Page 1 of 1

help wanted

Posted: Tue Aug 18, 2015 8:49 pm
by shaun2000
i am building a a layout to show oo gauge twelve foot long split in to three parts each part is four foot long by 19ins four ft scenic and four ft fiddle each side i want to keep it simple .its going to be a small station with just two tracks how do i get power to all boards?

Re: help wanted

Posted: Tue Aug 18, 2015 9:48 pm
by mahoganydog
Hi Shaun,

There are many ways of doing it from fitting contacts to the end of the boards to having connectors fitted and the latter is the easy way. If you have any old computer cables (like the old 25 pin printer cable) you can use these. Simply cut the cable and strip back to expose the colour coded wires preferably near the end that connected to the printer because there aren't converters made for this end as far as I know.

If the ends don't match for example both ends are male you can get converters (called a gender changer) to fit.

Jim

Re: help wanted

Posted: Thu Aug 20, 2015 7:36 pm
by pete12345
The problem with using pre-wired computer cables is that the individual wires are really too thin to cope with the current demanded of them for power applications.

Re: help wanted

Posted: Fri Aug 21, 2015 8:00 pm
by shaun2000
i will try and put a pick of the layout i am going to do over the weekend to show what i need

Re: help wanted

Posted: Fri Aug 21, 2015 10:06 pm
by pete12345
What you need are a set of plugs and sockets that can take the current. If the layout won't be dismantled and assembled that often, automotive connectors may be a good option. For instance, these: http://www.vehicle-wiring-products.eu/product.php/613/multi-connectors-6-3mm are cheap, easy to use and will take more than enough current for model railway use.

One unrelated point I'll make is that you have rather a large amount of fiddle yard compared to the scenic area. Sometimes it's possible to make a narrow scenic section in front of the fiddle yard(s), enlarging the scenic area and making the layout look better as a result. But that's a track planning issue ;)

Re: help wanted

Posted: Fri Aug 21, 2015 10:40 pm
by Dad-1
My question is
"How are you going to hold the boards together ? "
I have used the bolts on one layout and latches on another
and also included pressure contact points.

Geoff T.

Re: help wanted

Posted: Fri Aug 21, 2015 11:46 pm
by shaun2000
thanks it will be held with hinges with lift out pins the same as the edgeworth layout .how does the contact points work? its the power side of things im stuck with .

Re: help wanted

Posted: Sat Aug 22, 2015 9:14 am
by Dad-1
Hi Shaun2000,

Here is a link back to Feb 2009 explaining how, a rather minimal photo showing the way
it can work.
This layout still runs in my loft and the pressure pad contacts carry my lighting power
between boards. Being a two wire DCC layout the track feeds are through the two bolts
that secure each of the 4 boards. Although unable to fit in my loft, the point on the Oil
Farm section that bolts on the side is also powered through 3 pressure contacts.
It did several exhibitions and worked perfectly every time.

viewtopic.php?f=22&t=18258&start=60#p259719

Geoff T.