My First Layout

Post pictures and information about your own personal model railway layout that is under construction. Keep members up-to-date with what you are doing and discuss problems that you are having.
sp4rky

My First Layout

Postby sp4rky » Thu Jan 03, 2008 5:46 pm

Hi people. I'm new to this so please bare with me :)

I'm in the process of moving in with my girlfriend on the condition that I get to do us a loft conversion.

After doing a few sums, I think I can scrape together 10' square of space so I've been thinking about a layout that I can make there.

The aim of this layout is for it to be completely automated (i.e computer controlled). The computer hardware/software side will be no problem for me, but making the layout look good and be interesting to watch will be.

The vague plan is to have a timetable for passenger trains (currently I have a 7 car Class 40), and a few sidings for me to play with by myself.

I have made all areas accessible for trains, but I appreciate that the Class 40 or other big trains won't be able to get round the 1st Radius corner.

So, without further ado, I give to you... My layout:

Any comments and constructive criticisms welcome.

Also, suggestions on how to make it a bit more interesting will be gratefully received.

(EDIT:) The empty space in the middle will be somewhere for me to stand and watch :) (/EDIT)

sishades

Postby sishades » Fri Jan 04, 2008 12:07 pm

If everything is automated will this not reduce the enjoyment of driving the trains.?If your layout was 100 metres in length and involved over 50 locos then I would agree but being in control is "where its at" for me.
High towards the far post,Howard with a header,Hes done it!Steve Howard has scored for Leicester City,Bedlam here at the Walkers Stadium. the Leeds United players are flat out on the turf in utter despair. Leicester City are going to win again

sp4rky

Postby sp4rky » Fri Jan 04, 2008 1:33 pm