toms layout no name yet

Post pictures and information about your own personal model railway layout that is under construction. Keep members up-to-date with what you are doing and discuss problems that you are having.
User avatar
TOM M
Posts: 135
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2007 11:33 am
Location: durham

Postby TOM M » Sat Feb 16, 2008 7:18 pm

hi :D all u train fans its been ages since i posted anything and thaught that i should do something if anyone has any spare time and they feel like doing some volenteer work could anyone please put my layout in to xetracad i cant use it it just baffales me thanx anyone who does it
it will be much appreciatedImage
my layout
viewtopic.php?t=11560
i must admit i did it

User avatar
TOM M
Posts: 135
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2007 11:33 am
Location: durham

Postby TOM M » Sun Feb 17, 2008 8:26 pm

hi how many coaches should a rake be :?:
my layout
viewtopic.php?t=11560
i must admit i did it

User avatar
PTmodeller
Posts: 965
Joined: Wed Sep 27, 2006 9:09 pm
Location: Preston, Lancashire.

Postby PTmodeller » Sun Feb 17, 2008 8:40 pm

Depends entirely on what type of train. When, where, what.

For example, a Pendolino is 9 coaches, yet a small local Pacer is only 2.

User avatar
TOM M
Posts: 135
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2007 11:33 am
Location: durham

Postby TOM M » Sun Feb 17, 2008 9:08 pm

mine is
1 intercity hst ive got that at 4 coaches
2 scotsman i got 4 coaches
3 11 piece freight
4 virgin hst 2 coaches
5 eurostar 2 coaches
my layout
viewtopic.php?t=11560
i must admit i did it

User avatar
PTmodeller
Posts: 965
Joined: Wed Sep 27, 2006 9:09 pm
Location: Preston, Lancashire.

Postby PTmodeller » Sun Feb 17, 2008 9:12 pm

HST would be about 8 coaches, depneing on region and period. Dunno about the Scotsman. Freight can be no wagons or 100 wagons.
Eurostars are huge!

User avatar
TOM M
Posts: 135
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2007 11:33 am
Location: durham

Postby TOM M » Sun Feb 17, 2008 9:14 pm

thanx for the help
my layout
viewtopic.php?t=11560
i must admit i did it

User avatar
olliereading1123
Posts: 467
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2008 9:44 pm
Location: Sheffield!!

Postby olliereading1123 » Sun Feb 17, 2008 9:16 pm

eurostars now consist of 16 carriages plus the two end cars so 18 altogether
Bespoke layout construction and design, http://thefiddleyard.webs.com/

User avatar
TOM M
Posts: 135
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2007 11:33 am
Location: durham

Postby TOM M » Tue Feb 19, 2008 5:58 pm

hi ive eventually made a start on my boards and im soooo exited
got some pics of my boardsImage Image Image
some stockImage
and my little hinderImage
my layout
viewtopic.php?t=11560
i must admit i did it

User avatar
TOM M
Posts: 135
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2007 11:33 am
Location: durham

Postby TOM M » Tue Feb 19, 2008 5:58 pm

and what i hope to make eventuallyImage
my layout
viewtopic.php?t=11560
i must admit i did it

User avatar
TOM M
Posts: 135
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2007 11:33 am
Location: durham

Postby TOM M » Tue Feb 19, 2008 10:04 pm

has anyone got any othet plans for 10 by 6
i need any ideas becayse i dont like the bottom half
the tdm
my layout
viewtopic.php?t=11560
i must admit i did it

User avatar
Class 60
Posts: 1131
Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2006 4:34 pm
Location: Port Talbot, South Wales
Contact:

Postby Class 60 » Tue Feb 19, 2008 11:07 pm

Hmmm the plan doesn't look right - is the station on the 10ft or 6ft side of the boards?
Also by looking at previous posts, you want to make good use of the station by able to fit a decent long size rake in........i suggest putting the station on the 10ft side - give that feel of a city type station.

Sadly im a pen and paper man so i cant really do a plan for you but its best now to get some ideas down, draw some other plans, pick the best 1 before putting the track down :wink:

HTH

Adam

User avatar
TOM M
Posts: 135
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2007 11:33 am
Location: durham

Postby TOM M » Wed Feb 20, 2008 11:57 am

thanx i was thinking about putting the station on the 10ft side but youve made up my mind i am going to put a tdm or turntable where the station mas going to be and some coach sidings and mabe a factory
my layout
viewtopic.php?t=11560
i must admit i did it

User avatar
TOM M
Posts: 135
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2007 11:33 am
Location: durham

Postby TOM M » Wed Feb 20, 2008 11:59 am

hi ive now taken my boards down because they were not strong enough and they were too tall
my layout
viewtopic.php?t=11560
i must admit i did it

User avatar
TOM M
Posts: 135
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2007 11:33 am
Location: durham

Postby TOM M » Wed Feb 20, 2008 4:26 pm

hi ive changed my pImagelan arround a bit my station is like this nowImage
Image
my layout
viewtopic.php?t=11560
i must admit i did it

User avatar
Class 60
Posts: 1131
Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2006 4:34 pm
Location: Port Talbot, South Wales
Contact:

Postby Class 60 » Wed Feb 20, 2008 4:50 pm

Tom, Few words of advice mate

Dont rush into things :wink:

You got a good space to work with, Make sure you get some plans written down and then discuss the Advantages and Disadvantages of them all before deciding on the final One!

With the Baseboard issue - you will need to put support frames in/cross bracing at around every 2ft to stop the Boards from warping / sagging.

Hope this Helps

Adam


Return to “Personal Layouts - Under Construction”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests