my first attempt at a permanent board

Discussion of model railway baseboard design and construction
jay123

my first attempt at a permanent board

Postby jay123 » Fri Jan 25, 2013 10:29 am

As im sure you all know, im new to this railway stuff, well anyway it started off as building a railway for my 5 year old son Toby. I soon found out that there was more to all of this than meets the eye and the bug soon takes a grip and away you go. So what started as a basic oval with the flying scotsman that i baught for my wife a few years ago (at here request) turned into a big board 12x10 in fact and a multi level. This was ok until i found this forum and all the pretty pictures of what others had done. So as one does, i ripped out all the paper and chicken wire that had been placed as hills and i had a go at bandages and plaster so here are some photoes of what i have started doing. I know to some of you hardened rail modelers this will all look pretty basic but please be gentil with the comments lol, ive never tryed any of this before! Any comments on how to improve what i have started are verry welcome tho. The dark area under the photo of the flying scott will be re-painted and is going to become my lake bed. (my next attempt at something new) Oh and im now looking at using blonde wigs to create my long grass as i feel i need some on the layout. So here goes.....
Attachments
DSC02968.JPG
DSC02968.JPG (189.45 KiB) Viewed 3345 times
DSC02969.JPG
DSC02969.JPG (221.1 KiB) Viewed 3345 times
DSC02970.JPG
DSC02970.JPG (229.54 KiB) Viewed 3345 times
rock2.jpg
my second engine coming through the rockface
rock2.jpg (212.29 KiB) Viewed 3345 times
rock1.jpg
the flying scotsman on the top track
rock1.jpg (198.25 KiB) Viewed 3345 times

jay123

Re: my first attempt at a permanent board

Postby jay123 » Fri Jan 25, 2013 10:37 am

and some more of the build
Attachments
DSC02963.JPG
DSC02963.JPG (222.53 KiB) Viewed 3343 times
DSC02965.JPG
DSC02965.JPG (233.07 KiB) Viewed 3343 times