuit without stops. A milestone for sure!!

Image

It ain't pretty:

Image

But it works! I will do a tidy once I am sure there are no faults. Am not set on controller yet but the Lenz 100 currently leads the race... I am going to site the brain, transformer etc on the furthest beam beneath the base board.

Some of the stock I have run today (formations not prototypical - clearly):

Image
Image
Image

Because most of my stock is DC it makes for some interesting running mixed in with the DCC.
OO in the loft. Lenz 90 making it go.

User avatar
lozstlouis
Posts: 426
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2007 6:54 pm
Location: London SW19

Postby lozstlouis » Sun Mar 09, 2008 11:57 am

Have had several ¨head ons¨ today. i can't get around the layout quick enough to change points...!! Motors required!
OO in the loft. Lenz 90 making it go.

User avatar
lozstlouis
Posts: 426
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2007 6:54 pm
Location: London SW19

Postby lozstlouis » Thu Apr 03, 2008 10:34 pm

Have been installing some point motors recently - well tonight.

Image

Got a mix of PL11 & PL10Es.

Having fun and games with a glue gun. Result works but it is rather untidy -

Image

Top side is ok though.

Image

The PL11 will need some "masking" but am sure that will come when i do some more - ahem start the scenics.

Image
OO in the loft. Lenz 90 making it go.

User avatar
Chuffer Chuff
Posts: 528
Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2007 6:55 pm
Location: Warwickshire, West Midlands (Near The GWSR)

Postby Chuffer Chuff » Fri Apr 04, 2008 1:39 pm

The layout looks great! Very neat trackwork and that PL11 motor looks awesome! I must get some ASAP! :D

Looking forward to more progress!
"You only get one chance in life, so make the most of it!"

santene
Posts: 313
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2008 6:46 pm
Location: middlesbrough

Postby santene » Fri Apr 04, 2008 1:43 pm

wow that p11 looks really advanced and pro gotta get some :D
proud modeller jake also known as Duke Jake the Bewildered of Mousehole by Sea :D

anyone got n gauge track i can buy

User avatar
lozstlouis
Posts: 426
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2007 6:54 pm
Location: London SW19

Postby lozstlouis » Fri Apr 04, 2008 10:39 pm

I have yet to connect them to anything... Will try this weekend.
OO in the loft. Lenz 90 making it go.

User avatar
leon
Posts: 98
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2007 6:16 pm
Location: suffolk

Postby leon » Sat Apr 12, 2008 1:31 pm

any progress updates old bean

User avatar
lozstlouis
Posts: 426
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2007 6:54 pm
Location: London SW19

Postby lozstlouis » Sat Apr 12, 2008 3:25 pm

not much. been up to my eyes at work. Have just finished the job i was on at Paddington and this week has one trip to Brussels (via Eurostar) on Weds then i am off for a few days. kids on holiday but i may get some railway time in as well...
OO in the loft. Lenz 90 making it go.

User avatar
lozstlouis
Posts: 426
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2007 6:54 pm
Location: London SW19

Re: New loft build

Postby lozstlouis » Mon May 19, 2008 9:30 pm

Have been spraying some Peco concrete platform edges with grey Halfords plastic primer. Was then going to maybe use some Precision Paints weathered concrete paint...

http://www.phoenix-paints.co.uk/enamel.asp?F_Railway=32

Has anyone out there used it? I was going to see if i can see it on their stand at Railex...?
OO in the loft. Lenz 90 making it go.

edwardholmes91
Posts: 374
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2007 10:57 pm
Location: Stone, Staffordhshire, England
Contact:

Re: New loft build

Postby edwardholmes91 » Tue May 20, 2008 4:52 pm

When I was on work experience I wired a box like that up, it was great fun, everything is crimped onto the wires, they use hardly any soldering! They use bootlace crimps on wires that go into the connnectors on the DIN rails.


Return to “Personal Layouts - Under Construction”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Ex-Pat, Google Adsense [Bot] and 14 guests